DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13,21-27 in the reply filed on 5/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by Lin et al., (Lin) US 2016/0307896 in view of Akiyama et al., (Akiyama) US 2011/0272742.
Regarding claim 1, Lin Shows and discloses in FIG. 3, a method of forming a metal nitride layer, comprising: forming an oxygen-trapping layer over a substrate (128a)[0020](layer contains oxygen); and forming a first metal nitride layer (134a) over the oxygen-trapping layer (128a).
Lin differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device a method of performing an electron treatment on the oxygen-trapping layer.
Akiyama shows in FIG. 3B, and discloses a device a method of performing an electron treatment [0099,0259] on the oxygen-trapping layer (33)(Oxygen is used for the electron treatment [0103]).
Akiyama is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Lin. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Akiyama in the device of Lin because it will help reduce contact resistance [0103].
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Akiyama discloses a method wherein the oxygen-trapping layer (128a) comprises a silicon nitride layer or a silicon oxide layer [0020].
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Akiyama discloses a method wherein the first metal nitride layer (134a) comprises a titanium nitride (TiN) layer or a tantalum nitride (TaN) layer [0029].
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Akiyama discloses a method further comprising forming a second metal nitride layer (130a) over the substrate, wherein the oxygen-trapping layer (128a) is formed over the second metal nitride layer (130a).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Akiyama discloses a method wherein the second metal nitride layer (130a) comprises a TiN layer or a TaN layer [0048].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-13,21-27 allowed.
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813