DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-8 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lunde US 2023/0276826 as evidenced by Milevich RU 2373771C1 (Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lunde discloses a composition (additives of meat analogue) capable of being used as a browning agent for a food product (the non-meat protein containing material of the meat analogue) ([0045], [0173]) comprising a (A) a pigment compound selected from the group consisting of betalain ([0063], [0067]-[0073]); (B) multicopper oxidase (laccase enzyme) ([0074], [0063]); and (C) a polysaccharide (pectin) ([0063], [0067]-[0073]) (beetroot powder inherently contains pectin as further evidenced by Milevich (Translation Pg. 4, lines 4-5)).
Regarding claim 2, Lunde discloses that component C is pectin (beetroot powder inherently contains pectin as further evidenced by Milevich (Translation Pg. 4, lines 4-5)).
Regarding claim 3, Lunde discloses that the component A is betalain ([0063], [0067]-[0073]);
Regarding claim 4, Lunde discloses that the browning agent comprises a beet pigment (beetroot powder) containing compound A ([0063], [0067]-[0073]);
Regarding claim 5, Lunde discloses that the (B) multicopper oxidase is laccase (laccase enzyme) ([0074], [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, regarding the food product being a meat-like processed food product for heating, this is seen to be further limiting the intended use of the browning agent, which does not result in a structural difference to the browning agent (MPEP 2111.02).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Mueller US 2021/0236577 discloses that Betanin is a betalain ([0051])
/A.A/
Ashley AxtellExaminer, Art Unit 1792
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792