DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todokoro (US 5,939,720 B2) in view of Giannakopulos (US 20110095178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Todokoro teaches a detector assembly (detectors 150, 151) for use in a charged particle device for an assessment tool (scanning electron microscope, Abstract) to detect charged signal particles emitted by a sample (9) in response to a charged particle beam (electron beam 19), the detector assembly comprising:
A scintillator element (39) configured to generate photons on interaction with charged signal particles above a first energy threshold (i.e. with energy high enough to pass through metallic layer 123, col. 7 lines 13-20), and
A charge detection element (metallic layer 123; detects low-energy electrons in cooperation with second detector 151, col. 7 lines 20-29) configured to detect charged signal particles below a second energy threshold (detects electrons that do not have energy to pass through metallic layer, col. 7 lines 49-66),
Wherein the charge detection element is positioned so that at least some of the charged signal particles above a first energy threshold pass through the charged detection element to the scintillator element (electrons with large energy pass through metallic layer to light emitting layer 122, col. 7 lines 13-20).
Todokoro does not teach that the charge detection based element and configured to electrically connect to detector circuitry.
Giannakopulos teaches an SEM system having a conductive coating (thin layer 8, fig. 1 [0124]) over a scintillator (phosphor 4) element with the conductive coating configured to connect to detector circuitry (digitizer 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Todokoro by adding detector circuitry connected to the metal layer of Giannakopulos, as Giannakopoulos teaches that this is a simple means of detecting current deposited in the metal layer and would allow detection of the current of electrons that do not pass through to the scintillator in a simple manner, as a substitute or supplement for the secondary-electron based detection of Todokoro.
Regarding claim 2, Todokoro teaches a photon detector (light guide 40 and photomultiplier 41) configured to detect photons generated by the scintillator element.
Regarding claim 3, Todokoro teaches that the photon detector is directly connected to the scintillator element (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Todokoro teaches that the photon detector is positioned up beam of at least part of a surface of the scintillator element to receive the generated photons (light guide is above scintillator element 39, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 5, Todokoro teaches that the photon detector is connected to detector circuitry (image controller, col. 5 lines 47-52).
Regarding claim 7, Todokoro teaches that an aperture (48, fig. 11) is defined in the photon detector for the passage therethrough of the charged particle beam.
Regarding claim 8, Todokoro teaches that an aperture is defined in the scintillator element (part of aperture 48 passing through layer 39, fig. 11) for the passage therethrough of the charged particle beams.
Regarding claim 9, Todokoro teaches that the charge detection element and the scintillator element are each at least part of layers (layers 39 and 54) that are substantially co-planar with a major surface of the detector assembly (bottom surface, fig. 11) and the layers are stacked in a thickness direction of the detection assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Todokoro teaches that the charge detection element is positioned down beam of the scintillator element (layer 54 below layer 39, fig. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Todokoro teaches that the charge detection element is close to a detection surface (bottom surface of assembly 150) than the scintillator.
Regarding claim 12, Todokoro teaches that a detection surface of the detection assembly is configured to face the sample and wherein the charge based element provides at least part of the detection surface (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 13, Todokoro teaches that the second energy threshold corresponds to a secondary electron threshold energy (detecting secondary and reflected electrons separately, col. 16 lines 26-33).
Regarding claim 14, Todokoro teaches that the first energy threshold and the second energy threshold are the same (i.e. the energy that allows electrons to pass through the metal film and be detected by the photodetector; electrons below this energy will be detected by the charge based elements).
Regarding claim 19, Todokoro teaches a charged particle beam device for an assessment tool (scanning electron microscope, Abstract) to detect signal particles emitted by a sample (9) in response to a charged particle beam (electron beam 19), the device comprising:
An objective lens (3) configured to project the charged particle beam onto a sample, wherein an aperture is defined in the objective lens for the charged particle beam (fig. 3); and
A detection assembly comprising a scintillator element (39) configured to generate photons on interaction with signal particles and a photon detector (light guide 40 and photomultiplier 41) configured to detect photons generated by the scintillator element, and a charge detection element configured to detect signal particles (metallic layer 123; detects low-energy electrons in cooperation with second detector 151, col. 7 lines 20-29) wherein an aperture (48, fig. 11) is defined in the detector assembly for the charged particle beam.
Todokoro does not teach that the charge detection element is configured to electrically connect to detector circuitry.
Giannakopulos teaches an SEM system having a conductive coating (thin layer 8, fig. 1 [0124]) over a scintillator (phosphor 4) element with the conductive coating configured to connect to detector circuitry (digitizer 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Todokoro by adding detector circuitry connected to the metal layer of Giannakopulos, as Giannakopoulos teaches that this is a simple means of detecting current deposited in the metal layer and would allow detection of the current of electrons that do not pass through to the scintillator in a simple manner, as a substitute or supplement for the secondary-electron based detection of Todokoro.
Regarding claim 20, Todokoro teaches a charge detection element (metallic layer 54 detects low-energy electrons in cooperation with second detector 151, col. 7 lines 20-29) configured to detect signal particles below a first energy threshold, wherein the charge based element is positioned so that signal particles above a second energy threshold pass through the charge based element to the scintillator element (electrons with large energy pass through metallic layer to light emitting layer 122, col. 7 lines 13-20).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todokoro in view of Giannakopulos and in further view of Aoki (US 20080191135 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Todokoro and Giannakopulos teach all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Todokoro and Giannakopulos do not teach that the photon detector comprises zoned portions, comprising an inner photon portion and an outer photon portion.
Aoki teaches a photon detector for a scanning electron microscope (fig. 7) wherein the photon detector comprises zoned portions (inner scintillator 19a and outer scintillator 19b) comprising an inner portion and an outer portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to divide the detector of Todokoro into inner and outer portions as taught by Aoki in order to separately measure secondary and backscattered electrons based on their incident angle to the detector (Aoki, [0082]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Todokoro in view of Giannakopulos and in further view of Almogy (WO 2008101713 A2).
Regarding claim 15, Todokoro and Giannakopulos teach all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Todokoro and Giannakopulos do not teach that the detector is for use in a multi-beam charged particle tool to detect charged signal particles emitted by a sample in response to a plurality of charged particle beams, the detector arrangement comprising an array of detector assemblies, each according to claim 1, wherein each detector assembly corresponds to a respective charged particle beam.
Almogy teaches a multi-beam charged particle tool detecting charged signal particles emitted by a sample in response to a plurality of charged particle beams, a detector comprising an array of detector assemblies ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Todokoro to have multiple beams and multiple scintillator detectors as taught by Almogy in order to perform high-throughput imaging by scanning multiple areas of the substrate at once with the plurality of beams.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (JP 2019186112 A) in view of Wang (WO 2019201544 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Yamada teaches a detector arrangement (fig. 1) for use in a multi-beam charged particle device for an assessment tool (inspection beam apparatus, Abstract) to detect charged particles emitted by a sample (13) in response to a plurality of charged particle beams (from divided primary beam 31, fig. 14) on the sample, the detector arrangement comprising:
An array of scintillator elements (55, fig. 14) configured to generate photons on interaction with signal particles above an energy threshold, the scintillator elements collectively surrounding an aperture to allow a charged particle beam to pass through (fig. 14);
An array of photon detectors (MPPC 54) configured to detect photons generated by the scintillator elements.
Kaufmann does not teach an amplification circuit associated with each photon detector and proximate to the corresponding photon detector, the amplification circuit comprising a trans impedance amplifier and/or an analog to digital converter.
. Wang teaches a multipart sensor (sensor elements 401-403, fig. 15) having an amplification circuit (930) associated with each sensor and proximate to each sensor (fig. 15; sensors and circuit may be on stacked dies, [0053]), the amplification circuit comprising a transimpedance amplifier ([0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Yamada to have an amplification circuit comprising a transimpedance amplifier proximate to and associated with each sensor as described by Wang, in order to provide a flexible sensor with a short circuit path as described by Wang.
Regarding claim 18, Yamada teaches that the photon detectors are in a common photon detector layer (fig. 14).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of Wang and in further view of Todokoro.
Regarding claim 17, Yamada and Wang teach all the limitations of claim 16 as described above. Yamada and Wang do not teach an array of charge based elements configured to detect signal particles below a further energy threshold, wherein each charge based element is positioned so that at least some of the signal particles above the energy threshold pass through the charged based element to a respective scintillator element.
Todokoro teaches an electron detector having a scintillator (39) and a charge based element (metallic layer 123; detects low-energy electrons in cooperation with second detector 151, col. 7 lines 20-29) configured to detect charged signal particles below an energy threshold (detects electrons that do not have energy to pass through metallic layer, col. 7 lines 49-66), wherein the charge detection element is positioned so that at least some of the charged signal particles above a first energy threshold pass through the charged detection element to the scintillator element (electrons with large energy pass through metallic layer to light emitting layer 122, col. 7 lines 13-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Yamada to have the metal layer taught by Todokoro over the scintillator layer, in order to detect low energy electrons and potentially distinguish between electrons based on their energy as described above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous grounds of rejection for claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881