Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species 1 in the reply filed on 29 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the internal surface is selected from" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to recite “the internal surface modification capable of providing an internal surface selected from the group consisting of … ” or similar and has examined accordingly.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the metal" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to refer to “a metal” and has examined accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0111246 to Bauer et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20120111246 to Behm al.
Bauer et al. discloses a container (Fig. 7, 106) substantially as claimed, the container comprising: a volume of a halidosilane precursor compound, including e.g., monochlorosilane and/or monochlorodisilane, wherein the container includes an internal surface capable of containing the volume of halidosilane precursor compound in a stable condition (also see, e.g., paras. 34, 40, 57. The volume of halidosilane precursor compound is considered stable in that is capable of being transported to reaction chamber for use.
However, Bauer et al. fails to explicitly disclose the internal surface is selected from the group consisting of (a) a surface resulting from mechanical polishing; (b) a surface resulting from electropolishing; (c) a surface resulting from formation of a hydrophobic protecting layer of organic molecules; (d) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of stainless steel; (e) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of aluminum; (f) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of nickel; (g) a surface resulting from a polymer coating; (h) a surface having a silicon oxide coating; (i) a surface having a crystalline carbon layer molecularly bonded to a metal (j) a surface having a passivation layer of a metal fluoride; (k) a surface having a passivation layer of silane bonded to metal by exposure to silanes; (l) a surface having de-activated hydroxyl. Examiner notes that depending on the internal surface modification, there may be instances where the modification is subject to an interpretation as a product-by process limitation.
Behm et al. disclose providing a container for stably storing monochlorosilane having an internal surface selected from the group consisting of (a) a surface resulting from mechanical polishing; (b) a surface resulting from electropolishing; (c) a surface resulting from formation of a hydrophobic protecting layer of organic molecules; (d) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of stainless steel; (e) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of aluminum; (f) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of nickel; (g) a surface resulting from a polymer coating; (h) a surface having a silicon oxide coating; (i) a surface having a crystalline carbon layer molecularly bonded to a metal (j) a surface having a passivation layer of a metal fluoride; (k) a surface having a passivation layer of silane bonded to metal by exposure to silanes; (l) a surface having de-activated hydroxyl groups for the purpose of storing the compound in a stable manner with out degradation of the compound due to reduction in surface reactions to acceptable levels (abstract). While Behm et al. do not specifically disclose the compound as monochlorodisilane, as detailed above Bauer et al. discloses using either of the compounds in their disclosed apparatus, such that one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic would find it obvious to store the compounds using similar conditions, wherein the courts have ruled that the courts have ruled that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the container of Bauer having an internal surface modification consisting of (a) a surface resulting from mechanical polishing; (b) a surface resulting from electropolishing; (c) a surface resulting from formation of a hydrophobic protecting layer of organic molecules; (d) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of stainless steel; (e) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of aluminum; (f) a surface resulting from providing an internal surface of nickel; (g) a surface resulting from a polymer coating; (h) a surface having a silicon oxide coating; (i) a surface having a crystalline carbon layer molecularly bonded to a metal (j) a surface having a passivation layer of a metal fluoride; (k) a surface having a passivation layer of silane bonded to metal by exposure to silanes; (l) a surface having de-activated hydroxyl groups in order to store the compound of monochlorodisilane in the container in a stable manner without degradation of the compound due to reduction in surface reactions to acceptable levels as taught by Behm et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP 6,071,349 discloses electropolishing SUS316 to prevent corrosion of deposition system structures and contaminants from entering the deposition system. USP 11913112 (PGPUB 20220154331) and 11268190 (PGPUB 20200032389) are related.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716