DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending before the Office for review.
In the response filed June 26, 2026:
Claims 1, 9 and 10 were amended.
Claims 21-25 are newly added.
Claims 16-20 are canceled.
No new matter is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUNG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0005688) in view of TAN et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0028697) and KABANSKY et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0178899).
With regards to claim 1, Fung discloses a method comprising performing the following concurrent steps: depositing a material (316B) on a relief pattern (308A), the relief pattern comprising features separated by recesses (312); and etching side protrusions (316A) of the material (316B) vertically overlapping the recesses using a fluorine-containing gas (Figure 4A-4B Paragraphs [0061]-[0067]).
Fung does not explicitly disclose depositing a relief on a relief pattern by reacting a reactant gas with a precursor gas.
Tan discloses a method comprising depositing a material (800) on a relief pattern (405) using a carrier/dilutant gas and a precursor gas for patterning a substrate (Paragraphs [0104]-[0107]). Kabansky discloses a method of depositing a highly non-conformal mask buildup comprising providing a plasma reaction with a reactant such as a silicon containing precursor or metal containing precursor (Paragraphs [0026]-[0032], [0049]) and providing a nitrogen or oxygen based plasma to react with the layer formed by the reactant precursor wherein the nitrogen or oxygen based plasma may be combined with the operation comprising the silicon or metal containing precursors (Paragraphs [0037], [0043]-[0051]). As such Fung as modified by Tan and Kabansky renders obvious depositing a relief on a relief pattern by reacting a reactant gas with a precursor gas.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Fung to include the precursor as rendered obvious by Tan because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired depositing using the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Tan. MPEP 2143D
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Fung to include the precursor gas and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky because the reference of Kabansky teaches that this allows for sufficient mask buildup with desired etch selectivity (Paragraph[0040]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired depositing using the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the concurrent steps further comprise: applying bias power to a substrate comprising the relief pattern. (Fung Paragraph [0032], Kabansky Paragraph [0043]).
With regards to claim 3, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the fluorine-containing gas comprises nitrogen. (Fung Paragraphs [0067]-[0070] discloses a fluorine containing gas wherein the fluorine containing nitrogen trifluoride).
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the reactant gas comprises oxygen (Kabansky Paragraphs [0037], [0048], [0050]) and wherein the material is an oxide (Kabansky Paragraphs [0044]-[0050]).
With regards to claim 5, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious further comprising: performing an etching step using the material as an etch mask to deepen the recesses. (Fung Paragraphs [0070]-[0076] discloses steps 280-290).
With regards to claim 6, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the concurrent steps and the etching step are alternated as part of a cycle. (Tan Paragraph [0087] discloses the deposition and etching may be performed simultaneously, separate or may be repeated in multiple cycles).
With regards to claim 7, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the concurrent steps and the etching step are performed in situ in an etching chamber. (Fung Paragraphs [0019], [0033]-[0035] discloses loading the substrate into the processing chamber 100 and performing the steps for method 200 in the processing chamber).
With regards to claim 8, the modified teachings of Fung render wherein the relief pattern comprises a metal-oxide resist. (Fung Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] discloses organometallic photoresist).
With regards to claim 21, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the reactant gas comprises nitrogen and wherein the material is a nitride (Kabansky Paragraph [0048])
With regards to claim 22, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the fluorine containing gas is trifluorormethane (CHF3) (Fung Paragraph [0067]).
With regards to claim 23, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the precursor gas comprises titanium chloride (TiCl4) (Tan Paragraph [0055], Kabansky Paragraph [0049] discloses metal halides including titanium metal) rendering obvious wherein the precursor gas comprises chlorine, and wherein the precursor gas comprises and boron or titanium.
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUNG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0005688) in view of TAN et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0028697), SANCHEZ (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0164657) and KABANSKY et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0178899).
With regards to claim 9, Fung discloses a method comprising vertically growing a passivation material (316B) on features of a mask layer (308A), the features being separated by openings (312) exposing an underlying layer (314), and etching side protrusions (314A) of the passivation material vertically overlapping the openings using a fluorine-containing gas; and etching the underlying layer through the openings using the passivation material as an etch mask. (Figure 4A-4B Paragraphs [0061]-[0067]).
Fung does not explicitly disclose vertically growing an oxide, wherein vertically growing the oxide comprises concurrently depositing the oxide on the features by reacting an oxygen containing as with a precursor gas.
Tan discloses a method comprising depositing a material (800) on a relief pattern (405) using a precursor gas and a reactant gas for patterning a substrate using precursor gases to vertically grow the layer wherein the layer may be carbon containing material or a silicon containing material (Paragraphs [0104]-[0107]). Kabansky discloses a method of depositing a highly non-conformal mask buildup comprising providing a plasma reaction with a reactant such as a silicon containing precursor or metal containing precursor (Paragraphs [0026]-[0032], [0049]) and providing a nitrogen or oxygen based plasma to react with the layer formed by the reactant precursor wherein the nitrogen or oxygen based plasma may be combined with the operation comprising the silicon or metal containing precursors (Paragraphs [0037], [0043]-[0051]). Sanchez a method for patterning comprising forming an encapsulation layer on a photoresist layer wherein the top is grown thicker than the side wherein the encapsulation layer may comprise silicon-based layer including silicon oxide by flowing a silicon precursor and oxygen to form the layer (Paragraphs [0052], [0064]-[0067]). As such Fung as modified by Tan, Sanchez and Kabansky renders obvious vertically growing a passivation material wherein the passivation material comprises materials including a carbon containing layer and silicon containing layer wherein the silicon containing layer can be formed with a silicon precursor and oxygen precursor (Fung Paragraphs [0061]-[0067], Tan Paragraphs [0104]-[0107], Sanchez Paragraphs [0052] Kabansky Paragraphs [0026]-[0051]) which renders obvious vertically growing an oxide, wherein vertically growing the oxide comprises concurrently depositing the oxide on the features by reacting an oxygen containing as with a precursor gas.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Fung to include the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Tan and Sanchez because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the vertically growing of an oxide using the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Tan and Sanchez. MPEP 2143D
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Fung to include the precursor gas and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky because the reference of Kabansky teaches that this allows for sufficient mask buildup with desired etch selectivity (Paragraph[0040]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired depositing using the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 10, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein vertically growing the oxide on the features of the mask layer further comprises applying bias power to a substrate comprising the mask layer and the underlying layer concurrently with depositing the oxide and etching the side protrusions of the oxide (Fung Paragraph [0032], Tan Paragraph [0064], Sanchez [0078]).
With regards to claims 11-12, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein the fluorine-containing gas comprises a fluoronitrogen compound wherein the fluoronitrogen compound is nitrogen trifluoride. (Fung Paragraphs [0067]-[0070] discloses a fluorine containing gas wherein the fluorine containing nitrogen trifluoride).
With regards to claim 13, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein vertically growing the oxide and etching the underlying layer are alternated as part of a cycle. (Tan Paragraph [0087] discloses the deposition and etching may be performed simultaneously, separate or may be repeated in multiple cycles).
With regards to claim 14, the modified teachings of Fung render obvious wherein vertically growing the oxide and etching the underlying layer are performed in situ in an etching chamber. (Fung Paragraphs [0019], [0033]-[0035] discloses loading the substrate into the processing chamber 100 and performing the steps for method 200 in the processing chamber).
With regards to claim 15, the modified teachings of Fung wherein the mask layer comprises a metal-oxide resist. (Fung Paragraphs [0061]-[0062] discloses organometallic photoresist).
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FUNG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0005688) in view of KABANSKY et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0178899).
With regards to claim 24, Fung discloses a method comprising performing the following concurrent steps: depositing a material (316B) on a relief pattern (308A), the relief pattern comprising features separated by recesses (312); and etching side protrusions (316A) of the material (316B) vertically overlapping the recesses using a fluorine-containing gas (Figure 4A-4B Paragraphs [0061]-[0067]).
Fung does not explicitly disclose depositing a relief on a relief pattern by reacting a reactant gas comprising a first element with a precursor ga comprising a second element wherein the deposited material comprises the first element and the second element.
Tan discloses a method comprising depositing a material (800) on a relief pattern (405) using a carrier/dilutant gas and a precursor gas for patterning a substrate (Paragraphs [0104]-[0107]). Kabansky discloses a method of depositing a highly non-conformal mask buildup comprising providing a plasma reaction with a reactant such as a silicon containing precursor or metal containing precursor (Paragraphs [0026]-[0032], [0049]) and providing a nitrogen or oxygen based plasma to react with the layer formed by the reactant precursor wherein the nitrogen or oxygen based plasma may be combined with the operation comprising the silicon or metal containing precursors (Paragraphs [0037], [0043]-[0051]). As such Fung as modified by Kabansky renders obvious depositing a relief on a relief pattern by reacting a reactant gas comprising a first element with a precursor ga comprising a second element wherein the deposited material comprises the first element and the second element.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Fung to include the precursor gas and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky because the reference of Kabansky teaches that this allows for sufficient mask buildup with desired etch selectivity (Paragraph[0040]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired depositing using the precursor and reactant gas as rendered obvious by Kabansky. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 25, the modified teachings of Fung renders obvious wherein the reactant gas is dioxygen (O2), wherein the precursor gas is tetrachlorosilane (SiCl4) (Kabansky Paragraph [0037], [0044], [0050]-[0051]), and wherein the fluorine-containing gas is nitrogen trifluoride (NF3) (Fung Paragraphs [0067]-[0070] discloses a fluorine containing gas wherein the fluorine containing nitrogen trifluoride).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8 of Applicant’s response, filed June 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. In particular, Applicant’s arguments that the cited prior art fails to teach or render obvious “.. reacting a reactant gas with a precursor gas…” is found persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kabansky et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0178899).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713