DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This final action is in response to Applicant’s amended filing of 11/21/2025.
Claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, and 30-35 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant has amended claims 18, 22-23, 25-28, 30, 32-35; and cancelled claims 1-17, 19, 21, 24, and 29.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 18-35 rejected provisionally for nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The provisional rejection for nonstatutory double patenting against claims 18-35 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 18-35 rejected under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered but they are only partially persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Foerster does not disclose at least two secondary power supply systems in addition to a primary power supply system. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. ¶ [0098-0100] describe an embodiment depicted in Fig. 8 (shown below) that draw attention to two energy supply units 22a along with energy supply unit 22d. This explicitly discloses two secondary power supply systems in addition to a primary power supply system.
Additionally, the Applicant argues that Achtzehn does not recite the limitations of cancelled claim 24, now incorporated and amended into claim 18, specifically stating Achtzehn does not disclose a switching unit and the subunit is not associated with the switching unit depending on the citation focused on. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and counterargues that focusing on individual citations mischaracterizes their use as a reference. ¶ [0009] and [0016] collectively describe a control system having at least two energy sources and at least one component, with that component having at least two subunits where at least one subunit is connected to the first or second energy source by a passive or active switch, and thus read on the limitations of cancelled claim 24 and corresponding features where applicable as they have been incorporated and amended into claim 18.
The Applicant further emphasizes the amended limitations of first and second connections lines branching off from the at least one primary power supply system and the at least two secondary power supply systems for supplying power to the at least two consumer units are not disclosed by Achtzehn. The Examiner agrees that these limitations are not explicitly disclosed by Achtzehn; however, these features are at least suggested by Foerster, and are reflected in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "supplying power to at least one of at least two consumer units utilizing the power supply management system according to claim 18, by way of a power supply system” (emphasis added). Following the amendment to claim 35 and its current dependency on claim 18, it is unclear if the recited power supply system is the same power supply system introduced in claim 18, or is itself introducing a different power supply system.
Appropriate correction and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtzehn et al. (DE 102018209662 A1; reference provided by IDS submitted 01/05/2024) in view of Foerster et al. (US 20150353109 A1; reference provided by IDS submitted 01/05/2024).
Regarding claim 18, Achtzehn discloses a power supply management system for a vehicle (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system), comprising:
at least one power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources) comprising:
(i) at least one primary power supply system having at least one primary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources),
at least one consumer system having at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits),
wherein the at least two consumer units assume an at least partially identical functional scope (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
While Achtzehn discloses at least one secondary power supply system having at least one secondary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources),
wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power via the at least one primary power supply system and the at least one secondary power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits),
the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and the secondary power supply system via at least one connection line (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits through separate lines),
and each of the at least two consumer units is connectable to the connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the secondary power supply system via at least one consumer switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009] and [0016] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line),
Achtzehn does not explicitly disclose (ii) at least two secondary power supply systems, each of which has at least one secondary power supply unit;
wherein each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is configured for supplying a same of the at least two consumer units, and wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power by the at least one primary power supply system and by each of the at least two secondary power supply systems,
first and second connection lines that branch off from the at least one primary power supply unit for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units, each of the first and second connection lines being connectable to each of the consumer units,
wherein the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least one of the first and second connection lines and from the primary power supply system and the other one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least the other one of the first and second connection lines,
and each of the at least two consumer units for each of the first and second connection lines is connectable to the respective connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the respective secondary power supply system via at least one respective consumer switch and/or at least one respective fuse, and is isolatable from the respective connection line.
However, Foerster suggests (ii) at least two secondary power supply systems, each of which has at least one secondary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d);
wherein each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is configured for supplying a same of the at least two consumer units, and wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power by the at least one primary power supply system and by each of the at least two secondary power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d),
first and second connection lines that branch off from the at least one primary power supply unit for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units, each of the first and second connection lines being connectable to each of the consumer units (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d),
wherein the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least one of the first and second connection lines and from the primary power supply system and the other one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least the other one of the first and second connection lines (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d),
and each of the at least two consumer units for each of the first and second connection lines is connectable to the respective connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the respective secondary power supply system via at least one respective consumer switch and/or at least one respective fuse, and is isolatable from the respective connection line (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d, with each line also including switches 40, 42, 48, and 54).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units and branching connection line architecture of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Achtzehn discloses the at least partially identical functional scope comprises all safety-related and safety-critical functions, or all safety-critical functions within the functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 22, while Achtzehn discloses the at least two consumer units are selectively supplied with power via each of the at least first and second power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0016] of the machine translation disclosing a switching unit selectively supplying power to a subunit from the first and/or second energy sources), it does not disclose two secondary power supply systems.
However, Foerster suggests the at least two consumer units are selectively supplied with power via each of the at least first and second power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Figs. 7-10 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Achtzehn discloses the at least one power supply unit is connected or connectable to one or more outputs of the power supply system for supply of power and, the at least one secondary power supply unit is connected or connectable to one or more outputs of the secondary power supply system for supply of power (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the at least two energy sources having separate lines to supply power to the component and its at least two subunits).
Regarding claim 25, while Achtzehn discloses the at least one secondary power supply system is connectable to the connection line for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is/are isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line), it does not disclose each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is connectable to a respective one of the first and second connection lines for the supply of power via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line.
However, Foerster suggests each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is connectable to a respective one of the first and second connection lines for the supply of power via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d, with each line also including switches 40, 42, 48, and 54).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units and branching connection line architecture of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Achtzehn discloses the at least one primary power supply system and/or the at least one primary power supply unit is connectable to a respective connection line for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units via at least one primary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is/are isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line).
Regarding claim 27, Achtzehn discloses at least the at least one consumer switch is a normally closed switch (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line – to interrupt a power line by opening it necessarily requires the line to be normally closed).
Regarding claim 28, Achtzehn discloses at least the at least one secondary power supply switch and/or the at least one primary power supply switch is/are a normally open switch (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open the power line to the first power source and close the power line to the second power source – to switch to the second power source necessarily requires that line to be normally closed).
Regarding claim 32, Achtzehn discloses the power supply management system further comprises:
a monitoring device configured to monitor a functional status of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 33, Achtzehn discloses the power supply management system is configured, in an event of a detection by the monitoring device of an at least partial failure of the at least partially identical functional scope on the at least one consumer unit, to:
supply power to at least the other consumer unit via the primary power supply system and/or the secondary power supply system (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail),
and/or activate the at least partially identical functional scope of at least the other consumer unit (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 34, Achtzehn discloses a method for supplying power utilizing the power supply management system according to claim 18 (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system), comprising:
supplying power to at least one of the at least two consumer units, by way of the power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits);
monitoring the at least one consumer unit which is supplied with power for availability of an at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
and supplying at least one other of the at least two consumer units with power by way of the power supply system in an event that, based on the monitoring, a reduced availability or a loss of availability of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units is detected (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 35, Achtzehn discloses a computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which (see at least ¶ [0009], [0013], and [0028] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system and subunits having memory to run control code), when executed by one or more processors (see at least ¶ [0013] of the machine translation disclosing the subunits operating on CPUs and microcontrollers), carries out the acts of:
supplying power to at least one of at least two consumer units utilizing the power supply management system according to claim 18, by way of a power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits);
monitoring the at least one consumer unit which is supplied with power for availability of an at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
and supplying at least one other of the at least two consumer units with power by way of the power supply system in an event that, based on the monitoring, a reduced availability or a loss of availability of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units is detected (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtzehn et al. in view of Foerster, as applied in claims 18 and 26 above, and in further view of Rechberger et al. (US 20170126165 A1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Achtzehn and Foerster does not explicitly disclose at least the at least one consumer switch is a low-side switch.
However, Rechberger teaches an electric machine for a motor vehicle using an electrical inverter with multiple phase systems comprising a high-side switching device and a low-side switching device (see at least abstract and ¶ [0010-0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the high and low side switching devices of Rechberger into the combination of Achtzehn and Foerster with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would help regulate and invert A/C and DIC power in a vehicle to be distributed across the vehicle electronics (see at least Rechberger ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Achtzehn and Foerster does not explicitly disclose the at least one consumer switch, the at least one secondary power supply switch, the at least one primary power supply switch, and/or at least one further supplementary consumer switch, for further connectivity of at least one supplementary consumer system which is to be supplied with power, is a high-side switch.
However, Rechberger teaches an electric machine for a motor vehicle using an electrical inverter with multiple phase systems comprising a high-side switching device and a low-side switching device (see at least abstract and ¶ [0010-0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the high and low side switching devices of Rechberger into the combination of Achtzehn and Foerster with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would help regulate and invert A/C and DIC power in a vehicle to be distributed across the vehicle electronics (see at least Rechberger ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669