DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed February 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 2, 6, 10 and 11 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 are pending examination.
The previous rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed February 17, 2026 cancelling claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulman et al. (“Nutraceuticals as Potential Targets for the Development of a Functional Beverage for Improving Sleep Quality”, Beverages, 7 (2), 33, (2 June 2021), pp. 1-30) in view of Liebchen (“Jamia Tart Cherry Health, a vitamin village that helps you sleep” Nave Blog, August 2020 – IDS filed February 17, 2026), Dachae (“A sleeping bottle to drink when you can’t sleep”, Nave Blog, August 8, 2021- IDS filed February 17, 2026), Lan et al. (CN 1616026), Wan (KR 102258796 – IDS filed January 9, 2024), Ye et al. (CN 111358899-Clarivate Analytics translation), Jia (CN 1586327 -Clarivate Analytics translation), Yin et al. (CN 103750445 – Clarivate Analytics translation) and Bae et al. (KR 888694 – Clarivate Analytics translation).
Regarding claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9, Bulman et al. disclose the development of functional beverages for improving sleep quality (i.e., sleep induction-Abstract, p. 3/Introduction). Bulman et al. disclose functional beverages comprising one or more active compounds including L-tryptophan, 5-HTP, melatonin, L-theanine, L-cysteine, vitamin B12, vitamin B6, vitamin D, vitamin C, magnesium and/or zinc (p. 4-10/Table 1. Selected nutraceutical used in the promotion and improvement of quality of sleep and their outcomes in different populations). Bulman et al. disclose optimal sleep comprises adequate duration, quality and timing (p. 2). Bulman et al. disclose sleep disorders are a factor that affects sleep quality (p. 3/Figure 1).
Bulman et al. is silent with respect to a functional beverage comprising Siberian ginseng trunk, wheat, lotus seed, jujube, jujube seed, gardenia, Poria cocos, red ginseng, Ecklonia cava extract powder, tart cherry juice powder, fish collagen and beet root concentrate powder.
Liebchen teaches a tart cherry powder that helps you sleep. Liebchen teaches the powder and be diluted with water to make a drink (p. 5). Liebchen teaches the composition comprises tart cherry, perilla extract powder, chamomile extract powder, L-tryptophan and fish collagen (p. 2). Liebchen teaches tart cherry is known to comprise melatonin and that melatonin is a good ingredient for insomnia and sleep disorders (p. 3).
Dachae teaches a drink (i.e., sleeping bottle) intended to be consumed 1-2 hours before going to bed for a good night’s sleep (p. 2). Dachae teaches consuming the drink can maintain a healthy sleep rhythm (p. 2). Dachae teaches the active ingredients include perilla extract, tart cherry, L-theanine, barley, wheat, lotus seed, gardenia and red ginseng (p. 3 and 4).
Lan et al. teaches a medicine tea for treating insomnia comprising jujube and lotus seed (Abstract, claim 1).
Wan teaches a beverage for improving sleep disorder and inducing sleep comprising Ecklonia cava fruit, Schisandra chinesis fruit and red lettuce (Abstract).
Ye et al. teach a Chinese medicine composition for treating insomnia comprising wheat and jujube kernel (i.e., seed) (Abstract, Summary of invention, Example 1).
Jia teaches a functional drink comprising Siberian ginseng (Abstract). Jia teaches Siberian ginseng root (i.e., trunk) is helpful to treat insomnia and sleep disorders (i.e., dreamful sleep-Invention content).
Hou teaches a powder for improving sleep comprising tuckahoe extract (i.e., Poria cocos)(Abstract, [0035]).
Yin et al. teach a beverage for treating insomnia comprising beet root and lotus seed (Abstract, [0009], claim 1).
Bulman et al., Liebchen, Dachae, Lan, Wan, Ye et al., Jia, Hou and Yin et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely compositions used to treat insomnia and improve sleep. Given the combination of references teaches that Siberian ginseng, wheat, lotus seed, jujube, jujube seed, gardenia, Poria cocos, red ginseng, Ecklonia cava, tart cherry, fish collagen, beet root, vitamin C and L-theanine are components known to treat insomnia and improve sleep it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have combined the components to make a functional beverage used to treat insomnia and improve sleep. Absent evidence to the contrary, one of ordinary skill would have combined the components in any ratio with a reasonable expectation that when consumed, the composition would improve sleep.
Bulman et al. is also silent with respect to enzymatically modified stevia.
Bae et al. teach using enzymatically modified stevia as a sweetening agent in beverage compositions (Abstract, Use).
Bulman et al. and Bae et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely beverage compositions. Given Bae et al. teach enzymatically modified stevia is a sweetening agent known to be used in beverage compositions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to have added enzymatically modified stevia to the functional beverage of modified Bulman et al. to obtain a functional beverage with a sweet taste. One of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amount of added enzymatically modified stevia to obtain the desired level of sweetness in the functional beverage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-35 and 7-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759