Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Based on the foreign documents submitted in 08/05/2026 IDS, previous allowance of claims 3-4 has been withdrawn. A new ground of rejection has been applied as described below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norihiko et al. (JP 2009231550 A) in view of Akira et al. (JP H07297488 A; hereinafter “Akira”) (all the page and paragraph numbers are referring to the attached English translations of Norihiko and Akira).
In re claim 3, Norihiko discloses in figs. 1-6, a method for manufacturing a substrate for a semiconductor device, the method comprising steps of:
(1) preparing a laminated substrate including:
a high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate having a resistivity of 100 Ω-cm or more (e.g., 6 KΩ-cm) (page 7; 7th paragraph; “Here, an n-type Si substrate having a (111) plane as a main surface and manufactured by the FZ method and having a resistivity ρ of 6 [kΩ.cm] or more is used as the growth substrate.”);
a first buffer layer composed of an AlN layer and formed on a top surface of the high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate (page 8, 1st paragraph); and
a nitride semiconductor layer (e.g., AlGaN layer) provided on the first buffer layer (page 8, 1st paragraph).
Norihiko discloses when the substrate temperature is raised to 1200 [° C.] and an AlN 1layer is formed on the Si substrate, the resistance value of the Si substrate decreases and an object of the present invention is to manufacture a semiconductor device that suppresses a decrease in the resistance value of an Si substrate when AlN and GaN are grown on the Si substrate (see pages 2-3).
However, Norihiko does not expressly disclose the second step, i.e.,
(2) irradiating the laminated substrate with electron beam from a rear surface side of the high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate to erase a low-resistivity portion formed on a top surface of the high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate,
the low-resistivity portion having a resistivity relatively lower than the resistivity of an entirety of the high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Akira discloses (see paragraphs 1-16 of the specification, Figures 1-2) a method for producing a semiconductor thin film crystal and a semiconductor laser. In the semiconductor thin film crystal growth, a specific region having any shape is irradiated with charged particles such as electrons or ions of a specific element, so that the irradiated region becomes a high-resistance region (i.e., a process of eliminating a low-resistivity portion; irradiation with an electron ray eliminates a low-resistivity portion). Whereas the effect of irradiating the semiconductor region by electron beam so that the irradiated region becomes a high-resistive zone is the same as that of this claim.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to suppress a decrease in the resistance value of an Si substrate when AlN and GaN are grown on the Si substrate of Norihiko and form a high resistance region by irradiating the laminated substrate with electron beam from a rear surface side of the high-resistant silicon single crystal substrate as disclosed by Akira to control and to realize a high-performance semiconductor laser by making a specific region having an arbitrary shape a high resistance region during the growth of a semiconductor thin film (see pages 1-3 of Akira).
In re claim 4, Norihiko, as modified by Akira, discloses the method for manufacturing a substrate for a semiconductor device according to claim 3 outlined above.
Norihiko further discloses in figs. 1-6, wherein the nitride semiconductor layer provided on the first buffer layer is:
a second buffer layer (e.g., AlGaN) composed of a nitride semiconductor layer provided on the first buffer layer AlN; and
a device active layer (e.g., GaN) composed of a nitride semiconductor layer provided on the second buffer layer AlGaN (page 8, paragraphs 1-4).
Conclusion
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893