DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/574367 by Miyata et al.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao et al. (CN 111662267 A), herein referred to as Shao. Shao is provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 12/27/2023.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 6, Shao teaches (Claim 1 and Examples 1-3) a photoresist acid-generating resin containing a dioxobicyclo[2,2,2]octanedicarboxylate structure. The dioxobicyclo[2,2,2]octanedicarboxylate structure taught by Shao satisfies the claimed composition recited in claim 1 and the claimed polymer recited in claim 6. The photoresist acid-generating resin taught by Shao is employed in a photolithography process (resist pattern forming method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao et al. (CN 111662267 A), herein referred to as Shao, in view of Bi et al. (CN 112645923 A), herein referred to as Bi. Shao and Bi are provided in Applicant’s IDS filed 12/27/2023.
The Shao reference does not appear to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 3 and 4 directed to further chemical composition limitations for claim 1. However, from the same field of technology, Bi recites a photoresist resin monomer containing a photoacid generator.
In view of claims 3 and 4, Bi teaches (Claims 1 and 2, Examples 1-3) a photoresist resin monomer composition having structural units that satisfy claims 3 and 4. Therefore, at the time of the filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photoresist acid-generating resin taught by Shao with the photoresist resin monomer composition taught by Bi in order to optimize the photosensitive properties of the composition while also having improved acid diffusion control properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 8 are considered to be allowable because the prior art does not teach or suggest the specified compounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hatakeyama et al. (US 2020/0089112 A1) disclose a chemically amplified resist composition comprising a sulfonium salt quencher that helps reduce line width roughness of line patterns when the resist composition is photolithographically patterned.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724