DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 12/29/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims 1 and 3-17 are pending and claim 2 is canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1) in view of Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) comprising:
a first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045) whose end portion has a first tapered shape(¶0046); and
a first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) over the first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045), the first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) having a shape along the first tapered shape(¶0046);
a second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) comprising:
a second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045) whose end portion has a second tapered shape(¶0046); and
a second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) over the second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045), the second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) having a shape along the second tapered shape(¶0046);
a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042);
an insulating layer(15, ¶0045) between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042); and
an auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) electrically connected to the common electrode(17, ¶0045), and
wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region overlapping with the insulating layer(15, ¶0045).
Yokoyama is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) is over the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) is over the common electrode(308, ¶0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring is over the common electrode, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Regarding claim 5, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) has a shape where a center portion thereof rises up more than an end portion(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises an upper portion with a flat shape(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises an organic material.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) comprises an organic material(carbon black, ¶0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring comprises an organic material, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Claims 3, 4, 7, 9-11, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1) in view of Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024 and Kim et al. (US 2022/0199748 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) comprising:
a first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045) whose end portion has a first tapered shape(¶0046); and
a first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) over the first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045), the first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) having a shape along the first tapered shape(¶0046);
a second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) comprising:
a second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045) whose end portion has a second tapered shape(¶0046); and
a second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) over the second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045), the second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) having a shape along the second tapered shape(¶0046);
a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042);
an insulating layer(15, ¶0045) between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light- receiving device; and
an auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) electrically connected to the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Yokoyama is not relied on to teach a light-receiving device; wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) is over the common electrode(17, ¶0045), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) is over the common electrode(308, ¶0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring is over the common electrode, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Yokoyama and Maeda are not relied on to teach a light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device.
Kim teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 6) comprising a light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(300, M-S, ¶0132) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce the hole bezel region(¶0138) and to resolve the problems of a deviation of current being produced and a non-uniformity of brightness being caused due to an increase of resistance of a driving low voltage line(¶0139).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) comprising a first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045) whose end portion has a first tapered shape(¶0046) and a first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) having a shape along the first tapered shape(¶0046);
a second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) comprising a second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045) whose end portion has a second tapered shape(¶0046) and a second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) having a shape along the second tapered shape(¶0046);
a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042);
an insulating layer(15, ¶0045) between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light- receiving device; and
an auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) electrically connected to the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Yokoyama is not relied on a light-receiving device; wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) is over the common electrode(17, ¶0045), and
wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) is over the common electrode(308, ¶0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring is over the common electrode, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Yokoyama and Maeda are not relied on to teach a light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Kim teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 6) comprising a light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(300, M-S, ¶0132) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(E, ¶0063) the light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring comprises a region between the first light-emitting device the light-receiving device, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce the hole bezel region(¶0138) and to resolve the problems of a deviation of current being produced and a non-uniformity of brightness being caused due to an increase of resistance of a driving low voltage line(¶0139).
Regarding claim 7, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda, teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach a light- receiving device,
wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) is between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Kim teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 6) comprising a light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029), and wherein the insulating layer(109e, ¶0082, ¶0120) is between the second light-emitting device(E, ¶0063) and the light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device, and wherein the insulating layer is between the second light-emitting device and the light-receiving device, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce the hole bezel region(¶0138) and to resolve the problems of a deviation of current being produced and a non-uniformity of brightness being caused due to an increase of resistance of a driving low voltage line(¶0139).
Regarding claim 10, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) has a shape where a center portion thereof rises up more than an end portion(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises an upper portion with a flat shape(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, but is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises an organic material.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) comprises an organic material(carbon black, ¶0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring comprises an organic material, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) has a shape where a center portion thereof rises up more than an end portion(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises an upper portion with a flat shape(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, but is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises an organic material.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) comprises an organic material(carbon black, ¶0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring comprises an organic material, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1) and Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0320184 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024.
Regarding claim 8, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda, teaches the display apparatus according claim 1,
wherein the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) further comprises a first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046).
Yokoyama and Maeda are not relied on to teach a part of the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) is interposed between the first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046) and the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Okazaki teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3B) wherein a part of the insulating layer(118, 119, 125, 127, ¶0217, ¶0218) is interposed between the first light-emitting layer(113a, ¶0115) and the common electrode(115, ¶0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that a part of the insulating layer is interposed between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, as taught by Okazaki, in order to prevent disconnection between a carrier-injection layer and the common electrode(¶0218).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1, Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024 and Kim et al. (US 2022/0199748 A1), as applied to claim 3 and 4 above, further in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0320184 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024.
Regarding claim 12, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda and Kim, teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) further comprises a first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046).
Yokoyama, Maeda and Kim are not relied on to teach the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046) and the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Okazaki teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3B) wherein the insulating layer(118, 119, 125, 127, ¶0217, ¶0218) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(113a, ¶0115) and the common electrode(115, ¶0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the insulating layer comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, as taught by Okazaki, in order to prevent disconnection between a carrier-injection layer and the common electrode(¶0218).
Regarding claim 16, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda and Kim teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) further comprises a first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046).
Yokoyama, Maeda and Kim are not relied on to teach the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046) and the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Okazaki teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3B) wherein the insulating layer(118, 119, 125, 127, ¶0217, ¶0218) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(113a, ¶0115) and the common electrode(115, ¶0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the insulating layer comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, as taught by Okazaki, in order to prevent disconnection between a carrier-injection layer and the common electrode(¶0218).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takata et al. (US 2008/0150421 A1) Discoes a display apparatus.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892