DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The current specification includes terminology that is different from that which is generally accepted in the art to which this invention pertains. For example: In [0057] of the current specification, the tunnel oxide 20 is disclosed as having thickness in a range from 1000Å to 1200 Å; however, an oxide of such thickness would be too thick to be considered a tunnel oxide in the relevant art because quantum tunneling (or Fowler-Nordheim tunneling) that is useful in the relevant art is generally realized by tunnel oxide having a thickness of 150 Å or less. Furthermore, the current specification and drawings do not provide detailed descriptions or embodiments wherein the “tunnel” oxide is incorporated into a specific type of device such that it could be determined that the oxide would indeed be a “tunnel” oxide.
Therefore, for the purpose of examination, no special meaning/interpretation will be given to a “tunnel oxide”, and any oxide in a prior art device will be considered to be a “tunnel oxide” as recited in the current claims.
Applicant is requested to provide clarification of this issue or correlation with art-accepted terminology so that a proper comparison with the prior art can be made. Applicant should be careful not to introduce any new matter into the disclosure (i.e., matter which is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7 and 11-15 (all as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golonzka et al. (US 2010/0164002 A1; hereinafter, “Golonzka”) in view of French et al. (US 2002/0109800 A1; hereinafter, “French”).
Regarding claim 1:
Golonzka discloses a method for forming a floating contact, comprising:
obtaining a substrate (Fig. 1a) having a tunnel oxide (i.e., gate oxide of NMOS 104 in Fig. 1a and [0007]) and a plurality of gates 104/106 [0007]) formed thereon;
depositing, photolithographing 114 (Fig. 1b and [0011]), and etching a salicide block (comprising 105, 110 in Fig. 1a and [0010]) to form the salicide block (comprising 105, 110 in Fig. 1b) on the tunnel oxide, on the plurality of gates, and between adjacent gates;
forming a self-aligned silicide 118 (Fig. 1c and [0013]) at a portion where the salicide block 105/107/110 is not formed;
forming an interlayer dielectric layer 140/142 (Fig. 1g and [0020]) on the plurality of gates, on the salicide block and on the self-aligned silicide;
etching the interlayer dielectric layer 140/142 and the salicide block 105/107/110 by taking the photoresist pattern as an etching mask layer to obtain the floating contact 128 (i.e., in [0020] an opening is formed for contacts128 but not show; furthermore, in order to form openings for contacts 128, the entire structure, comprising the ILD 140/142 and the salicide block 105/107/110, is etched to form the openings, i.e., the current claim does not require any portion of the salicide block 105/107/110 to be removed by the etching; lastly, in Fig. 1g, the contacts 128 a “floating” above the substrate 102, accordingly, a floating contact 128 is obtained).
Golonzka does not disclose details of how the openings for contacts 128 are formed; accordingly, Golonzka does not disclose the strikethrough limitations above. However, it is noted that contact holes are commonly formed by photolithography processes that are very well known in the art, and the strikethrough limitations are considered to be an elaborate description for a well-known process of forming and patterning a positive photoresist.
French is cited to show it was very well known in the art to use a positive photoresist layer [0033], patterning the photoresist layer comprising steps including exposing the photoresist layer through a photomask with opaque and transparent areas and developing to leave a reduced thickness pattern (i.e., partial removal), wherein the positive photoresist layer is used to form contacts [0068].
Because Golonzka is silent with respect to details for forming the opening for contacts 128, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated any well-known process in the art; accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate a photolithographic process comprising a positive photoresist because French shows such processes were very well known and suitable for forming contacts.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 6, 7 and 11-15:
re claim 2, French discloses the photoresist is a positive photoresist {0033, 0068], the
photoresist retention region is an opaque region, and the remaining region is a transparent region; and the partially removing the photoresist pattern corresponding to the exposure of the photoresist retention region during developing by controlling the exposure condition comprises
overexposing the photoresist ([0033], i.e., overexposing a positive photoresist is common in the art, e.g., to enhance lift-off; accordingly, this claim is deemed obvious over Golonzka in view of French);
re claim 3, the photoresist retention region can be a chosen portion of the mask remaining after development; accordingly, an appropriately sized region can be readily chosen to be the photoresist retention region that accounts for 30% to 40% of a width of the entire floating contact portion (i.e., this claim is deemed obvious over Golonzka in view of French by choosing a suitable region of the entire photoresist pattern/retention region);
re claims 6 and 7, Golonzka (in view of French) discloses the formed salicide block 105/107/110 (Fig. 1b and [0008]) comprises a first oxide layer 107; however, Golonzka (in view of French) does not specify any ranges in thickness for the first oxide layer or the tunnel oxide layer; accordingly, Golonzka (in view of French) does not disclose the currently recited ranges. However, the current claims are deemed obvious because the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, and given the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine optimum or workable ranges in thickness for the first oxide layer and the tunnel oxide layer without extensive experimentation. In other words, the currently claimed ranges (400 Å to 600 Å and 1000 Å to 1200 Å) are considered to be optimum or workable ranges for some specific design requirement, e.g., for a particular type of semiconductor device, and given the specific design requirement, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able find an optimum or workable range. Note it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955);
re claim 11, when forming the openings for floating contacts 128 (Golonzka, Fig. 1g) are completed, an end point is readily detected; accordingly, this claim is deemed obvious over Golonzka (in view of French);
re claim 12, Golonzka discloses after the obtaining the floating contact, filling the floating contact with a conductive material (to form “128”, Fig. 1g and [0020]);
re claim 13, the limitations in this claim are considered to be an elaborate description of a conventional process of patterning a photoresist layer including exposure and development; therefore, this claim is deemed obvious over Golonzka (in view of French);
re claim 14, Golonzka discloses each of the plurality of gates 104/106 is a gate of a logic device (NMOS or PMOS, Fig. 1b) and/or a memory; and
re claim 15, Initially, the current claim is directed to a product that is essentially obtained by a combination of the processes in claims 6 and 12; accordingly, the current claim is deemed to be a “product by process” claim. Note that a “product by process” claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made. See In re Thorpe et al. 227 USPQ 964 (CFAC, 1985) and the related case law cited therein, which makes it clear that it is the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that, as here, an old or obvious product by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or not. As stated in Thorpe, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972); In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969); Buono v. Yankee Maid Dress Corp., 77 F.2d 274, 279, 26 USPQ 57, 61 (2d. Cir. 1935).
Specifically, all pertinent limitations in the current claims are recited in claims 6 and 12, both of which have been addressed in detail above; accordingly, all product limitations in the current claims are rendered obvious by Golonzka (in view of French) as explained in detail above with respect to claims 1, 6 and 12. Therefore, the semiconductor device of the current claim is rendered obvious by Golonzka (in view of French), no matter how actually made.
Claim(s) 4-5 (all as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golonzka (in view of French) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2009/0001462 A1; hereinafter, “Huang”).
Regarding claim 4:
Golonzka (in view of French) does not disclose a laterally diffused metal oxide semiconductor field effect transistor (LDMOS).
Huang is cited to show LDMOS device (Fig.3G and [0037]) were very well known in the art, and such devices comprise source regions 319 and drain regions 317.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate a floating contact, as disclosed by Golonzka (in view of French), into an LDMOS because Huang shows such devices were very well known and common in the art. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to incorporate the floating contact of Golonzka (in view of French) without extensive experimentation because it appears from the current specification and drawings that such contacts are easily incorporated into well-known semiconductor devices, especially because the current drawings merely depict a substrate 10 with four layers 20/30/40 thereon, and a pattern photoresist layer used to form an opening 11 (i.e., a floating contact). In others words, based on the current specification and drawings, it appears one of ordinary skill in the art is presumed to readily understand where and how a floating contact would be incorporated into semiconductor devices in general.
Regarding claim 5:
The photoresist retention region can be a chosen portion of the mask remaining after development; accordingly, an appropriately sized region can be readily chosen to be the photoresist retention region that accounts for 30% to 40% of a width of the entire floating contact portion (i.e., this claim is deemed obvious over Golonzka in view of French and Huang by choosing a suitable region of the entire photoresist pattern/retention region);
Claim(s) 8 (as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golonzka (in view of French) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishida et al. (US 2003/0151098 A1; hereinafter, “Nishida”).
Golonzka (in view of French) discloses each of the plurality of gates 104/106 (see Golonzka, Fig. 1b and [0007]) comprises a gate oxide layer (inherent to the NMOS and PMOS in Fig. 1b) and a [metal] gate on the gate oxide layer, and a spacer 108 [0009] on both sides of each of the plurality of gates 104/106 is formed on the substrate obtained in the obtaining the substrate.
Golonzka (in view of French) does not disclose a polysilicon gate. However, Nishida is cited to show it was very well known in the art that a semiconductor device, similar to that of Golonzka, can be formed with polysilicon gates 11/21 (e.g., PS1/PS2 in Figs. 1-4 and [006]) or with a metal gate [0035-0036] depending on, e.g., a desired work function [0124].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Golonzka (in view of French) by incorporating metal gates because Nishida shows/teaches such a modification would provide means to modify a work function of the gate.
Claim(s) 9 (as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golonzka (in view of French) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2010/0090310 A1).
Golonzka (in view of French) does not disclose the method is applied to a Bipolar-CMOS-DMOS (BCD) process.
Kim is cited to show a BCD process was very well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically apply the process disclosed by Golonzka (in view of French) to a BCD process because Kim shows such a process were very well known in the art. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to incorporate the process disclose by Golonzka (in view of French) without extensive experimentation because it appears from the current specification and drawings that such a process is easily incorporated into well-known semiconductor processes, especially because the current drawings merely depict a substrate 10 with four layers 20/30/40 thereon, and a process of forming a contact opening in the four layers. In others words, based on the current specification and drawings, it appears one of ordinary skill in the art is presumed to readily understand how a process as recited in claim 1 (or in Golonzka in view of French) would be incorporated into semiconductor devices in general.
Claim(s) 10 (as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golonzka (in view of French) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pidin (US 2009/0108463 A1).
Golonzka (in view of French) does not disclose any etching gases used to etch the interlayer dielectric layer.
Pidin is cited to show it was very well known in the art to use an etching gas for the dry etching comprising C4F₈ and O₂ (Fig. 7B and [0104]).
Because Golonzka (in view of French) is silent with regard to any etching gases, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate C4F₈ and O₂ because Pidin shows such etching gases were well known to use when etching an interlayer dielectric layer similar to that in Golonzka.
Conclusion
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892