DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 5/15/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 3-4 and 11-17 are pending and claims 1-2 and 5-10 are canceled.
Specification
The objection to the title is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 5/15/20216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 11, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1) of record in view of Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024 of record and Akiyama (US 2013/0075761 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) comprising:
a first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045) whose end portion has a first tapered shape(¶0046); and
a first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) over the first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045), the first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) having a shape along the first tapered shape(¶0046);
a second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) comprising:
a second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045) whose end portion has a second tapered shape(¶0046); and
a second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) over the second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045), the second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) having a shape along the second tapered shape(¶0046);
a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042);
an insulating layer(15, ¶0045) between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light- receiving device; and
an auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) electrically connected to the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Yokoyama is not relied on to teach a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the light-receiving device, wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) is over the common electrode(17, ¶0045), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) is over the common electrode(308, ¶0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring is over the common electrode, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Yokoyama and Maeda are not relied on to teach a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device.
Akiyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 23) comprising a light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110) comprising a lower electrode(301, ¶0050) and an active layer(305, ¶0050) over the lower electrode(301, ¶0050); a common electrode(607, ¶0110) included in the light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(601, ¶0110) comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode included in the light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring comprises a region surrounding the light-receiving device, as taught by Akiyama, so that various kinds of information of a living body as well as those in the depth direction can be acquired(¶0041) and to greatly reduced or suppress a voltage drop in the common electrode(¶0110).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 1) comprising:
a first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) comprising a first lower electrode(14 of 10R, ¶0045) whose end portion has a first tapered shape(¶0046) and a first organic compound layer(16 of 10R, ¶0046) having a shape along the first tapered shape(¶0046);
a second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) comprising a second lower electrode(14 of 10G, ¶0045) whose end portion has a second tapered shape(¶0046) and a second organic compound layer(16 of 10G, ¶0046) having a shape along the second tapered shape(¶0046);
a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042);
an insulating layer(15, ¶0045) between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light- receiving device; and
an auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) electrically connected to the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Yokoyama is not relied on a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the light-receiving device; wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) is over the common electrode(17, ¶0045), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) is over the common electrode(308, ¶0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring is over the common electrode, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Yokoyama and Maeda are not relied on to teach a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode(17, ¶0045) included in the light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Akiyama teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 23) comprising a light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110) comprising a lower electrode(301, ¶0050) and an active layer(305, ¶0050) over the lower electrode(301, ¶0050); a common electrode(607, ¶0110) included in the light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110), and wherein the auxiliary wiring(601, ¶0110) comprises a region between the first light-emitting device(200, ¶0048) and the light-receiving device(301, 303, 305, 206, 607, ¶0050, ¶0052, ¶0110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device comprising a lower electrode and an active layer over the lower electrode; a common electrode included in the light-receiving device, and wherein the auxiliary wiring comprises a region between the first light-emitting device and the light-receiving device, as taught by Akiyama, so that various kinds of information of a living body as well as those in the depth direction can be acquired(¶0041) and to greatly reduced or suppress a voltage drop in the common electrode(¶0110).
Regarding claim 7, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda, teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but is not relied on to teach a light- receiving device,
wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) is between the second light-emitting device(10G, ¶0042) and the light-receiving device.
Kim teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 6) comprising a light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029), and wherein the insulating layer(109e, ¶0082, ¶0120) is between the second light-emitting device(E, ¶0063) and the light-receiving device(not illustrated, camera, a photo-sensor, ¶0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, to include a light-receiving device, and wherein the insulating layer is between the second light-emitting device and the light-receiving device, as taught by Kim, in order to reduce the hole bezel region(¶0138) and to resolve the problems of a deviation of current being produced and a non-uniformity of brightness being caused due to an increase of resistance of a driving low voltage line(¶0139).
Regarding claim 10, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) has a shape where a center portion thereof rises up more than an end portion(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises an upper portion with a flat shape(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3, but is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises an organic material.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) comprises an organic material(carbon black, ¶0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring comprises an organic material, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) has a shape where a center portion thereof rises up more than an end portion(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises an upper portion with a flat shape(Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Yokoyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4, but is not relied on to teach the auxiliary wiring(17a, ¶0066) comprises an organic material.
Maeda teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3) wherein the auxiliary wiring(310, ¶0043) comprises an organic material(carbon black, ¶0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the auxiliary wiring comprises an organic material, as taught by Maeda, in order to form a self-aligning auxiliary wiring with a high level of positioning accuracy even if high definition progresses while preventing a drop in an effective aperture ratio(¶0047).
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama (US 2013/0248837 A1) of record, Maeda (US 2016/0104760 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024 of record and Akiyama (US 2013/0075761 A1), as applied to claim 3 and 4 above, further in view of Okazaki et al. (US 2022/0320184 A1) as cited in the IDS of 8/5/2024 of record.
Regarding claim 12, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda and Akiyama, teaches the display apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) further comprises a first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046).
Yokoyama, Maeda and Akiyama are not relied on to teach the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046) and the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Okazaki teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3B) wherein the insulating layer(118, 119, 125, 127, ¶0217, ¶0218) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(113a, ¶0115) and the common electrode(115, ¶0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the insulating layer comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, as taught by Okazaki, in order to prevent disconnection between a carrier-injection layer and the common electrode(¶0218).
Regarding claim 16, Yokoyama, in view of Maeda and Akiyama teaches the display apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the first light-emitting device(10R, ¶0042) further comprises a first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046).
Yokoyama, Maeda and Akiyama are not relied on to teach the insulating layer(15, ¶0045) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(light emitting layer of 16 of 10R, ¶0046) and the common electrode(17, ¶0045).
Okazaki teaches a display apparatus(Fig. 3B) wherein the insulating layer(118, 119, 125, 127, ¶0217, ¶0218) comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer(113a, ¶0115) and the common electrode(115, ¶0105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yokoyama, so that the insulating layer comprises a region interposed between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, as taught by Okazaki, in order to prevent disconnection between a carrier-injection layer and the common electrode(¶0218).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 3 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892