DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MICRO BUMP CIRCUMFERENCE TRENCHES.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/6/2023; 8/20/2025; and 12/11/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's 12/6/2023 Preliminary Amendment to: 1. Replace the Drawings. 2. Amend and replace the instant Specification. 3. Amend the Claims is acknowledged.
Claims Status
Claims 8-13 are currently pending. Claims 1-7 and 14-17 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KITA et al (US 2009/0243120 A1, hereafter Kita).
Re Claim 8, Kita discloses in FIG. 2(A)-2(B) a micro bump, comprising:
an electrically conductive material part (tin 11; [0100]; [0107] and [0189]);
a bonding material part (4/5; [0102]-[0103]) provided on at least a part of an upper portion (top plane) and a lower portion (bottom plane) of the electrically conductive material part (tin 11); and
a plurality of fine trenches (indentations/stripes of 3 on 11; [0097]; [0099]; [0108]-[0109] and [0135]-[0135]) provided in a side surface (vertical walls within hole 1) of the electrically conductive material part (tin 11).
Re Claim 9, Kita discloses micro bump of claim 8, wherein the fine trenches (indentations/stripes of 3 on tin 11) are provided along (around and extending vertically upward on) the entire circumference (distance around tin 11) of the side surface (vertical walls within hole 1) of the electrically conductive material part (tin 11).
Re Claim 10, Kita discloses micro bump of claim 8, wherein the bonding material part (4/5) includes: a first bonding material part (5) provided on the lower portion (bottom plane) of the electrically conductive material part (tin 11); and a second bonding material part (4) provided on the upper portion (top plane) of the electrically conductive material part (tin 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kita in view of Lin (US 2019/0214257 A1-IDS prior art).
Re Claim 11, Kita discloses the micro bump of claim 10.
But, fails to disclose the micro bump further comprising: a seed layer provided between the first bonding material part (5) and the electrically conductive material part (tin 11).
However,
Lin discloses in FIG. 7 a micro bump (11/13/11; [0031]; [0037] and [0044]) comprising a seed layer (unseen lower Pd; [0038]) provided between a first bonding material part (lower 11; [0031]) and an electrically conductive material part (Sn or Au 13; [0037]-[0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Kita by using the first and second bonding parts of Lin with the electrically conductive material part of Kita, the micro bump further comprising: a seed layer provided between the first bonding material part (5) and the electrically conductive material part (tin 11), to form a micro bump selectively formed with matched electrical and mechanical properties (Lin; [0037]-[0038]).
Re Claim 12, Kita discloses the micro bump of claim 8.
But, fails to disclose the micro bump further comprising: a functional layer provided between the electrically conductive material part (tin 11) and the bonding material part (4/5).
However,
Lin discloses in FIG. 7 a micro bump (11/13/11; [0031]; [0037] and [0044]) comprising a seed layer (unseen upper/lower Pd; [0038]) provided between a bonding material part (upper/lower 11; [0031]) and an electrically conductive material part (Sn or Au 13; [0037]-[0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Kita by using the first and second bonding parts of Lin with the electrically conductive material part of Kita, the micro bump further comprising: a functional layer provided between the electrically conductive material part (tin 11) and the bonding material part (4/5), to form a micro bump selectively formed with matched electrical and mechanical properties (Lin; [0037]-[0038]).
Re Claim 13, Kita discloses the micro bump of claim 8.
But, fails to disclose wherein the fine trenches are also provided on at least a part of a side surface of the bonding material part.
However, these limitations would be rendered obvious by the addition of the bonding material part of Lin to the electrically conductive material part of Kita (see claims 11-12), such that the modified structure is formed within the fine trench (indentations of 3 on 11) producing hole (1) of Kita, as would be part of the selectively formed micro bump discussed for claims 11-12.
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892