DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Specie 1, Embodiment I, Sub-species C, Figs. 1A and 1E, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Action on the merits is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the trenches" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 5-9 inherit these deficiencies due to there dependency. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has taken this recitation to be “a trench corner of a plurality of trenches of the trench capacitor” or “a trench corner of a trench of the trench capacitor”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shih et al. (Shih) (US 2024/0315011 A1 and US 2024/0315012 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regards to claims 1-9, Shih (Figs. 1A-4 and associated text) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device (Figs. 2, 3, 9-13), comprising: providing a substrate (item 200); forming a first bit line (item 420) on the substrate (item 200), wherein the first bit line (item 420) extends along a first direction (y-direction); forming a first word line (item 440) above the first bit line (item 420), wherein the first word line (item 440) extends along a second direction (x-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (y-direction); forming a channel structure (item 430) on the first bit line (item 440), wherein the channel structure (item 430) penetrates the first word line (item 440); forming a dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470) over the substrate (item 200); and forming a trench capacitor (item 480) on the channel structure.
In regards to claim 2, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the formation of the trench capacitor (item 480) comprises forming a first conductive layer (item 481) within the trench capacitor (item 480), wherein the first conductive layer (item 481) partially covers a sidewall of portion of the dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470).
In regards to claim 3, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the formation of the trench capacitor (item 480)further comprises forming a first dielectric layer (item 482) covering the dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470) and the first conductive layer (item 481).
In regards to claim 4, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the formation of the trench capacitor (item 480) further comprises forming a second dielectric layer (item 484) over the dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470), wherein the second dielectric layer (item 484) is disposed on a trench corner of the trenches and partially covers a top surface and a sidewall of the dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470).
In regards to claim 5, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the formation of the trench capacitor (item 480) further comprises forming a second conductive layer (item 483 or 485) over the dielectric layer (items 462, 470 or 46 plus 470), wherein the second conductive layer (item 483 or 485) covers the first conductive layer (item 481), the first dielectric layer (item 482) and the second dielectric layer (item 484).
In regards to claim 6, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the first conductive layer (item 481) and the second conductive layer (item 483) are made of a same material (paragraphs 8, 124, 128, 138).
In regards to claim 8, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses wherein the same material is titanium nitride (TiN) (paragraphs 8, 124, 128, 138).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Jeon) (US 2023/0061185 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Lee) (US 2023/0269931 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) does not specifically disclose wherein the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer are made of a same material (paragraph 8).
In regards to claim 9, Jeon (Figs. 2, 3, 9-12 and associated text/equivalent items) discloses zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), or a combination thereof, but does not specifically disclose wherein the same material is zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), or a combination thereof.
In regards to claims 7 and 9, Lee (paragraphs 30, 48, 49) discloses/requires that first and second dielectric plates/layers include a high dielectric constant. Examiner notes that “high dielectric constant material such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (Si.sub.3N.sub.4), silicon oxynitride (SiO.sub.xN.sub.y), hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), hafnium silicon oxide (HfSiO), hafnium silicon oxynitride (HfSiON), hafnium tantalum oxide (HfTaO), hafnium titanium oxide (HfTiO), hafnium zirconium oxide (HfZrO), zirconium silicate, zirconium aluminate, zirconium oxide, titanium oxide, aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), hafnium dioxide-alumina (HfO.sub.2-Al.sub.2O.sub.3) alloy, or combinations thereof” are encompassed by this broad teaching of Lee.
Therefore Jeon as modified by Lee discloses wherein the same material is (can be) zirconium oxide (ZrO.sub.2), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), or a combination thereof.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of Lee for the purpose of having a high dielectric constant material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (KR 20140017272 A) could have been used as a primary reference.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 2, 2026