DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites the limitation wherein a “fat comprises a Mettler Dropping Point”, and should properly read “fat has a Mettler Dropping Point”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanton (US 2011/0183059, July 2011).
Regarding Claim 1, Stanton teaches a refrigerated batter [0031] comprising 10-40% moisture [0014] and having a shelf life of greater than 112 days [0094], which overlaps the claimed range. The batter comprises 10-50% of humectants such as fruit purees, glycerine, and sugar [0042]. Note that the amount of humectant provided by Stanton is sufficient to provide for the fruit puree of part a., the glycerin of part e., and the sugar of part c. The batter additionally comprises 10-60% [0038] of farinaceous materials such as flour, which encompasses the claimed range. The batter additionally comprises 5-30% fat [0013], which encompasses the claimed range, and 0-3% leavening [0014], which encompasses the claimed range.
Note that the sugar of Stanton taught at [0042] refers to added sugar. Stanton does not specifically address the total content of the sugar. However, since Stanton teaches a batter which encompasses and overlaps the claimed ingredients and composition, the product of Stanton is interpreted to have a total sugar content as claimed.
Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, note that it would have been obvious to have selected amounts of fruit puree, glycerin, and sugar that lie within the claimed ranges (e.g. 25% fruit puree, 20% sugar, and 5% glycerin), since Stanton teaches that the claimed amounts and ingredients are appropriate for addition to a batter.
Regarding Claim 2, Stanton teaches the use of fruit purees but does not specifically discuss the use of banana or apple puree. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize banana or apple puree as the fruit puree of Stanton. One would have been motivated to make such a modification since banana and apple are fruits commonly incorporated into batters intended for baking.
Regarding Claim 3, Stanton teaches a packaged, refrigerated batter comprising fat as discussed above in regards to Claim 1 but does not specifically discuss the fat having a Mettler Dropping Point of 100-140 °F.
However, given that the instant Specification [0028] teaches fats such as palm kernel oil, soybean oil, lard, algae oil, butter, canola oil, peanut oil, and coconut oil as appropriate fats in either solid (e.g. shortening) or liquid form, and given that Stanton teaches the use of palm kernel oil, coconut oil, butter, peanut oil, lard, soybean oil, and canola oil in either solid (e.g. shortening) or liquid form, the fat of Stanton is interpreted to have the Mettler Dropping Point at 100-140 °F as claimed.
Regarding Claim 4, Stanton teaches the addition of 0-8% starch (Page 5, Table 2), which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 5, Stanton teaches that the starch may be pre-gelatinized (Page 5, Table 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Stanton teaches that the batter comprises 0-15% eggs [0056], which encompasses the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 7, Stanton teaches that the batter comprises 10-40% moisture [0014], which overlaps the claimed range.
The batter comprises 10-50% of humectants such as fruit purees, glycerine, and sugar [0042]. Note that the amount of humectant provided by Stanton is sufficient to provide for the fruit puree of part a., the glycerin of part e., and the sugar of part c, e.g. 22% fruit puree, 3% glycerin, and 25% sugar.
Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, note that it would have been obvious to have selected amounts of fruit puree, glycerin, and sugar that lie within the claimed ranges (e.g. 25% fruit puree, 20% sugar, and 5% glycerin), since Stanton teaches that the claimed amounts and ingredients are appropriate for addition to a batter.
The batter additionally comprises 10-60% [0038] of farinaceous materials such as flour, which encompasses the claimed range of part b. The batter additionally comprises 5-30% fat [0013], which encompasses the claimed range of part d., and 0-3% leavening [0014], which encompasses the claimed range of part f. Stanton teaches that the batter comprises 0-15% eggs [0056], which encompasses the claimed range or part g. Stanton teaches the addition of other ingredients, such as preservatives at 0-1% [0044], which lies within the claimed ranges of part h.
Regarding Claim 8, Stanton teaches the addition of inclusions [0058] which are particulates, such as nuts, chocolate, or flavored bits.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Stanton teaches that the batter may be packaged in a chub [0063].
Regarding Claims 11-12, Stanton teaches a method for preparing a batter which is packaged in a chub, which is a “squeezable package” [0061]. The batter is prepared and then placed in a chub [0067].
Stanton teaches that refrigerated batter [0031] may comprise 10-40% moisture [0014] and having a shelf life of greater than 112 days [0094], which encompasses the claimed moisture and overlaps the claimed shelf life.
The batter comprises 10-50% of humectants such as fruit purees, glycerine, and sugar [0042]. Note that the amount of humectant provided by Stanton is sufficient to provide for the fruit puree of part a., the glycerin of part e., and the sugar of part c.
Note that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 I. Additionally, note that it would have been obvious to have selected amounts of fruit puree, glycerin, and sugar that lie within the claimed ranges (e.g. 25% fruit puree, 20% sugar, and 5% glycerin), since Stanton teaches that the claimed amounts and ingredients are appropriate for addition to a batter.
Note that the sugar of Stanton taught at [0042] refers to added sugar. Stanton does not specifically address the total content of the sugar. However, since Stanton teaches a batter which encompasses and overlaps the claimed ingredients and composition, the product of Stanton is interpreted to have a total sugar content as claimed.
The batter additionally comprises 10-60% [0038] of farinaceous materials such as flour, which encompasses the claimed range or part b. The batter additionally comprises 5-30% fat [0013], which encompasses the claimed range of part d, and 0-3% leavening [0014], which encompasses the claimed range of part f.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, the batter is prepared and then placed in a chub [0067]. Stanton does not specifically address a period of time between forming the batter and placing it into the package. However, absent evidence to the contrary, the batter of Stanton is interpreted to be immediately placed into the package after forming. The batter is thus packaged within a time period which lies within the claimed ranges of Claims 13 and 14.
Conclusion
/D.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791