DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This non-final action is in response to Applicant’s amended filing of 05/18/2026.
Claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, and 30-35 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant has amended claims 18 and 35.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) against claim 35 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, and 30-35 rejected under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-28, and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtzehn et al. (DE 102018209662 A1; reference provided by IDS submitted 01/05/2024) in view of Foerster et al. (US 20150353109 A1; reference provided by IDS submitted 01/05/2024) and Schwarzer et al. (US 20200216102 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Achtzehn discloses a power supply management system for a vehicle (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system), comprising:
at least one power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources) comprising:
(i) at least one primary power supply system having at least one primary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources),
at least one consumer system having at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits),
wherein the at least two consumer units assume an at least partially identical functional scope (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
While Achtzehn discloses at least one secondary power supply system having at least one secondary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system has at least two energy sources),
wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power via the at least one primary power supply system and the at least one secondary power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits),
the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and the secondary power supply system via at least one connection line (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits through separate lines),
and each of the at least two consumer units is connectable to the connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the secondary power supply system via at least one consumer switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009] and [0016] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line),
Achtzehn does not explicitly disclose (ii) at least two secondary power supply systems, each of which has at least one secondary power supply unit;
wherein each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is configured for supplying a same of the at least two consumer units, and wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power by the at least one primary power supply system and by each of the at least two secondary power supply systems,
first and second connection lines that branch off from the at least one primary power supply unit for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units, each of the first and second connection lines being connectable to each of the consumer units,
wherein the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least one of the first and second connection lines and from the primary power supply system and the other one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least the other one of the first and second connection lines,
and each of the at least two consumer units for each of the first and second connection lines is connectable to the respective connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the respective secondary power supply system via a respective consumer switch and/or a respective fuse, and is isolatable from the respective connection line.
However, Foerster suggests (ii) at least two secondary power supply systems, each of which has at least one secondary power supply unit (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d);
wherein each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is configured for supplying a same of the at least two consumer units, and wherein each of the at least two consumer units is able to be supplied with power by the at least one primary power supply system and by each of the at least two secondary power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d),
first and second connection lines that branch off from the at least one primary power supply unit for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units, each of the first and second connection lines being connectable to each of the consumer units (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d),
wherein the at least two consumer units are supplied with power from the primary power supply system and one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least one of the first and second connection lines and from the primary power supply system and the other one of the at least two secondary power supply systems via at least the other one of the first and second connection lines (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d),
and each of the at least two consumer units for each of the first and second connection lines is connectable to the respective connection line for the supply of power by the primary power supply system and the respective secondary power supply system via at least one respective consumer switch and/or at least one respective fuse, and is isolatable from the respective connection line (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d, with each line also including switches 40, 42, 48, and 54).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units and branching connection line architecture of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
The combination of Achtzehn and Foerster does not explicitly disclose the connection of each of the two consumer units to the first and second connection lines via the respective switch and/or fuse are independent of one another, in that a respective switch and/or fuse is individually assigned to each consumer unit for each of the connection lines.
However Schwarzer discloses first and second energy supply units supplying power to an auxiliary system through first and second auxiliary system supply lines, each auxiliary system supply line including respective switches (see at least abstract and ¶ [0059], [0062], [0068-0073]).
This suggests the deficient limitation of Achtzehn and Foerster because it assigns a respective switch to each connection line from the power supply systems to a consumer unit. While Schwarzer does not disclose two or more auxiliary systems each having their own switches and auxiliary system supply lines to each energy supply unit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add switches and supply lines to each auxiliary system, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. 549 F.2d 833 (7th Cir. 1977). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the auxiliary system supply line dedicated switches to the combination of Achtzehn and Foerster with a reasonable expectation of success because all inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract and ¶ [0002] of Schwarzer).
Regarding claim 20, Achtzehn discloses the at least partially identical functional scope comprises all safety-related and safety-critical functions, or all safety-critical functions within the functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 22, while Achtzehn discloses the at least two consumer units are selectively supplied with power via each of the at least first and second power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0016] of the machine translation disclosing a switching unit selectively supplying power to a subunit from the first and/or second energy sources), it does not disclose two secondary power supply systems.
However, Foerster suggests the at least two consumer units are selectively supplied with power via each of the at least first and second power supply systems (see at least ¶ [0098-0100] and Figs. 7-10 disclosing two energy supply units 22a providing power to operating units 58a-d alongside one energy supply unit 22d).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Achtzehn discloses the at least one power supply unit is connected or connectable to one or more outputs of the power supply system for supply of power and, the at least one secondary power supply unit is connected or connectable to one or more outputs of the secondary power supply system for supply of power (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the at least two energy sources having separate lines to supply power to the component and its at least two subunits).
Regarding claim 25, while Achtzehn discloses the at least one secondary power supply system is connectable to the connection line for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is/are isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line), it does not disclose each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is connectable to a respective one of the first and second connection lines for the supply of power via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line.
However, Foerster suggests each of the at least two secondary power supply systems is connectable to a respective one of the first and second connection lines for the supply of power via at least one secondary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0095-0100] and Fig. 8 disclosing connections lines 38a, 38b, 46, and 60 that branch between each other to connect two energy supply units 22a, power supply unit 22d, and train busbar 24 to power operating units 58a-d, with each line also including switches 40, 42, 48, and 54).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the two energy supply units and branching connection line architecture of Foerster into the power supply system of Achtzehn with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would provide redundant energy supply to safety-critical systems like brake systems (see at least Foerster abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Achtzehn discloses the at least one primary power supply system and/or the at least one primary power supply unit is connectable to a respective connection line for the supply of power to the at least two consumer units via at least one primary power supply switch and/or at least one fuse, and is/are isolatable from the connection line (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line).
Regarding claim 27, Achtzehn discloses at least the at least one consumer switch is a normally closed switch (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open and interrupt the power line – to interrupt a power line by opening it necessarily requires the line to be normally closed).
Regarding claim 28, Achtzehn discloses at least the at least one secondary power supply switch and/or the at least one primary power supply switch is/are a normally open switch (see at least ¶ [0009], [0016], [0039] disclosing at least one second subunit of the component being connected to first and/or second energy sources through a switching unit that can open the power line to the first power source and close the power line to the second power source – to switch to the second power source necessarily requires that line to be normally closed).
Regarding claim 32, Achtzehn discloses the power supply management system further comprises:
a monitoring device configured to monitor a functional status of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 33, Achtzehn discloses the power supply management system is configured, in an event of a detection by the monitoring device of an at least partial failure of the at least partially identical functional scope on the at least one consumer unit, to:
supply power to at least the other consumer unit via the primary power supply system and/or the secondary power supply system (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail),
and/or activate the at least partially identical functional scope of at least the other consumer unit (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 34, Achtzehn discloses a method for supplying power utilizing the power supply management system according to claim 18 (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system), comprising:
supplying power to at least one of the at least two consumer units, by way of the power supply system (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits);
monitoring the at least one consumer unit which is supplied with power for availability of an at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
and supplying at least one other of the at least two consumer units with power by way of the power supply system in an event that, based on the monitoring, a reduced availability or a loss of availability of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units is detected (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Regarding claim 35, Achtzehn discloses a computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which (see at least ¶ [0009], [0013], and [0028] of the machine translation disclosing a vehicle control system and subunits having memory to run control code), when executed by one or more processors (see at least ¶ [0013] of the machine translation disclosing the subunits operating on CPUs and microcontrollers), carries out the acts of:
supplying power to at least one of at least two consumer units utilizing the power supply management system according to claim 18 (see at least ¶ [0009] of the machine translation disclosing the control system’s energy sources powering a component with at least two subunits);
monitoring the at least one consumer unit which is supplied with power for availability of an at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail);
and supplying at least one other of the at least two consumer units with power by way of the power supply system in an event that, based on the monitoring, a reduced availability or a loss of availability of the at least partially identical functional scope of the at least two consumer units is detected (see at least ¶ [0035] and [0037] of the machine translation disclosing the first subunit performing a safety-critical function and the second subunit capable of taking over that safety critical function should the second energy source fail).
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Achtzehn et al. in view of Foerster and Schwarzer et al., as applied in claims 18 and 26 above, and in further view of Rechberger et al. (US 20170126165 A1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Achtzehn, Foerster, and Schwarzer does not explicitly disclose at least the at least one consumer switch is a low-side switch.
However, Rechberger teaches an electric machine for a motor vehicle using an electrical inverter with multiple phase systems comprising a high-side switching device and a low-side switching device (see at least abstract and ¶ [0010-0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the high and low side switching devices of Rechberger into the combination of Achtzehn, Foerster, and Schwarzer with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would help regulate and invert A/C and DIC power in a vehicle to be distributed across the vehicle electronics (see at least Rechberger ¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Achtzehn, Foerster, and Schwarzer does not explicitly disclose the at least one consumer switch, the at least one secondary power supply switch, the at least one primary power supply switch, and/or at least one further supplementary consumer switch, for further connectivity of at least one supplementary consumer system which is to be supplied with power, is a high-side switch.
However, Rechberger teaches an electric machine for a motor vehicle using an electrical inverter with multiple phase systems comprising a high-side switching device and a low-side switching device (see at least abstract and ¶ [0010-0012]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the high and low side switching devices of Rechberger into the combination of Achtzehn, Foerster, and Schwarzer with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward managing vehicle power supplies to on board components and systems. This would help regulate and invert A/C and DIC power in a vehicle to be distributed across the vehicle electronics (see at least Rechberger ¶ [0004]).
Conclusion
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669