DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 and 15-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 6-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 6 and 15 recite “a plurality of quadrupole magnets coupled to the beam tube via a pump chase” wherein “the pump chase is coupled to a third of the six adjoining sidewalls” and “the plurality of quadrupole magnets is coupled to a sixth of the six adjoining sidewalls” . It is not clear from the disclosure how the quadrupole magnets are coupled to the beam tube using a pump chase on the opposite side of the tube. This arrangement would require structural connections which are not described or illustrated in the current disclosure, such as a part of the quadrupole magnet structure passing through the beam tube, which may have a functional effect on the beam.
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected for their dependence on claims 6 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10-11, 13-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (US 20220285127 A1) in view of Dollinger (US 20230300969 A1) and in further view of Sasaki 2018 (US 20180330920 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches an ion implantation system (ion implanter 100, fig. 1) comprising:
An ion source (10) for generating an ion beam;
An end station (substrate transferring/processing unit 20) for holding a substrate (wafer W) to be implanted by the ion beam;
A linear accelerator (beam acceleration unit 14 with linear acceleration units 22a-22c) disposed between the ion source and the end station and adapted to accelerate the ion beam, the linear accelerator comprising:
A beam tube (vacuum chamber 140, fig. 6) for transmitting the ion beam, the beam tube having adjoining sidewalls;
At least one resonator (74a-74c, [0070]) coupled to the beam tube; and
At least one pump (vacuum pump 148) coupled to the beam tube;
Wherein at least one of the adjoining sidewalls of the beam tube has an opening formed therein (opening formed in wall 140d, fig. 6) for providing access to an interior of the beam tube.
Sasaki does not teach that the beam tube has at least five adjoining sidewalls, or that the pump is a turbomolecular pump.
Dollinger teaches a linear accelerator having an octagonal beam tube (fig. 4a) or a hexagonal beam tube (fig. 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to make the beam tube of Sasaki hexagonal or octagonal (i.e. having at least five adjoining sidewalls), as Dollinger teaches that beam tubes of this shape are known in the art and selecting a different beam tube shape would be a matter of simple design choice for one skilled in the art with no functional effect on the beam.
Sasaki and Dollinger do not teach a turbomolecular pump.
Sasaki 2018 teaches a linear accelerator with a turbomolecular pump (108a-c, [0120-0121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to select the vacuum pump of Sasaki to be a turbomolecular pump, which is a known type of vacuum pump effective at producing vacuum in a linear accelerator as described by Sasaki 2018.
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches at least one buncher (first linear accelerator 22a which performs bunching, [0030]) coupled to the beam tube.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches that the at least one pump is coupled to a beam tube via a pump chase (connected area of vacuum chamber 140 below mounting bar 142, fig. 5), coupled to one of the sidewalls (140d) of the beam tube (at least five sidewalls in the combination with Dollinger, above).
Sasaki does not teach a plurality of turbomolecular pumps.
Sasaki 2018 teaches a linear accelerator having a plurality of turbomolecular pumps (108a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sasaki to have multiple turbomolecular pumps connected to the pump chase area, in order to increase the speed of evacuation of the vacuum tube.
Regarding claim 5, Dollinger teaches that the at least five adjoining sidewalls comprises six adjoining sidewalls defining a hexagon when the beam tube is viewed end-on (fig. 5a).
Regarding claim 10, Sasaki teaches that the at least one resonator is smaller at a juncture of the at least one resonator with the tube relative to portions of the at least one resonator more distal than the beam tube (fig. 6, resonator has narrow neck portion closer to beam tube).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches an ion implantation system (ion implanter 100, fig. 1) comprising:
An ion source (10) for generating an ion beam;
An end station (substrate transferring/processing unit 20) for holding a substrate (wafer W) to be implanted by the ion beam;
A linear accelerator (beam acceleration unit 14 with linear acceleration units 22a-22c) disposed between the ion source and the end station and adapted to accelerate the ion beam, the linear accelerator comprising:
A beam tube (vacuum chamber 140, fig. 6) for transmitting the ion beam, the beam tube having adjoining sidewalls;
At least one resonator (74a-74c, [0070]) coupled to the beam tube; and
At least one pump (vacuum pump 148) coupled to the beam tube;
Wherein at least one of the adjoining sidewalls of the beam tube has an opening formed therein (opening formed in wall 140d, fig. 6) for providing access to an interior of the beam tube.
Sasaki does not teach that the beam tube has six adjoining sidewalls defining a hexagon when the beam tube is viewed end-on, or that the pump is a turbomolecular pump.
Dollinger teaches a linear accelerator having a hexagonal beam tube (fig. 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to make the beam tube of Sasaki hexagonal, as Dollinger teaches that beam tubes of this shape are known in the art and selecting a different beam tube shape would be a matter of simple design choice for one skilled in the art with no functional effect on the beam.
Sasaki and Dollinger do not teach a turbomolecular pump.
Sasaki 2018 teaches a linear accelerator with a turbomolecular pump (108a-c, [0120-0121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to select the vacuum pump of Sasaki to be a turbomolecular pump, which is a known type of vacuum pump effective at producing vacuum in a linear accelerator as described by Sasaki 2018.
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches at least one buncher (first linear accelerator 22a which performs bunching, [0030]) coupled to the beam tube.
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches that the at least one pump is coupled to a beam tube via a pump chase (connected area of vacuum chamber 140 below mounting bar 142, fig. 5), coupled to one of the sidewalls (140d) of the beam tube (one of six adjoining sidewalls in the combination with Dollinger, above).
Sasaki does not teach a plurality of turbomolecular pumps.
Sasaki 2018 teaches a linear accelerator having a plurality of turbomolecular pumps (108a-c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sasaki to have multiple turbomolecular pumps connected to the pump chase area, in order to increase the speed of evacuation of the vacuum tube.
Regarding claim 19, Sasaki teaches that the at least one resonator is smaller at a juncture of the at least one resonator with the tube relative to portions of the at least one resonator more distal than the beam tube (fig. 6, resonator has narrow neck portion closer to beam tube).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Dollinger and Sasaki 2018 and in further view of Sinclair (US 20220037116 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Sasaki, Dollinger and Sasaki 2018 teach all the limitations of claims 2 and 12 as described above. Sasaki, Dollinger and Sasaki 2018 do not teach at least one quadrupole magnet coupled to the beam tube.
Sinclair teaches a linear accelerator having magnetic quadrupoles coupled to the beam tube ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Sasaki et al to have the quadrupole magnets as part of the linear accelerator beam tube, in order to prevent unwanted beam spread as described by Sinclair.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki in view of Dollinger.
Regarding claim 20, Sasaki teaches a beam tube for a linear accelerator of an ion implantation system (tube formed by walls 140, fig. 6).
Sasaki does not teach that the beam tube comprises at least five adjoining sidewalls.
Dollinger teaches a linear accelerator having an octagonal beam tube (fig. 4a) or a hexagonal beam tube (fig. 5a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the invention to make the beam tube of Sasaki hexagonal (i.e. having at least five adjoining sidewalls), as Dollinger teaches that beam tubes of this shape are known in the art and selecting a different beam tube shape would be a matter of simple design choice for one skilled in the art with no unexpected result.
Conclusion
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881