DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 12/16/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim limitation “replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set” recited in claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants contend the combination of Chen and PARK (or Chen and Xu) does not teach the claimed feature above (Applicants’ Remarks dated 12/16/2025, p. 2-3). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. FIG. 13 of Chen illustrates neighboring block motion vector VA, VB, VC, VD or VE is selected using rate-distortion cost check as MVP0 or MVP1. If the selected MV is defined as a first MV forming a first MV set and MVP0 or MVP1 is defined as one or more MVPs to form an MV predictor set, the new selected MV as MVP0 or MVP1 is replacing a first MV in the MV set. Therefore, Without further specifying how to define a MV set, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have difficulty in recognizing the new determined MVP0 from VA, VB, or VC as a first MV forming a MV set and a combined MV-MVP set {MP0, MP1} obtained in Chen meets the definition of replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set in its broadest reasonable sense. Furthermore, page 83-84 of PARK3161 and FIG. 5-6 and 9 of Xu disclose this well-known concept as well (Please see detail mapping below in section 8-9).
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, at 1316 (Fed. Cir. 2005). See also In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d 1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20180359483 A1) in view of PARK et al (US 20200296414 A1; see provisional application 62/593161 with the priority date of 11/30/2017; see attached English translation version hereafter “PARK3161”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method [e.g. FIG. 24; video encoding] comprising: determining a motion vector (MV) set [e.g. motion vector list] comprising one or more MVs [e.g. FIG. 12-13; MVs] and an MV predictor (MVP) set comprising one or more MVPs [e.g. MYP0 or MVP1]; determining a cost of a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. FIG. 8-10, 13 and 15; MVPs rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select as the control point motion vector; combined set of {MVP0, MVP1}]; and selecting one of the MV set or the first MV-MVP combined set to be a best MV set based on the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select].
Although Chen discloses determining a first MV of the MV set [e.g. FIG. 13; VA, VB or VC] and a first MVP of the MVP set [e.g. MVP0 is an element of VA or VB or VC]; replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. {MVP0, MVP1}; rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select as the control point motion vector, MVP0 is an element of VA or VB or VC and MVP1 is an element of VD or VE], it is noted that Chen differs to the present invention in that Chen fails to explicitly disclose the detail of determining a condition whether a first MV is equal to a first MVP.
However, PARK teaches the well-known concept of determining whether a first MV of the MV set [e.g. PARK3161: page 83-84; C0 or C3]; is equal to a first MVP of the MVP set [e.g. PARK3161: C2 or C1; if C1 and C0 are same]; on a condition that the first MV is not equal to the first MVP, replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. PARK3161: when the C1 and the C0 are not the same motion vector, the C1 may be derived as the MVP candidate of the current block; page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video coding system disclosed by Chen to exploit the well-known determining motion vector candidate list technique taught by PARK as above, in order to provide increased video coding efficiency [See PARK; [0004]].
Regarding claim 2, Chen and PARK further disclose comparing the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set with a cost of the MV set; on a condition that the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is lower than the cost of the MV set [e.g. Chen: the minimum template cost may be considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one; PARK3161: page 78 Figure. 1 and page 84 Figure 6; reordering order by comparing the cost], selecting the first MV-MVP combined set to be the best MV set; and on a condition that the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is greater than or equal to the cost of the MV set, selecting the MV set to be the best MV set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; PARK3161: page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
Regarding claim 3, Chen and PARK further disclose the MV set comprises one or more control point MVs and the MVP set comprises one or more affine MVPs [e.g. Chen: FIG. 12-13; control point MVs and MVPs] .
Regarding claim 4, Chen and PARK further disclose determining whether a second MV of the MV set is equal to a second MVP of the MVP set [e.g. Chen: neighboring motion vectors]; on a condition that the second MV is not equal to the second MVP, replacing the second MV in the MV set with the second MVP to generate a second MV-MVP combined set [e.g. PARK3161: page 83-84]; determining a cost of the second MV-MVP combined set; updating the best MV set based on the cost of the second MV-MVP combined set; determining whether a third MV of the MV set is equal to a third MVP of the MVP set; on a condition that the third MV is not equal to the third MVP, replacing the third MV in the MV set with the third MVP to generate a third MV-MVP combined set [e.g. PARK3161: page 83-84]; determining a cost of the third MV-MVP combined set; and updating the best MV set based on the cost of the third MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; PARK3161: page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
Regarding claim 5, Chen and PARK further disclose determining whether a second MV of the MV set is equal to a second MVP of the MVP set; on a condition that the second MV is not equal to the second MVP, replacing the second MV in the first MV-MVP combined set with the second MVP to generate a fourth MV-MVP combined set [e.g. PARK3161: page 83-84]; determining a cost of the fourth MV-MVP combined set; and updating the best MV set based on the cost of the fourth MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; PARK3161: page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
Regarding claim 6, Chen and PARK further disclose the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is a motion estimation (ME) cost [e.g. Chen FIG. 12-13 and 24; [0166]; PARK: FIG. 1 and 12], and the ME cost is determined based on a prediction error [e.g. Chen and PARK: absolute sum difference SAD] and a respective bit cost [e.g. PARK: bit amount for a prediction can be reduced] for each MV in the first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; PARK3161: page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
Regarding claim 7, Chen and PARK further disclose encoding a coding block based on the best MV set [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24 and 26; rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; PARK3161: page 40-41; determine CPMV for each candidate and compare the RDcost to optimally select candidate with lower value].
Regarding claim 8-14, this is an apparatus that includes same limitation as in claim 1-7 above respectively, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen and PARK disclose a video encoding device [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24; encoder; PARK3161: page 3; FIG. 1; encoding apparatus]
Regarding claim 15-20, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1-6 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen and PARK disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24; [0012]; PARK: [0323-0325]].
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20180359483 A1) in view of Xu et al (US 20190158870 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a method [e.g. FIG. 24; video encoding] comprising: determining a motion vector (MV) set [e.g. motion vector list] comprising one or more MVs [e.g. FIG. 12-13; MVs] and an MV predictor (MVP) set comprising one or more MVPs [e.g. MYP0 or MVP1]; determining a cost of a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. FIG. 8-10, 13 and 15; MVPs rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select as the control point motion vector; combined set of {MVP0, MVP1}]; and selecting one of the MV set or the first MV-MVP combined set to be a best MV set based on the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select].
Although Chen discloses determining a first MV of the MV set [e.g. FIG. 13; VA, VB or VC] and a first MVP of the MVP set [e.g. MVP0 is an element of VA or VB or VC]; replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. {MVP0, MVP1}; rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select as the control point motion vector, MVP0 is an element of VA or VB or VC and MVP1 is an element of VD or VE], it is noted that Chen differs to the present invention in that Chen fails to explicitly disclose the detail of determining a condition whether a first MV is equal to a first MVP.
However, Xu teaches the well-known concept of determining whether a first MV of the MV set [e.g. FIG. 5-6 and 9; determining a MV from a0, or a1 for control point]; is equal to a first MVP of the MVP set [e.g. selecting one with minimum cost]; on a condition that the first MV is not equal to the first MVP [e.g. smaller cost], replacing the first MV in the MV set with the first MVP to generate a first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video coding system disclosed by Chen to exploit the well-known determining motion vector for control point technique taught by Xu as above, in order to provide improve coding performance of existing coding systems [See Xu; [0039]].
Regarding claim 2, Chen and Xu further disclose comparing the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set with a cost of the MV set; on a condition that the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is lower than the cost of the MV set [e.g. Chen: the minimum template cost may be considered as the updated MV of that list to replace the original one; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9; selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point], selecting the first MV-MVP combined set to be the best MV set; and on a condition that the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is greater than or equal to the cost of the MV set, selecting the MV set to be the best MV set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; Xu: selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
Regarding claim 3, Chen and Xu further disclose the MV set comprises one or more control point MVs and the MVP set comprises one or more affine MVPs [e.g. Chen: FIG. 12-13; control point MVs and MVPs] .
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Xu further disclose determining whether a second MV of the MV set is equal to a second MVP of the MVP set [e.g. Chen: neighboring motion vectors]; on a condition that the second MV is not equal to the second MVP, replacing the second MV in the MV set with the second MVP to generate a second MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Xu: [0093]]; determining a cost of the second MV-MVP combined set; updating the best MV set based on the cost of the second MV-MVP combined set; determining whether a third MV of the MV set is equal to a third MVP of the MVP set; on a condition that the third MV is not equal to the third MVP, replacing the third MV in the MV set with the third MVP to generate a third MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Xu: [0093-0095]]; determining a cost of the third MV-MVP combined set; and updating the best MV set based on the cost of the third MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9; selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
Regarding claim 5, Chen and Xu further disclose determining whether a second MV of the MV set is equal to a second MVP of the MVP set; on a condition that the second MV is not equal to the second MVP, replacing the second MV in the first MV-MVP combined set with the second MVP to generate a fourth MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Xu: [0089 and 0093-0095]]; determining a cost of the fourth MV-MVP combined set; and updating the best MV set based on the cost of the fourth MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9; selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
Regarding claim 6, Chen and Xu further disclose the cost of the first MV-MVP combined set is a motion estimation (ME) cost [e.g. Chen FIG. 12-13 and 24; [0166]; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9], and the ME cost is determined based on a prediction error [e.g. Chen: absolute sum difference SAD] and a respective bit cost [e.g. Xu: reduce the processing complexity] for each MV in the first MV-MVP combined set [e.g. Chen: rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9; selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
Regarding claim 7, Chen and Xu further disclose encoding a coding block based on the best MV set [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24 and 26; rate-distortion check to determine which motion vector set candidate is select; Xu: FIG. 5-6 and 9; selecting one with minimum cost as the MV of the control point].
Regarding claim 8-14, this is an apparatus that includes same limitation as in claim 1-7 above respectively, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen and Xu disclose a video encoding device [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24; encoder; Xu: FIG. 13-14; encoding method]
Regarding claim 15-20, this is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that includes same limitation as in claim 1-6 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Chen and Xu disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [e.g. Chen: FIG. 24; [0012]; Xu: [0132]].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (US 20180192069 A1).
Zou et al (US 20170332095 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHUBING REN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483