DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 5-7 and 10-11 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to CN 110777427. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN 212128337 U), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Muto (US 2020/0032414).
Referring to claim 1 and 12, Zhang et al teaches a monocrystal furnace with lateral feeding (Fig 2, 5 and 6; CT [0002]-[0011] teaches a Czochralski crystal growth furnace with feeder device on the side of the furnace), wherein the monocrystal furnace 10 comprises a furnace body 101, a feeding apparatus 20, and a thermal insulation layer 102, a sealing member (stop member 104), a crucible 103 and a lifting apparatus that are provided within the furnace body (control mechanism 108 connected to heat shield 107 and stop member 104 to control movement to rise or fall), and the thermal insulation layer is located between the crucible and the furnace body; a first through-hole is provided on a side portion of the furnace body, and a second through-hole is provided in a position of the thermal insulation layer opposite to the first through-hole; and the lifting apparatus is connected to the sealing member and is used to drive the sealing member to switch between a rising state and a falling state; in the rising state, the sealing member rises, and the feeding apparatus is capable of passing through the first through-hole and the second through-hole to be opposite to an opening of the crucible; and in the falling state, the sealing member falls, and the sealing member is capable of sealing the second through-hole (See Fig 2, 5, and 6; CT [0047]-[0055] teaches a feeding device 20 includes a feeding component 201, which is movably inserted into the first feeding port 105 and the second feeding port 106; the control mechanism 108 controls the heat shield 107 and the stop member 104 to rise, so as to release the blockage of the stop member 104 on the second feeding port 106, so that the conveying member 201 can pass through the second feeding port 106 to add material to the crucible 103; after the feeding is completed, the control mechanism 108 controls the heat shield 107 and the stop 104 to descend so that the stop 104 blocks the second feeding port 106; and Fig 2 and Fig 5 show the first hole and second hole through the furnace and insulation for the feed tube).
Zhang et al does not teach a first inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the thermal insulation layer opposite to the sealing member, and a second inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the sealing member opposite to the thermal insulation layer; and under the condition that the lifting apparatus drives the sealing member to switch to the falling state, the first inclined plane structure and the second inclined plane structure are fitted.
In a crystal growth apparatus, Muto teaches a heat-insulating material has a movable part, wherein the movable part forms an opening in the heat-insulating material by the movement of the movable part to control an opening ratio of the opening in the heat-insulating material (abstract; [0014]-[0018], Fig 1-2). Muto teaches a heat-insulating material 20 has a movable part 22; the movable part 22 is a part of the heat-insulating material 20, and a movable element; and the movable part 22 can form an opening by transferof ([0032]). Muto teaches an upper surface of the movable part 22 is an inclined surface 22a and a second inclined surface 21a faces the inclined surface 22a, and is inclined to have the same inclination angle as that of the inclined surface 22a ([0030]-[0036]; Fig 1-5), which clearly suggests a first inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the thermal insulation layer opposite to the sealing member (movable part), and a second inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the sealing member opposite to the thermal insulation layer. Muto also teaches a driving member (not shown) which moves the movable part 22 (sealing member) to the operating direction is connected to the movable part 22; and the driving member is not limited in so far as the driving member can move the movable part 22 to the vertical direction; and a lift-type driving member or the like may be provided ([0035]-[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhang et al by providing a first inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the thermal insulation layer opposite to the sealing member (movable part), and a second inclined plane structure is provided at a position of the sealing member opposite to the thermal insulation layer; and under the condition that the lifting apparatus (driving member) drives the sealing member to switch to the falling state, the first inclined plane structure and the second inclined plane structure are fitted, as taught by Muto to open and close the insulation, and because changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04) and matching inclined surfaces are known in the art, as evidenced by Muto.
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches inclined insulation pieces fitted together and moved to create openings. Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Muto a first sub-inclined plane structure and a second sub- inclined plane structure, wherein the second through-hole is provided between the first sub- inclined plane structure and the second sub-inclined plane structure; and under the condition that the lifting apparatus drives the sealing member to switch to the falling state, both the first sub-inclined plane structure and the second sub-inclined plane structure are fitted with the second inclined plane structure because changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Referring to claim 7, the combination of Zhang et al and Muto does not explicitly teach a first included angle between the first inclined plane structure and an axis of the thermal insulation layer is 5-15°, and a second included angle between the second inclined plane structure and the axis of the thermal insulation layer is 75-85°. The combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches inclined insulation pieces fitted together and moved to create openings; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Muto to have a first included angle between the first inclined plane structure and an axis of the thermal insulation layer is 5-15°, and a second included angle between the second inclined plane structure and the axis of the thermal insulation layer is 75-85° because changes in size and shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches the feeding apparatus further comprises a feeding valve connected to the first through-hole and the feeding apparatus, respectively; and the feeding valve is opened, and the feeding apparatus is capable of passing through the first through-hole and the second through-hole to be opposite to the opening of the crucible (Zhang CT [0062] teaches an isolation valve 112 provided at the feeding port 105 and the isolation valve 112 opens the first feeding port 105, and the conveying component 201 passes through the first feeding port 105 to feed the single crystal furnace 10).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches the feeding apparatus comprises a feeding mechanism and a telescopic tube, the feeding mechanism is connected to the telescopic tube, and the telescopic tube is connected to the feeding valve; and the telescopic tube comprises a compressed state and an expansion state, and under the condition that the telescopic tube is switched to the compressed state, the feeding mechanism is capable of being driven to pass through the first through-hole and the second through-hole to be opposite to the opening of the crucible (Zhang Fig 6 and CT [0063]-[0066] teaches the sealing member (bellows) 202 may also be a telescopic sealing member 202, by stretching or compressing the sealing member 202 can change the distance between the furnace body 101 and the feeding device 20, so as to according to the actual need to the conveying member 201 is set in the first feeding port 105 and the second feeding port 106, or taken out).
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches Muto also teaches a driving member (not shown) which moves the movable part 22 (sealing member) to the operating direction is connected to the movable part 22; and the driving member is not limited in so far as the driving member can move the movable part 22 to the vertical direction; and a lift-type driving member or the like may be provided (Muto [0035]-[0044]), which clearly suggests a lifting apparatus comprises a driving mechanism and a lifting mechanism, the driving mechanism (motor) is provided in the furnace body, the driving mechanism is connected to the lifting mechanism (wire/rod), and the lifting mechanism is connected to the sealing member (movable part); and the driving mechanism is configured to drive the lifting mechanism to rise or fall, and rising or falling of the lifting mechanism drives the sealing member to switch between the rising state and the falling state.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN 212128337 U), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Muto (US 2020/0032414), as applied to claim 1, 6-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Ou et al (US 2022/0170177).
The combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches all of the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, except the monocrystal furnace further comprises a protection barrel embedded in the second through-hole; and the protection barrel is provided with a third through-hole for penetrating the feeding apparatus.
In a crystal growth apparatus, Ou et al teaches a main furnace chamber 1, an auxiliary furnace chamber 2 and a material chamber 3; the material chamber 3 is provided with a charging mechanism 32 which is telescopically coupled to the charging inlet 31 for passing through the charging inlet 31 and charging materials to a crucible 11 in the main furnace chamber 1; a thermal insulation box 6 and a thermal insulation cover plate 7 are fixedly provided in the main furnace chamber 1, a charging passage and a sealing passage are provided on the thermal insulation box, the charging passage abuts with the charging inlet, and the sealing passage 62 is communicated with the charging passage 61, and a sealing plug 71 is provided on the thermal insulation cover plate and sealingly cooperates with the sealing passage for opening or blocking the charging passage (Fig 1, 7-10; [0013], [0041]-[0060]), wherein the charging passage 61 is depicted as a barrel within the insulation box 6, which clearly suggests a protection barrel embedded in the second through hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Muto by providing a protection barrel within the insulator box, as taught by Ou et al, to provide a thermal insulation structure to ensure uniformity of the thermal field in the main furnace chamber (Ou [0060]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN 212128337 U), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Muto (US 2020/0032414), as applied to claim 1, 6-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Kotooka et al (US 5,935,326).
The combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches all of the limitations of claim 3, as discussed above, except the monocrystal furnace comprises a hanger with a flexible feature, one end of the hanger is connected to the lifting apparatus, and the other end of the hanger is used for hanging the sealing member.
In a Czochralski crystal growth apparatus, Kotooka et al teaches a heat-retaining cylinder 13 made of graphite (insulator); the heat-retaining cylinder 13 is capable of ascending and descending; three or four wires 14 are engaged with the upper end of the heat-retaining cylinder 13; each wire 14 (hanger with a flexible feature) respectively wounding around a drum 17 engaging with a motor (lifting device), by way of pulleys 15 and 16; and the heat-retaining cylinder 13 can be raised or lowered by controlling the rotation speed of the drums 17 (Fig 1; col 4, ln 1-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Muto by using a wire with drum and motor, as taught by Kotooka et al, to raise and lower the insulator/stop member, to raise and lower the stop member using conventionally known means for moving insulators in a Czochralski apparatus.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN 212128337 U), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Muto (US 2020/0032414) and Kotooka et al (US 5,935,326), as applied to claim 1, 6-10 and 12, and further in view of US 2022/0195623.
The combination of Zhang et al, Muto and Kotooka et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above, except a counterweight is further provided in the monocrystal furnace, and the counterweight is installed at one end of the sealing member connected to the hanger.
In a Czochralski apparatus, Yin et al teaches a crystal growth system 100 with a spool-balanced lift assembly 102 and a dynamic counterweight system, and since the various components of the lift assembly have different weights, one or more static and/or non-static counterweights can be coupled to the base of the seed lift assembly at various locations to maintain the center of mass a position aligned with the lift axis, and as the cable (flexible member) winch moves axially along the spool axis, non-static counterweights (e.g., active counterweights or dynamic counterweights) can be used to offset such axial movement of the spool, including mass added by the cable wound up by the spool ([0024]-[0032], [0044]; Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al, Muto and Kotooka et al by providing a counterweight and the counterweight is installed at one end of the sealing member connected to the hanger, as taught by Yin et al, to offset axial movement to maintain a lift axis.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (CN 212128337 U), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Muto (US 2020/0032414), as applied to claims 1, 6-10 and 12 above, and further in view of Inagaki et al (US 2002/0144641).
The combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as discussed above, except a heat exchange mechanism, the heat exchange mechanism is provided above the crucible, the lifting apparatus is connected to the heat exchange mechanism, and the heat exchange mechanism is connected to the sealing member; and the lifting apparatus is configured to drive the heat exchange mechanism to rise or fall, and rising or falling of the heat exchange mechanism drives the sealing member to switch between the rising state and the falling state.
In a Czochralski crystal growth apparatus, Inagaki et al teaches a cooler 19 above a crucible 13 and a thermal insulation member 18 are immediately moved upward away from a melt surface during recharge or additional charge of material; and the cooler is provided with an engagement member and the thermal insulation member is provided with another engagement member and that, when the cooler is hoisted, the engagement members are engaged with each other, and the thermal insulation member is lifted in association with upward movement of the cooler (Fig 1-12; Abstract; [0031]-[0046], [0057]-[0077], [0175]-[0200], [0223]-[0243]). Inagaki et al teaches a furnace cooler enables a considerable increase in a single-crystal pull rate ([0008], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhang et al and Muto teaches by providing a heat exchange mechanism, the heat exchange mechanism is provided above the crucible, the lifting apparatus is connected to the heat exchange mechanism, and the heat exchange mechanism is connected to the sealing member (insulation); and the lifting apparatus is configured to drive the heat exchange mechanism to rise or fall, and rising or falling of the heat exchange mechanism drives the sealing member to switch between the rising state and the falling state, as taught by Inagaki et al, because the cooler enables an increase in pulling rate and the insulation for sealing can be connected to the cooler so both can be lifted during recharging.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714