DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/22/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 2/20/2024 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to informalities. Claim 5 recites “wherein the light-blocking material comprises a carbon-based material, a black pigment, or a black dye, wherein the carbon-based material comprises graphene or graphite.” Because the carbon-based material is recited as only one of three alternatives, the second “wherein” clause lacks proper antecedent basis whenever either of the remaining two alternatives is selected. Appropriate correction is required, for example by amending the second clause to recite “wherein, when the light-blocking material comprises the carbon-based material, the carbon-based material comprises graphene or graphite.”
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1 as further limited by claim 9. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is required either to cancel claim 15 or to point out on the record the difference in scope between claim 15 and claims 1 and 9 taken together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US 2023/0098923 A1, hereinafter “Hwang”).
In regards to claim 1, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) a display device comprising:
a display panel comprising
a display region (10) and a pad region (30) adjacent to the display region (10); and
a protective layer (510) disposed under the display panel (200),
wherein the protective layer (510) comprises:
a first protection portion (511) overlapping the display region (10) and comprising a heat dissipation material (480), and
a second protection portion (512) overlapping at least the pad region (30), wherein the second protection portion (512) is absent the heat dissipation material.
In regards to claim 2, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) the first protection portion (511/420/480) and the second protection portion (512) are each directly disposed under the display panel (200).
In regards to claim 3, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) that wherein the heat dissipation material (480) comprises at least one of a thermally conductive metal, a carbon-based heat dissipation material, and a thermally conductive polymer (See, for example, Par [0196]).
In regards to claim 8, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) wherein a thickness of the first protection portion (511) and a thickness of the second protection portion (512) are substantially equal (See, for example, Fig. 6).
In regards to claim 10, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) wherein the first protection portion (511/420/480) and the second protection portion (512) do not overlap each other on a plane.
In regards to claim 13, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3/5) further comprising a circuit board (590) electrically connected to the display panel (200), wherein the protective layer (510) is in contact with at least a portion of the circuit board (590).
In regards to claim 14, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) wherein the first protection portion (511) and the second protection portion (512) each further comprise at least
one of an crylic resin, a urethane-based resin, a fluorine-based resin, an epoxy-based resin, a
polyester-based resin, a polyamide-based resin, and a silicone-based resin (“The lower
protective film 510 may include an organic insulating material such as … a polyacryl-based
resin, … a polyamide-based resin, a siloxane-based resin, an acryl-based resin, and an
epoxy-based resin.” See Par [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 9, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Yun et al. (US 2023/0126098 A1, hereinafter “Yun”).
In regards to claim 15, Hwang discloses (See, for example, Fig. 3) A display device comprising:
a display panel comprising a display region (10) and a pad region (30) adjacent to the display region (10); and a protective layer (510) disposed under the display panel (200), wherein the protective layer (510) comprises:
first protection portion (511) overlapping the display region (10), and comprising a heat dissipation material (480), and
a second protection portion (512) overlapping at least the pad region (30).
Hwang is silent about the second protection portion being composed of a base resin, a light-blocking material, a blowing agent, and an additive.
Yun while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20) the second protection portion is composed of a base resin (“polyurethan (PU), a water-dispersible polyurethan (WPU), or an epoxy resin.”, See Par [0090]), a light-blocking material (“”a black dye or pigment ….may provide a function of the light blocking layer …”, See Par [0090]), a blowing agent (“the foam coating layer 420 may be formed by coating a foam forming material …”, See Par [0097]), and an additive (“The foam forming material may be light-curable. ”, See Par [0097]; which cannot undergo the disclosed ultraviolet curing absent a photoinitiator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hwang by Yun because this would help provide light blocking function without additional separate black member and impact absorption in the pad area.
In regards to claim 4, Hwang discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein at least one of the first protection portion and the second protection portion further comprises a light-blocking material.
Yun while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20)
at least one of the first protection portion and the second protection portion (40c) further comprises a light-blocking material (“a black dye or pigment … may provide a function of the light blocking layer …”, See Par [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hwang by Yun because this would help provide light blocking function without additional a separate black member and impact absorption in the pad area.
In regards to claim 5, Hwang as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20, Yun) that wherein the light-blocking material comprises a carbon-based material, a black pigment, or a black dye, wherein the carbon-based material comprises graphene or graphite (“a black foam coating layer 420 containing a black dye or pigment…”, See Par [0090]).
In regards to claim 6, Hwang as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20, Yun) wherein at least one of the first protection portion and the second protection portion further comprises a blowing agent (“the foam coating layer 420 may be formed by coating a foam forming material …”, See Par [0097]).
In regards to claim 7, Hwang as modified above discloses (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20, Yun) that wherein a thickness of the first protection portion and a thickness of the second protection portion are each about 100 μm to about 200 μm (See, for example, Par [0090]).
In regards to claim 9., Hwang discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the second protection portion is composed of a base resin, a light-blocking material, a blowing agent, and an additive.
Yun while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 3 and 11-20) the second protection portion is composed of a base resin (“polyurethan (PU), a water-dispersible polyurethan (WPU), or an epoxy resin.”, See Par [0090]), a light-blocking material (“”a black dye or pigment ….may provide a function of the light blocking layer …”, See Par [0090]), a blowing agent (“the foam coating layer 420 may be formed by coating a foam forming material …”, See Par [0097]), and an additive (“The foam forming material may be light-curable. ”, See Par [0097]; which cannot undergo the disclosed ultraviolet curing absent a photoinitiator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hwang by Yun because this would help provide light blocking function without additional separate black member and impact absorption in the pad area.
In regards to claim 12, Hwang discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein an average diameter of the heat dissipation material is about 5 μm to about 200 μm.
Yun discloses a heat dissipation material (‘the cover panel 40 may further include a heat dissipation member that may include a carbon material, such as graphite … “, See Par [0086]; It further teaches that “The hard coating layer 430 may include at least one of silver flakes, silver nanowire (AgNW), carbon nanotubes (CNT), and a copper powder, as a conductive filler for the EMI shield.”, See Par [0091]) though it is silent about the average diameter being about 5 μm to about 200 μm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hwang by Yun because this would help provide light blocking function without additional a separate black member and impact absorption in the pad area. Further, the recited range of about 5 μm to about 200 μm is a result-effective range. It has been also held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Selecting a filler particle size that permits the filled composition to be dispensed through a printing nozzle while providing adequate thermal conduction would have been a matter of routine optimization.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Namkung et al. (US 2016/0329520 A1, hereinafter “Namkung”).
In regards to claim 11, Hwang discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the first protection portion comprises one end adjacent to the pad region and another end spaced apart from the one end, and the one end of the first protection portion is in contact with the second protection portion.
Namkung while disclosing a display device teaches (See, for example, Figs. 16-17) wherein the first protection portion (protection layer 130 corresponding to DA) comprises one end adjacent to the pad region and another end spaced apart from the one end, and the one end of the first protection portion (protection layer 130 corresponding to DA) is in contact with the second protection portion (protection layer 130 corresponding to PDA).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the second protection portion of Hwang so that it contacts the end of the first protection portion adjacent the pad area as taught Namkung because leaving no surface uncovered improves stress reduction and reduces detachment of the circuit film.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893