DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn (US 2024/0260422).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (100, fig. 1 and paragraph 0053);
subpixels comprising:
first color subpixels (red, SP1, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061) comprising a (1-1)th color subpixel (PR1 of SP1, fig. 2) and a (1-2)th color subpixel (PR2 of SP1, fig. 2) for emitting light of a same color, light reflected from the (1-1)th color subpixel having a phase difference with respect to light reflected from the (1-2)th color subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080);
second color subpixels (blue, SP3, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061); and
third color subpixels (green, SP4, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061), each of the subpixels comprising a subpixel electrode (E1, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105), an emission layer (EL, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105) over the subpixel electrode, and an opposite electrode (E2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105) over the emission layer;
a bank layer defining lower opening portions defining an emission area in each
of the subpixels (170, fig. 3 and paragraph 0114);
a light-blocking layer above the bank layer, and defining upper opening portions
respectively overlapping the lower opening portions (111, fig. 3 and paragraph 0094); and color filters above the light-blocking layer, and comprising first color filters,
second color filters, and third color filters (150, fig. 3 and paragraphs 0115-0008).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn further discloses wherein the second color subpixels
comprise a (2-1)th color subpixel and a (2-2)th color subpixel for emitting light of a
same color (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080), and
wherein light reflected from the (2-1)th color subpixel has a phase difference
with respect to light reflected from the (2-2)th color subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP3, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn further discloses wherein the third color subpixels
comprise a (3-1)th color subpixel and a (3-2)th color subpixel for emitting light of a
same color (PR1, PR2 of SP4, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080), and
wherein light reflected from the (3-1)th color subpixel has a phase difference
with respect to light reflected from the (3-2)th color subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP4, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 4, Ahn further discloses wherein the light reflected from the (1-1)th color subpixel and the light reflected from the (1-2)th color subpixel have a same
wavelength in a vacuum (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 5, Ahn further discloses wherein the light reflected from the (1-
1)th color subpixel and the light reflected from the (1-2)th color subpixel have a phase
difference therebetween greater than about 0 and less than about 2n (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn further discloses wherein a vertical distance from the
substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (1-1)th color subpixel is different from a
vertical distance from the substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (1-2)th color
subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 3 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 7, Ahn further discloses wherein a vertical distance from the
substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (2-1)th color subpixel is different from a
vertical distance from the substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (2-2)th color
subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP3, fig. 3 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 8, Ahn further discloses wherein a vertical distance from the
substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (3-1)th color subpixel is different from a
vertical distance from the substrate to the subpixel electrode of the (3-2)th color
subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP4, fig. 3 and paragraphs 0076-0080).
Regarding claim 9, Ahn further discloses wherein the (1-1)th color subpixel and
the (1-2)th color subpixel are adjacent to each other, wherein the (2-1)th color subpixel and the (2-2)th color subpixel are adjacent to each other, and wherein the (3-1)th color subpixel and the (3-2)th color subpixel are adjacent to each other (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Ahn further discloses further comprising a phase difference
pattern layer above the bank layer, and comprising pattern portions respectively
corresponding to the subpixels,
wherein the pattern portions comprise a (1-1)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (1-1)th color subpixel, and a (1-2)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (1-2)th color subpixel and different from the (1-1)th color pattern
portion with respect to at least one of refractive index or thickness (PGP, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 11, Ahn further discloses wherein the (1-1)th color pattern
portion and the (1-2)th color pattern portion respectively comprise different materials
with different refractive indexes (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 12, Ahn further discloses wherein the (1-1)th color pattern
portion and the (1-2)th color pattern portion comprise a same material, and
wherein a thickness of the (1-1)th color pattern portion is different from a
thickness of the (1-2)th color pattern portion (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 13, Ahn further discloses wherein the (1-1)th color pattern
portion and the (1-2)th color pattern portion respectively comprise different materials
with different refractive indexes, and
wherein a thickness of the (1-1)th color pattern portion is different from a
thickness of the (1-2)th color pattern portion (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 14, Ahn further discloses wherein the second color subpixels
comprise a (2-1)th color subpixel and a (2-2)th color subpixel for emitting light of a
same color,
wherein light reflected from the (2-1)th color subpixel has a phase difference
with respect to light reflected from the (2-2)th color subpixel, and
wherein the pattern portions further comprise a (2-1)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (2-1)th color subpixel, and a (2-2)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (2-2)th color subpixel and different from the (2-1)th color pattern
portion with respect to at least one of refractive index or thickness (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn further discloses wherein the third color subpixels
comprise a (3-1)th color subpixel and a (3-2)th color subpixel for emitting light of a
same color, wherein light reflected from the (3-1)th color subpixel has a phase difference with respect to light reflected from the (3-2)th color subpixel, and
wherein the pattern portions further comprise a (3-1)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (3-1)th color subpixel and a (3-2)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (3-2)th color subpixel and different from the (3-1)th color pattern
portion with respect to at least one of refractive index or thickness (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn further discloses wherein each of the pattern portions
has a width that is greater than a width of a corresponding subpixel among the
subpixels (PGP, PR1, PR2, figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 17, Ahn further discloses wherein the pattern portions comprise
an organic insulating material or an inorganic insulating material (PGP, PR1, PR2, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Regarding claim 19, Ahn further discloses a cover window
over the color filters, wherein the phase difference pattern layer is between the subpixels and the cover window (400, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Ahn discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (100, fig. 1 and paragraph 0053);
subpixels comprising:
first color subpixels (red, SP1, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061) comprising a (1-1)th color subpixel (PR1 of SP1, fig. 2) and a (1-2)th color subpixel (PR2 of SP1, fig. 2) for emitting light of a same color, light reflected from the (1-1)th color subpixel having a phase difference with respect to light reflected from the (1-2)th color subpixel (PR1, PR2 of SP1, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0076-0080);
second color subpixels (blue, SP3, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061); and
third color subpixels (green, SP4, fig. 2 and paragraph 0061), each of the subpixels comprising a subpixel electrode (E1, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105), an emission layer (EL, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105) over the subpixel electrode, and an opposite electrode (E2, fig. 3 and paragraph 0105) over the emission layer;
a bank layer defining lower opening portions defining an emission area in each
of the subpixels (170, fig. 3 and paragraph 0114);
a light-blocking layer above the bank layer, and defining upper opening portions
respectively overlapping the lower opening portions (111, fig. 3 and paragraph 0094); and color filters above the light-blocking layer, and comprising first color filters,
second color filters, and third color filters (150, fig. 3 and paragraphs 0115-0008); and
a phase difference pattern layer above the bank layer, and comprising pattern portions respectively corresponding to the subpixels,
wherein the pattern portions comprise a (1-1)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (1-1)th color subpixel, and a (1-2)th color pattern portion
corresponding to the (1-2)th color subpixel and different from the (1-1)th color pattern
portion with respect to at least one of refractive index or thickness (PGP, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0075-0080).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (US 2024/0260422).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn discloses the display apparatus of claim 10, as mentioned above, and further discloses an encapsulation layer over the subpixels and the bank layer (200, fig. 3 and paragraph 0131). Ahn does not disclose wherein a touch sensor layer over the encapsulation layer, wherein the phase difference pattern layer is between the encapsulation layer and the touch sensor layer.
However, the use of touch sensors in displays was widely commonly practiced at the time of filing and would therefore be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate into Ahn’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 2024/0215408 disclose a display device including a phase change pattern.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 7/25/26