DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 6/29/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1, 3-4 and 6-11 are pending and claims 2 and 5 are canceled.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 6/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC rejection of claims 1-11 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 6/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa et al. (JP 2007/019394 A) of record in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0366059 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagasawa teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 1) being defined with a chip carrier region and a wire bonding region located around the chip carrier region, the chip carrier structure comprising:
an insulating layer(3, ¶0009);
a circuit layer(4, ¶0009) formed on the insulating layer(3, ¶0009);
a solder mask layer(6, ¶0009) formed on the insulating layer(3, ¶0009) and the circuit layer(4, ¶0009), wherein a plurality of openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) are formed in the wire bonding region and expose portions of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) and portions of the insulating layer(3, ¶0009); and
a protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) formed and stacked on the portions of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) exposed from the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) of the solder mask layer(6, ¶0009);
wherein at least one spacer portion(space between adjacent bonding fingers 4’, Fig. 2, ¶0009) is formed on the portions of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) and divides the portions of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) exposed from the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) of the solder mask layer(6, ¶0009) into at least two blocks(4,’ ¶0014),
wherein the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) is disposed with at least one soldering finger region(region of wire 8, ¶0009) thereabove.
Nagasawa is not relied on to teach an area of the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) is larger than an area of the soldering finger region(region of wire 8, ¶0009) and at the same time smaller than or equal to an area of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014).
Lee teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 1) wherein an area of the protective layer(140, ¶0032) exposed from each of the openings(121, ¶0030) is larger than an area of the soldering finger region(region of 220, ¶0028) and at the same time smaller than or equal to an area of the circuit layer(130, 111, ¶0028) exposed from each of the openings(121, ¶0030). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagasawa, so that an area of the protective layer exposed from each of the openings is larger than an area of the soldering finger region and at the same time smaller than or equal to an area of the circuit layer exposed from each of the openings, as taught by Lee, in order to prevent oxidation or pollution on a surface of the circuit layer and to allow a wire, the solder, or the like, to be tightly coupled to the circuit layer(¶0032) and to improving a degree of integration of the circuit layer(¶0033).
Regarding claim 3, Nagasawa teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) is composed of gold(¶0014).
Regarding claim 4, Nagasawa teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the circuit layer(4, ¶0009) is composed of copper(¶0011) or copper-containing alloy.
Regarding claim 6, Nagasawa teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) is less(Fig. 11) than a thickness of the circuit layer(4, ¶0009).
Regarding claim 9, Nagasawa teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the spacer portion(space between adjacent bonding fingers 4’, Fig. 2, ¶0009) has a width greater than or equal(Fig. 3) to a minimum line spacing [of the bonding fingers 4’].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa et al. (US 2007/019394 A) of record and Lee et al. (US 2015/0366059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Chinda et al. (US 2002/0074667 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 7, Nagasawa, in view of Lee, teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) has a thickness between 0.3 μm and 1.2 μm.
Chinda teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 8) wherein the protective layer(gold plating layer plating, ¶0065) has a thickness between 0.3 μm and 1.2 μm(¶0065). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagasawa, so that the protective layer has a thickness between 0.3 μm and 1.2 μm, as taught by Chinda, so that connection reliability of the conductive member and an external device can be improved(¶0032).
Claims 8 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa et al. (US 2007/019394 A) of record and Lee et al. (US 2015/0366059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Narvaez et al. (US 6396135 B1) of record.
Regarding claim 8, Nagasawa, in view of Lee, teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, does not explicitly state the area of the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) is less than 70000 μm2.
Narvaez teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 3) and that it is generally desirable to minimize the amount of protective layer underneath the solder mask layer(col. 4, lines 6-14) while also maximizing the amount of portions of the insulating layer exposed from the plurality of openings 117 in the solder mask layer 115(col. 3, lines 30-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagasawa to make the area of the protective layer exposed from each of the openings is less than 70000 μm2, since it has been held that when the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would use routine optimization to make the area of the protective layer exposed from each of the openings is less than 70000 μm2, in order to improve the adhesion of molding material to the chip carrier structure and thus the environmental resistance of the resulting package(col. 3, lines 30-55).
Regarding claim 11, Nagasawa, in view of Lee, teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, does not explicitly state a ratio of the area of the protective layer(Au plating, Fig. 11, ¶0014) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) to an area of the insulating layer(3, ¶0009) exposed from each of the openings(6’, Fig. 11, ¶0009, ¶0014) is less than or equal to 20%.
Narvaez teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 3) and that it is generally desirable to minimize the amount of protective layer underneath the solder mask layer(col. 4, lines 6-14) while also maximizing the amount of portions of the insulating layer exposed from the plurality of openings 117 in the solder mask layer 115(col. 3, lines 30-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagasawa to make a ratio of the area of the protective layer exposed from each of the openings to an area of the insulating layer exposed from each of the openings is less than or equal to 20%, since it has been held that when the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would use routine optimization to make a ratio of the area of the protective layer exposed from each of the openings to an area of the insulating layer exposed from each of the openings is less than or equal to 20%, in order to improve the adhesion of molding material to the chip carrier structure and thus the environmental resistance of the resulting package(col. 3, lines 30-55).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagasawa et al. (US 2007/019394 A) of record and Lee et al. (US 2015/0366059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further) in view of Shimanuki (US 2006/0091523 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 10, Nagasawa, in view of Lee, teaches the chip carrier structure of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the spacer portion(space between adjacent bonding fingers 4’, Fig. 2, ¶0009) has a width greater than or equal to 100 μm.
Shimanuki teaches a chip carrier structure(Fig. 30) wherein the spacer portion(space between adjacent connecting terminals, ¶00124) has a width(L1) greater than or equal to 100 μm(¶0124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nagasawa, so that the spacer portion(space between adjacent bonding fingers 4’, Fig. 2, ¶0009) has a width greater than or equal to 100 μm, as taught by Shimanuki, to reduce size/area of the chip carrier structure(¶0124).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu et al. (US 2024/0120300 A1) Discloses a chip carrier structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892