Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 5/13/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13, 15-16, 18-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but are not found to be persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach a thick film heating element, and that Lai only teaches a u-shaped heating element and not a thick film heating element: Lai teaches a film heating element 58/60 (see abstract, paragraph [0068], figures 9-10, whereby the film heating element 58/60 is shown as having a thickness that reads on a thick film heating element under the broadest reasonable interpretation). The claims do not specify any particular shape of the heating element.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach dual fluid pathways extending from the liquid inlet such that liquid flows in opposing directions through the dual fluid pathways while being heated by the thick film heating element and converted to steam: Lai teaches that the flow chamber 80, 82 includes a liquid inlet 72 and a winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway (reads on dual fluid pathways; see also multiple branched exit pathways at 84, as shown in figure 12, which also reads on dual fluid pathways) extending from the liquid inlet 72 through which liquid is able to flow while being heated by the film heating element 58/60 and converted to steam (see abstract, paragraphs [0068]-[0070], figures 12-21).
Regarding applicant’s arguments that none of the references teach that the flow chamber comprises a metal plate having the at least one fluid pathway stamped into the metal plate, because Chen teaches stamping heat conductive bumps rather than stamping a fluid pathway: Lai teaches in figures 13-16 and paragraph [0069] that the flow chamber 80, 82 is a flat metal plate having the at least one fluid pathway therein. Lai does not explicitly teach that the fluid pathway is stamped on the metal plate. Chen et al. teaches a steamer (see abstract, paragraph [0003]) and that the bottom plate 103 may be of a metal material and that stamping on the metal plate allows for easy and cost-effective manufacturing (see paragraphs [0022], [0043]-[0044]). Since both Lai and Chen et al. teach steamers it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the flow chamber in the system by Lai may be of metal material with the fluid pathway stamped thereon so as to allow for easy and cost-effective manufacturing, as shown to be known and conventional by Chen et al. Hence, Lai teaches that the fluid pathway is formed on a metal plate and Chen et al. is only relied upon for the teaching of the use of stamping to manufacture said fluid pathway.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “thick film heating element” in claims 1, 4-9, 11, 13, 15, 16 and 18-20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thick film heating element” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what size of the film heating element is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-11, 13, 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai (US20210277589).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5 and 15, Lai teaches a steamer is provided for creating steam from a liquid (see abstract), the steamer comprising: a reservoir 28 capable of storing the liquid (see paragraph [0089], figure 6); a pump 40 capable of pumping the liquid from the reservoir 28 (see paragraph [0089], figure 6); a steam generation assembly, the steam generation assembly comprising (i) a film heating element 58/60 (see abstract, paragraph [0068], figures 9-10, whereby the film heating element 58/60 is shown as having a thickness that reads on a thick film heating element under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and (ii) a flow chamber 80, 82 positioned adjacent to the film heating element, 58/60 where the flow chamber 80, 82 including a liquid inlet 72 capable of receiving the liquid pumped by the pump 40 (see abstract, paragraphs [0068]-[0070], figures 12-21) and at least one winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathways extending from the liquid inlet 72, wherein the pump 40 pumps the liquid through the at least one winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway such that the liquid is heated by the adjacent film heating element 58/60 and converted to steam (see figures 12, 17-18, paragraphs [0068]-[0070]) (reads on claim 1); one or more steam outlets 48 positioned adjacent to a top of the flow chamber 80, 82 and configured to discharge steam produced in the winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway (see paragraphs [0074]-[0076], figures 1-4, 6-8, 12, 26, 29-30) (reads on claim 3); the flow chamber 80, 82 has a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the at least one fluid pathway being formed within the flow chamber 80, 82, and wherein the film heating element 58/60 is positioned adjacent to the first side of the flow chamber 80, 82 (see figures 12, 17-18, paragraphs [0068]-[0070]) (reads on claim 5); a temperature control regulator 68 capable of regulating a temperature of the film heating element 58/60 (see paragraph [0079], figure 9); a power supply 22, 26 configured to provide power to the film heating element 58/60 (see paragraphs [0066], [0068], figures 1-4) (reads on claim 15).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Lai teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 15. Lai also teaches in paragraphs [0069]-[0070], figures 12-21 that substantially an entire length of the at least one fluid pathway is positioned adjacent to the film heating element 58/60 such that liquid flowing through the at least one fluid pathway is heated along substantially the entire length of the at least one fluid pathway.
Regarding claim 6, Lai teaches the limitations of claim 1. Lai also teaches that the winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway includes dual pathways (see e.g. flow in opposing directions, as shown in figure 12, which reads on dual fluid pathways; see also multiple branched exit pathways at 84, as shown in figure 12, which also reads on dual fluid pathways) extending from the liquid inlet 72 such that liquid flows in opposing directions through the dual pathways while being heated by the film heating element 58/60 and converted to steam (see figures 12, 17-18, paragraphs [0068]-[0070]).
Regarding claims 8-11, 18-20, Lai teaches a steam generation assembly (see abstract), the steam generation assembly comprising: a film heating element 58/60 (see abstract, paragraph [0068], figures 9-10, whereby the film heating element 58/60 is shown as having a thickness that reads on a thick film heating element under the broadest reasonable interpretation); a flow chamber 80, 82 positioned adjacent to the film heating element 58/60, the flow chamber 80, 82 including a liquid inlet 72 and a winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway (reads on claim 10) extending from the liquid inlet 72 through which liquid is able to flow while being heated by the film heating element 58/60 and converted to steam, wherein substantially an entire length of the fluid pathway is positioned adjacent to the film heating element (see abstract, paragraphs [0068]-[0070], figures 12-21); and one or more steam outlets 48 fluidly coupled to the winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway (see paragraphs [0074]-[0076], figures 1-4, 12, 26, 29-30) (reads on claims 8 and 18); a temperature control regulator 68 capable of regulating a temperature of the film heating element 58/60 (see paragraph [0079], figure 9) (reads on claim 9); substantially an entire length of the winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway is positioned adjacent to the film heating element 58/60 (see paragraphs [0069]-[0070], figures 12-21) (reads on claim 19); the winding, or back-and-forth fluid pathway includes dual pathways (see e.g. flow in opposing directions, as shown in figure 12, which reads on dual fluid pathways; see also multiple branched exit pathways at 84, as shown in figure 12, which also reads on dual fluid pathways) extending from the liquid inlet 72 such that liquid flows in opposing directions through the dual pathways while being heated by the film heating element 58/60 and converted to steam (see figures 12, 17-18, paragraphs [0068]-[0070]) (reads on claims 11 and 20).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Lai teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 9. Lai also teaches in figures 13-19, 21, paragraph [0068], a mounting member 62 coupled with the flow chamber 80, 82 and the film heating element 58/60 and the temperature control regulator 68 secured against the mounting member 62 on the side opposing the film heating element 58/60.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US20210277589) as applied to claims 1 and 8, and further in view of Chen et al. (EP3613895A1).
Regarding claims 2, 12, Lai teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 8. Lai teaches in figures 13-16 and paragraph [0069] that the flow chamber 80, 82 is a flat metal plate having the at least one fluid pathway therein. Lai does not explicitly teach that the fluid pathway is stamped on the metal plate. Chen et al. teaches a steamer (see abstract, paragraph [0003]) and that the bottom plate 103 may be of a metal material and that stamping on the metal plate allows for easy and cost-effective manufacturing (see paragraphs [0022], [0043]-[0044]). Since both Lai and Chen et al. teach steamers it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the flow chamber in the system by Lai may be of metal material with the fluid pathway stamped thereon so as to allow for easy and cost-effective manufacturing, as shown to be known and conventional by Chen et al.
Regarding claims 14 and 17, Lai teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 15. Lai teaches in figures 1-2, 4, 6, paragraph [0066], a handle 20 and a layer (see e.g. 18 or any of the parts disposed between 44 and 20, as shown in figure 6) positioned on at least one side of the steam generation assembly capable of preventing heat loss and heat transfer to the handle 20 of the steamer. Lai does not teach the sheet of insulation comprising silicone. Chen et al. teaches a steamer (see abstract, paragraph [0003]) and a sheet of silicone 106 positioned on a side of the steam generation assembly capable of preventing heat loss (see paragraphs [0006] and [0049]). Since both Lai and Chen et al. teach steamers it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that silicone may be used as insulation material on a side of the steam generation assembly in the system by Lai so as to provide the expected reduction in heat transfer, as shown to be known and conventional by Chen et al. Furthermore, it has been determined that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711