CTNF 18/588,315 CTNF 87926 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2022/0356580 of Okajima et al., hereinafter Okajima . Regarding claim 1, Okajima teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Fig 1) comprising: a processing container (120 and 130 Fig 1, [0027]) configured to accommodate (Fig 1, [0027]) a substrate holder (support 140 Fig 1 [0028]) that holds substrates [0028]; a gas supply chamber (right side gap between 120 and 130 Fig 1, see annotated version below) provided in a side wall of the processing container (Fig 1, see annotated Fig 1 below); a supply-side pipe (151 Fig 1,2) extending horizontally from the gas supply chamber (Fig 1, 2); and an injector (152 Fig 2) detachably disposed [0040] (note discussion of attachment structure and inserting the pipe 152 in [0044-0045]) spanning through the gas supply chamber and the supply-side pipe (Fig 1, 2). PNG media_image1.png 722 673 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Okajima teaches a heater (110 comprising 111, 112, 113 Fig 1) [0027] accommodating the processing container (Fig 1 [0027]), wherein the supply-side pipe penetrates a side surface of the heater (Fig 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0173238 of Nakashima et al., hereinafter Nakashima . Regarding claim 3, Okajima teaches a plurality of passages provided in an axial direction of the processing container in the supply-side pipe (Fig 1, see 151). Initially it is noted that the change from one large piece to a plurality of pipes represents merely making the pipes separable In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of a substrate processing apparatus (abstract), Nakashima teaches a single gas inlet pipe with a plurality of passages (230a-230h of 230 Fig 3) and teaches that alternatively a structure with a plurality of separate pipes (230a-230h of 230 Fig 4) may be used for the same purpose [0111]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supply side pipe of Okajima to include a plurality of supply-side pipes because Nakashima has taught the arrangements are functional alternatives [0111]. Regarding claim 4, Okajima teaches a same type of gas is supplied to a plurality of injectors provided corresponding to the plurality of supply-side pipes arranged in the axial direction of the processing container (see gas supply structure of Fig 13) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima in view of WO 2024/062569 (citing English equivalent US 2025/0218804) of Hirano, hereinafter Hirano . Regarding claim 5, Okajima fails to teach a plurality of supply-side pipes is provided in a circumferential direction of the processing container. Hirano teaches that in addition to a plurality of axially extending gas supply pipes (223 Fig 3 [0026]), there are a plurality of gas supply pipes provided in a circumferential direction of the processing container (see 225, 223 Fig 2) [0026]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okajima to include the plurality of supply-side pipes provided in a circumferential direction of the processing container because Hirano teaches this allows for supply of different gases [0036-0038]. Additional nozzles allow for the apparatus to be able to perform a variety of processes which increases the market value of the apparatus. Regarding claim 6, the combination remains as applied to claim 5 above. Hirano as applied in the combination teaches different types of gases provided to the supply-side pipes arranged in the circumferential direction [0036-0038]. Regarding claim 7, the combination remains as applied to claim 6 above. Hirano further teaches a heater (228 Fig 2 [0045) on the gas injector (Fig 2) to heat the supply-side pipes [0045] It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Okajima to include a gas injector heater that heats each of the plurality of supply-side pipes because Hirano teaches this allows for maintaining the temperature of the gas to avoid it re-liquifying [0045-0046] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima in view of US Patent Application Publication 2008/0113096 of Mahajani, hereinafter Mahajani . Regarding claim 8, Okajima remains as applied to claim 1 above. Okajima teaches the injector (152 Fig 2) includes an injection portion having a gas injection hole (1531 Fig 2), and a transfer portion (remainder of body of 152 Fig 2) communicating with the injection portion (Fig 2), and disposed inside the supply-side pipe (Fig 2). Okajima fails to teach the injection portion has a plurality of gas injection holes. In the same field of endeavor of substrate processing apparatuses (abstract), Mahajani teaches the gas injector includes an injection portion (108a-d Fig 1B) having a plurality of holes (116 Fig 1B) connected to a transfer portion (118a-d). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gas injector of Okajima to include an injection portion with a plurality of holes because Mahajani teaches this structure is a functional alternative for the same purpose of gas introduction into the side of the vertical gas chamber (Fig 1A). Regarding claim 9, the combination remains as applied to claim 8 above. In the combination as applied the transfer portion has a straight tube shape (see transfer portion of Okajima Fig 1 or portion 118a-d of Mahajani) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okajima in view of Mahajani as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0277681 of Arena et al., hereinafter Arena . Regarding claim 10, the combination as applied to claim 8 remains as applied above. The transfer portion of Okajima in view of Mahajani is a straight tube. In the same field of endeavor of a substrate processing apparatus (abstract), Arena teaches the gas injector may have a spiral tube shape (49 Fig 2A) to provide a longer path [0039] which allows for the gas to be heated and have improved temperature control [0043]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer portion of Okajima to include a spiral shape because Mahajani teaches this is a functional alternative shape for gas introduction to provide a longer gas injector path . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2004/0149211 teaches a heated gas inlet (Fig 3). US 2007/0084408 teaches a gas inlet in a gas supply pipe with a showerhead structure (Fig 12B). US 2014/0283750 teaches gas inlets arranged circumferentially (Fig 1B) and axially (Fig 12A) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARGARET D KLUNK whose telephone number is (571)270-5513. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 9:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh can be reached at 571-272-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MARGARET KLUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 2 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 3 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 5 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 6 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 7 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 8 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/588,315 Page 9 Art Unit: 1716