DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 07/07/2026.
4. Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
5. Claim 1 has been amended.
6. Claims 7-9 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakao (JP H0369119A).
Regarding claim 1:
Nakao teaches a substrate processing apparatus (apparatus depicted in figure 2) [fig 2 & 0001] comprising: a vacuum chamber (6) [fig 2 & 0001]; a rotary table (1) rotatably provided in the vacuum chamber (6) [fig 2 & 0001]; and a stage (stage, 2) configured to rotate together with the rotary table (1) [fig 2 & 0001]; wherein the rotary table (1) has an opening (opening through which 2 passes) provided at a position spaced apart from a rotation center of the rotary table (see fig 2), wherein an inner surface of the opening is continuous with an upper surface and a lower surface of the rotary table (see fig 2), and wherein the stage (2) is spaced apart from the inner surface of the opening by a clearance, the clearance extending from an upper side of the rotary table to a lower side of the rotary table along a vertical direction (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0001].
Regarding claim 6:
Nakao teaches the stage (2) is rotatable with respect to the rotary table (1) [fig 2 & 0001].
Regarding claims 7-8:
Nakao teaches the clearance extends through a thickness of the rotary table along the vertical direction (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0001]; and wherein the clearance extends along a perpendicular direction to the upper surface of the rotary table (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0001].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 2-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao (JP H0369119A) as applied to claims 1 and 6-8 above, and further in view of Kinbara (US 2009/0127672).
The limitations of claims 1 and 6-8 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 2:
Nakao teaches the stage (2) has: a mounting surface (top surface of 2) provided at a center of the stage (2), a substrate (wafer) being mounted on the mounting surface (top surface of 2) [fig 2 & 0001]; and a facing surface (outer surface of 1) spaced apart from the inner surface of the opening (opening through which 2 passes) by the clearance, and facing the inner surface of the opening (see fig 2) [fig 2 & 0001].
Nakao does not specifically disclose the stage has: a recessed surface provided on the stage outside the mounting surface and recessed downward from the mounting surface; and the facing surface continuous with the recessed surface.
Kinbara teaches a stage (susceptor, 21) has: a recessed surface (groove, 21c) provided on the stage (21) outside the mounting surface (surface, 21b) and recessed downward from the mounting surface (21b) [fig 6 & 0062]; and the facing surface (outer surface of 21) continuous with the recessed surface (21c) [fig 6 & 0062].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the stage of Nakao to have a recessed surface provided on the stage outside the mounting surface and recessed downward from the mounting surface, as in Kinbara, to manufacture a substrate with small variation in thickness [Kinbara – 0065].
Regarding claims 3-5 and 9:
Modified Nakao teaches the stage (21) includes a protrusion (21a) provided on at least a portion of the recessed surface (21c) and protruding upward above the mounting surface (21b) [Kinbara - fig 6 & 0062]; wherein the stage (21) has an inclined surface (peripheral surface of 21d) provided between the mounting surface (21b) and the recessed surface (21c) and inclined from the mounting surface (21b) toward the recessed surface (21c) [Kinbara - fig 6 & 0062]; wherein an outer diameter of the mounting surface (outer diameter of 21b) is less than an outer diameter of the substrate (22) [Kinbara - fig 6 & 0062]; and wherein the inclined surface (peripheral surface of 21d) forms a part of the upper surface of the stage (upper surface of 21) [Kinbara - fig 6 & 0062].
Although taught by the cited prior art, the claim limitations “wherein an outer diameter of the mounting surface is less than an outer diameter of the substrate” do not impart any additional structure. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 2-5 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishimura (JP H04182386A) and Sinha et al (US 5,384,008) teach a stage having a mounting surface and a recessed surface [fig 1 and 4, respectively].
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896