DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Embodiment I (Fig. 1A), Sub-species C (Figs. 1A, 1E), claims 1-10, in the reply filed on June 17, 2026 is acknowledged. Action on the merits is as follows:
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,610,531. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/428,127. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shih et al. (Shih) (US 2024/0315011 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claims 1-10, Shih (Figs. 1A, 1B and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Cho et al. (Cho) (US 2022/0013525 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising: a substrate (item 200); a channel structure (item 430) disposed on the substrate (item 200); a first word line (item 440, paragraphs 67, 157) disposed on the substrate (item 200) and surrounding the channel structure (item 430); a dielectric layer (item 412) disposed over the substrate (item 200); and a trench capacitor (item 480) disposed on the channel structure (item 430), opposite to the substrate (item 200), wherein the trench capacitor (item 480) comprises a first conductive layer (item 481 or 483) and a second conductive layer (item 483 or 485) and a first dielectric layer (item 482) and a second dielectric layer (item 484), but does not specifically disclose wherein the channel structure tapers along a first direction away from the trench capacitor.
Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses wherein the channel structure (item 310) tapers along a first direction (D3) away from the trench capacitor (item 350).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Cho, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regard to claim 2, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising a first bit line (item 420) disposed between the channel structure (item 430) and the substrate (item 200).
In regards to claim 3, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) as modified by Cho does not specifically disclose further comprising a first landing pad (LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the channel structure and the first bit line.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 4, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) as modified by Cho does not specifically disclose further comprising a second landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
However, in another embodiment of Jeong (paragraphs 45-50) discloses comprising a first landing pad (LP) (item LP) disposed between the trench capacitor and the channel structure.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings from other embodiments of Jeon for the purpose of increasing the contact area via the introduction of the landing pad LP which may allow a contact resistance between the active area ACT and the lower electrode of the capacitor to be reduced (paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 5, Jeon as modified by Cho (Fig. 26 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a third conductive layer (item 414) disposed on the substrate (item 100); a first contact (item 412) disposed on and electrically connected to the third conductive layer (item 414), wherein the first contact (item 412) is a monolithic structure; and a second contact (another one of item 412) disposed between the first word line (item 220) and the third conductive layer (item 414), wherein the first word line (item 220) is electrically connected to the first contact (item 412) through the second contact (another one of item 412) and the third conductive layer (item 414).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Cho for the purpose of an electrical connection.
In regards to claim 6, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses further comprising: a polysilicon layer (item 460, paragraph 165) disposed on the trench capacitor (item 480) opposite to the channel structure, wherein the polysilicon layer (item 460) has a curved sidewall; and a fourth conductive layer (item 481) disposed on the polysilicon layer (item 460), wherein the fourth conductive layer (item 481) has a sidewall, and wherein the curved sidewall of the polysilicon layer (item 460) is recessed from the sidewall of the fourth conductive layer (item 481).
In regards to claim 7, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses wherein the first conductive layer (item 481 or 483) disposed within the trench capacitor (item 480) and covers a sidewall of the dielectric layer (item 412).
In regards to claim 8, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (item 482) is disposed over a top surface of the dielectric layer (item 412) and covers the dielectric layer (item 412) and the first conductive layer (items 481 or 483).
In regards to claim 9, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses wherein the second dielectric layer (item 484) is disposed over the dielectric layer (item 412) and is disposed on a trench corner of the trenches and partially covers a top surface and a sidewall of the dielectric layer (item 412).
In regards to claim 10, Jeon (Figs. 10-12 and associated text) discloses wherein the second conductive layer (items 483 or 485) is disposed over the dielectric layer (item 412) and covers the first conductive layer (item 481 or 483), the first dielectric layer (item 482) and the second dielectric layer (item 484).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references listed in the 892 that were published in 2023 and assigned to Yangtze Memory could have been used as primary references. These references disclose all the limitations except for the trench capacitor including a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer and a tapering channel structure. These deficiencies could be remedied by Jeon and Cho above.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 July 7, 2026