DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such limitations are: “means for electrically connecting the surface of the elastic and thermo-conductive layer…to ground potential” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12-15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20130120897 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 111769040 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a holding device arrangement, comprising a substrate holding device (electrostatic chuck, fig. 8, [0042) with an elastic and thermo-conductive layer (polymer protrusions 801 on charge control layer 802, [0042]; polymer is soft, [0006], and performs heat conduction, [0004]) for holding a substrate and means (metal layer 813) for electrically connecting the surface of the elastic and thermo-conductive layer to ground potential (bleeding charge to ground [0042]).
Lin does not state that the system is for use in an implantation process of an piezoelectric substrate, or that the layer is for receiving a piezoelectric substrate.
Zhang teaches an ion implantation system having an electrostatic chuck for receiving a piezoelectric substrate (p. 3 paragraph 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to use the substrate holder of Lin in a system designed to implant ions in a piezoelectric substrate, such as the system of Zhang, as the substrate holder of Lin is designed for a microelectronics production system ([0003]) having a beam ([0027]) such as an ion implanter and can implicitly hold any desired substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Lin teaches that the elastic and thermo-conductive layer comprises a polymer layer (polymer protrusions, [0009]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Lin teaches that the means for electrically connecting comprises at least on electrically conductive element embedded in the elastic and thermo-conductive layer to render the elastic and thermo-conductive layer electrically conductive (polymer may be a blend of a carbon nanotube and a polymer, or a conductive nanoparticle doped polymer, [0010]).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Lin teaches that the electrically conductive element is carbon nanotubes ([0010]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Lin teaches that the means for electrically connecting comprises at least one pin (ground pin, [0032]) extending through the elastic and thermo-conductive layer to the substrate holding device (pin passage 418 extends through top of substrate holder, fig. 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Lin teaches that the means for electrically connecting comprises a conductive layer (conductive path 952, [0043]), provided over the elastic and thermo-conductive layer and extending laterally at least partially over the side surface of the elastic and thermo-conductive layer to be in direct contact with the surface of the substrate holding device (fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang (as modified by Lin) teaches an ion implanter comprising a holding device arrangement according to claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Lin does not teach that the conductive layer comprises a metallic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the conductive layer of Lin to be a metallic layer as a matter of selecting a known material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (i.e. conductors are often made of metal) (MPEP 2144.07 [R-01.2024]).
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Zhang and in further view of Parkhe (20160148828 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Lin and Zhang teach all the limitations of claims 5 and 15 as described above. Lin and Zhang do not teach that the at least one metallic pin rests on a spring element provided in the substrate holding device.
Parkhe teaches a grounding pin (146, [0054]) for an electrostatic chuck which rests on a spring element (coil spring 150) provided in the substrate holding device (fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the current claims to modify the system of Lin to have the spring loaded grounding pin of Parkhe, in order to provide a spring force for ensuring contact between the pin and the substrate for proper grounding as described by Parkhe.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Parkhe teaches that, in the absence of a substrate, the metallic pins protrude at least partially beyond the surface of the electrostatic chuck (fig. 9; the surface comprises the elastic and thermo-conductive layer in the combination with Lin, above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Liu.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches a method of implantation of a piezoelectric substrate (p. 3 paragraph 1), comprising the steps of:
Providing a piezoelectric substrate (piezoelectric wafer 5) on a holding device (electrostatic chuck, p. 3 paragraph 1), and
Implanting atomic species into the piezoelectric substrate (H ion implantation, line 17).
Zhang does not teach that the holding device arrangement connects the substrate to ground potential and comprises a substrate holding device with an elastic and thermo-conductive layer for receiving the piezoelectric substrate, and means for electrically connecting the surface of the elastic and thermo-conductive layer for receiving the piezoelectric substrate to ground potential.
Lin teaches a holding device arrangement connecting a substrate to ground potential (by ground pins, [0032], fig. 4) comprising a substrate holding device (electrostatic chuck, fig. 8, [0042) with an elastic and thermo-conductive layer (polymer protrusions 801 on charge control layer 802, [0042]; polymer is soft, [0006], and performs heat conduction, [0004]) for holding a substrate and means (metal layer 813) for electrically connecting the surface of the elastic and thermo-conductive layer to ground potential (bleeding charge to ground [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing data of the invention to use the substrate holder of Lin in the ion implantation method of Zhang, as the substrate holder of Lin is designed for a microelectronics production system ([0003]) having a beam ([0027]) such as an ion implanter and can implicitly hold any desired substrate.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Zhang and in further view of Henley (US 6,458,723 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Lin and Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Lin and Zhang do not teach that the polymer is an elastomer.
Henley teaches an ion implantation substrate holder with an elastomer top layer (75, col. 7 lines 38-40).
t would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select the polymer layer of Lin to be an elastomer layer as a matter of selecting a known material based on its art-recognized suitability for an intended use (MPEP 2144.07 [R-01.2024]). In this case Henley teaches that an elastomer layer allows a shock absorbing layer with heat resistance characteristics (col. 7 lines 39-41) and provides efficient heat dissipation in an ion implantation process.
Conclusion
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881