DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on date: 6/28/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 13, 15 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 1, 13, 15 and 20 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b): Applicant’s arguments are found persuasive Accordingly, Examiner withdraws the rejection to claim 5.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102: Applicant's arguments, see in pages 10-12 in the submitted Remarks, filed on 12/11/2025, with respect to the rejection on independent claims 1, 13 and 20 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner Notes
4. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US. Pub. 2022/0082613; hereinafter “Kato”) in view of Rowell et al. (US. Pat. 9991591; hereinafter “Rowell”).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement arrangement (a test apparatus 1 comprises a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising:
modular measurement device (a pusher unit 63C in Fig. 8A) operable to removably couple to an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) which is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4), wherein the load board (4) comprises at least one of a device under test (DUT) (a DUT 12) located in a testing position or a testing receptacle operable to receive the DUT and to hold the DUT in the testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position, see Fig. 8A), wherein the modular measurement device comprises:
one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and
one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]).
Kato does not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Rowell discloses, in Figs. 1-4, a modular measurement device (a test arrangement 100, 200, or 300) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (such a circular guide beam of a mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55), and
one or more second components (a motor of the mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The mechanical antenna positioning structure 105 moves the position of the link antenna 104 around a device under test DUT 150 on a circular circumference, or a three-dimensional circumference. See Col. 7 lines 40-52), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (“with beamforming devices it is important to measure the emissions of the device from a plurality of different positions or verify the behavior of the device under the impact of RF signals under different beamforming configurations. The present invention is especially based on the fact that a beamforming device will comprise an antenna diagram with a main lobe into a desired direction and with a number of side lobes into other directions….”. See Col. 2, lines 4-25. The link antenna 104 serves to establish a communication link to the DUT 150. The communication may comprise performing data transmission or a test transmission. Such the test transmission comprises emitting a test signal to the position of the link antenna 104 with a test signal, so that the device under test 150 performing beamforming or beamsteering to focus the emission direction of the main lobe of the device under test 150 onto the link antenna 104…, see Col. 8 lines 1-35. Thus, the emission direction of the main lobe of the DUT will be determined based on the displacement position of the link antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Rowell for purpose of providing the test arrangement that allows a communication controller to provide such interference or disturbance signals to the test antenna system, while performing communication with the device under test through the link antenna to provide convenient testing of antenna systems where obtaining far-field spacing to the device under test can be infeasible using traditional free space (see the summary).
Regarding claim 2, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein in the testing position the DUT is coupled to the load board, wherein the ATE comprises a test head and at least one of a load board frame coupled to the test head or the test head without the load board frame (a test head without the load board frame as shown in Fig. 8A), wherein the modular measurement device further comprises at least one of a first configuration operable to removably couple to the test head which is coupled to the load board (the test head coupled to the load board in Fig. 8A-B) or a second configuration operable to removably couple to the load board frame which is coupled to the load board, and wherein the load board is electrically coupled to the test head (see at least in Figs. 1 and 8A-B).
Regarding claim 3, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 2, Kato further teaches wherein in the first configuration the modular measurement device is supported mechanically by the test head (Figs. 8A and 8B show the measurement device mechanically coupled to the test head), and wherein in the second configuration the modular measurement device is supported mechanically by the load board frame coupled to the test head.
Regarding claim 4, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the one or more second components are configured to manipulate at least one of an elevation or an azimuth of the antenna, relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position to manipulate the position of the antenna (see at least in Figs. 1 and 8A-B).
Regarding claim 11, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 1, Kato further teaches wherein the modular measurement device further comprises an absorptive structure, and wherein the absorptive structure is configured to absorb electromagnetic waves (see [0092, 95, 134-135]).
7. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US. Pub. 2022/0082613; hereinafter “Kato”) in view of Kawamura et al. (US. Pub. 20170222735; hereinafter “Kawamura”).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement arrangement (a test apparatus 1 comprises a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising:
modular measurement device (a pusher unit 63C in Fig. 8A) operable to removably couple to an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) which is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4), wherein the load board (4) comprises at least one of a device under test (DUT) (a DUT 12) located in a testing position or a testing receptacle operable to receive the DUT and to hold the DUT in the testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position, see Fig. 8A), wherein the modular measurement device comprises:
one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and
one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]).
Kato does not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Kawamura discloses, in Figs. 1-13, a modular measurement device (an antenna measurement device 30 in Fig. 1 or 10 in Fig. 9) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (a vertical component of a probe scanning mechanism 13 configured to receive and carry a probe antenna 12), and
one or more second components (a base component of the probe scanning mechanism 13) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The probe scanning mechanism 13 moves the probe antenna 12 in X and Y direction at a predetermined pitch within the measurement plane P. The probe scanning mechanism 13 and the test antenna support portion 31 are controlled by the measurement control unit 32. See [0064] and Fig. 1 and 9), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (The beam direction detection means 33 performs a scanning so that the probe antenna 12 passes through a portion of the measurement plane P (S2) in a state where the electromagnetic wave radiation plane 1a of the test antenna 1 is directed toward the reference direction (S1), and obtains the direction of a main lobe of the beamforming radiated by the test antenna 1 from information of an amplitude and a phase which are obtained in the scanning (S3). In such a beam direction detection process, in the same manner as a normal directivity calculation process, the function is obtained by an inverse Fourier transformation and a far field directivity is obtained, see [0086]. Also see [0027, 70-71]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Kawamura for purpose of providing the device minimizes measurement range and prevents accuracy of measurement from deteriorating. The device obtains high-accuracy directivity regardless of beam direction when directivity is obtained after direction of the test antenna is changed, so that the beam of the test antenna is directed toward the center of the measurement plane in which directivity calculation results are obtained with high degree of accuracy, and amount of change in direction of the antenna is corrected. (see the summary).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view Rowell and further in view of Andres et al. (US. Pat. 11879925; hereinafter “Andres”). Regarding claim 5, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 2, except for specifying that wherein the modular measurement device further comprises a base part comprising an opening to accommodate the load board frame, and wherein the base part is configured to removably couple to the load board frame.
Andres discloses a test system (100 in Fig. 11) having a base part (110, 140) comprising an opening (an opening as shown in Fig. 11) to accommodate the load board frame (150) , and wherein the base part is configured to removably couple to the load board frame (see Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Rowell by having a base part comprising an opening to accommodate the load board frame, and wherein the base part is configured to removably couple to the load board frame, as taught by Andres in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 7, Kato and Rowell and Andres disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 5, wherein the opening for the load board frame (150 in Fig. 11 of Andres) is formed configured to permit at least one of the modular measurement device (63C in Fig. 8A of Kato) to couple to the test head (32 in Fig. 8A of Kato) or the modular measurement device to be removed from the test head. while the load board (140 in Fig. 11 of Andres) is attached coupled to the load board frame (150 in Fig. 11 of Andres) which is attached coupled to the test head (32 in Fig. 8A of Kato).
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Rowell and further in view of Ryan (US. Pub. 20210311102; hereinafter “Ryan”). Regarding claim 12, Kato and Rowell disclose the measurement arrangement according to claim 1, except for specifying that wherein the modular measurement device further comprises a calibration reference antenna, wherein the calibration reference antenna is configured to provide a reference signal for a calibration of the antenna.
Ryan discloses, in Figs. 1-5, a test system (100) for testing parameters of an antenna under test, comprising a calibration reference antenna (a calibration antenna in [0050-52]), wherein the calibration reference antenna is configured to provide a reference signal for a calibration of the antenna (see [0050-52]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Rowell by having comprises a calibration reference antenna, wherein the calibration reference antenna is configured to provide a reference signal for a calibration of the antenna, as taught by Ryan for purpose of providing the antenna test system uses a single platform with integrated reference antenna with no new calibration process required and this reduces test time and costs.
11. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Mineo et al. (US. Pub. 2007/0296432; hereinafter “Mineo”) and further in view of Rowell.
Regarding claim 13, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement setup (a test apparatus 1 comprises a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising:
a measurement arrangement (a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) operable to removably couple to an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) which is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4), wherein the load board (4) is operable to receive and to hold a device under test (DUT) in a testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position),
wherein the measurement arrangement comprises a modular measurement device (such as a pusher unit 63C in Fig. 8A) comprising:
one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and
one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position, wherein the measurement arrangement is operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]),
wherein the ATE (3) comprises a test head (a test head 32) and configured to couple to the load board (4), and wherein the measurement arrangement (63C) is configured to removably couple to the load board (see Figs. 8A-B).
Kato does not disclose a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, and wherein the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame.
Mineo discloses a test apparatus (Fig. 1) comprises a tester (10) having a test head (20) coupled to a load board frame (25-26) and further coupled to a load board (30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, as taught by Mineo for purpose of providing the load board frame or plate for achieving stable transmission characteristic with reduced loss and reflection when a high frequency signal is used for testing the electronic component, and suppresses the discharge of leakage signal and inflow of noise signal. Kato and Mineo does not disclose the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame. Kato discloses the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board. However having the measurement arrangement is coupled to the load board or the load board frame is a known practice in the art and specific location for coupling to either the load board or load board frame would simply be a matter of inventor design choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Mineo by having the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Also, Kato and Mineo does not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Rowell discloses, in Figs. 1-4, a modular measurement device (a test arrangement 100, 200, or 300) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (such a circular guide beam of a mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55), and
one or more second components (a motor of the mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The mechanical antenna positioning structure 105 moves the position of the link antenna 104 around a device under test DUT 150 on a circular circumference, or a three-dimensional circumference. See Col. 7 lines 40-52), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (“with beamforming devices it is important to measure the emissions of the device from a plurality of different positions or verify the behavior of the device under the impact of RF signals under different beamforming configurations. The present invention is especially based on the fact that a beamforming device will comprise an antenna diagram with a main lobe into a desired direction and with a number of side lobes into other directions….”. See Col. 2, lines 4-25. The link antenna 104 serves to establish a communication link to the DUT 150. The communication may comprise performing data transmission or a test transmission. Such the test transmission comprises emitting a test signal to the position of the link antenna 104 with a test signal, so that the device under test 150 performing beamforming or beamsteering to focus the emission direction of the main lobe of the device under test 150 onto the link antenna 104…, see Col. 8 lines 1-35. Thus, the emission direction of the main lobe of the DUT will be determined based on the displacement position of the link antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Mineo by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Rowell for purpose of providing the test arrangement that allows a communication controller to provide such interference or disturbance signals to the test antenna system, while performing communication with the device under test through the link antenna to provide convenient testing of antenna systems where obtaining far-field spacing to the device under test can be infeasible using traditional free space (see the summary). Regarding claim 14, Kato and Mineo and Rowell disclose the measurement setup according to claim 13, Mineo further teaches wherein the load board frame (25-26) is configured to provide for a spacing between the test head (20) and the load board (30) (see Fig. 1), and wherein the load board frame (25-26) is at least one of configured to allow for a first routing of one or more first cables (282) for feeding signals from the test head to the load board (see Fig. 1), configured to allow for a second routing of one or more second cables for guiding signals from the load board to the test head, configured to allow for a third routing of one or more third cables from the test head to the measurement arrangement, or configured to allow for a storing of additional components in the spacing.
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Mineo et al. (US. Pub. 2007/0296432; hereinafter “Mineo”) and further in view of Kawamura.
Regarding claim 13, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement setup (a test apparatus 1 comprises a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising:
a measurement arrangement (a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) operable to removably couple to an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) which is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4), wherein the load board (4) is operable to receive and to hold a device under test (DUT) in a testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position),
wherein the measurement arrangement comprises a modular measurement device (such as a pusher unit 63C in Fig. 8A) comprising:
one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and
one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position, wherein the measurement arrangement is operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]),
wherein the ATE (3) comprises a test head (a test head 32) and configured to couple to the load board (4), and wherein the measurement arrangement (63C) is configured to removably couple to the load board (see Figs. 8A-B).
Kato does not disclose a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, and wherein the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame.
Mineo discloses a test apparatus (Fig. 1) comprises a tester (10) having a test head (20) coupled to a load board frame (25-26) and further coupled to a load board (30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, as taught by Mineo for purpose of providing the load board frame or plate for achieving stable transmission characteristic with reduced loss and reflection when a high frequency signal is used for testing the electronic component, and suppresses the discharge of leakage signal and inflow of noise signal. Kato and Mineo does not disclose the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame. Kato discloses the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board. However having the measurement arrangement is coupled to the load board or the load board frame is a known practice in the art and specific location for coupling to either the load board or load board frame would simply be a matter of inventor design choice. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Mineo by having the measurement arrangement is configured to removably couple to the load board frame, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Also, Kato and Mineo does not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Kawamura discloses, in Figs. 1-13, a modular measurement device (an antenna measurement device 30 in Fig. 1 or 10 in Fig. 9) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (a vertical component of a probe scanning mechanism 13 configured to receive and carry a probe antenna 12), and
one or more second components (a base component of the probe scanning mechanism 13) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The probe scanning mechanism 13 moves the probe antenna 12 in X and Y direction at a predetermined pitch within the measurement plane P. The probe scanning mechanism 13 and the test antenna support portion 31 are controlled by the measurement control unit 32. See [0064] and Fig. 1 and 9), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (The beam direction detection means 33 performs a scanning so that the probe antenna 12 passes through a portion of the measurement plane P (S2) in a state where the electromagnetic wave radiation plane 1a of the test antenna 1 is directed toward the reference direction (S1), and obtains the direction of a main lobe of the beamforming radiated by the test antenna 1 from information of an amplitude and a phase which are obtained in the scanning (S3). In such a beam direction detection process, in the same manner as a normal directivity calculation process, the function is obtained by an inverse Fourier transformation and a far field directivity is obtained, see [0086]. Also see [0027, 70-71]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Mineo by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Kawamura for purpose of providing the device minimizes measurement range and prevents accuracy of measurement from deteriorating. The device obtains high-accuracy directivity regardless of beam direction when directivity is obtained after direction of the test antenna is changed, so that the beam of the test antenna is directed toward the center of the measurement plane in which directivity calculation results are obtained with high degree of accuracy, and amount of change in direction of the antenna is corrected. (see the summary).
13. Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weimer (US. Pub. 2003/0197521; hereinafter “Weimer”) and further in view of Rowell.
Regarding claim 15 and similarly claim 20, taking claim 15 as an example, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement system comprising: an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) comprising a test head (a test head 32), wherein the ATE is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4) which is operable to receive and to hold a device under test (DUT) in a testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position); and a measurement setup comprising a measurement arrangement (a test setup and a test arrangement for testing an antenna of the DUT 12 as shown at least in Figs. 1, 5F and 8A-B) operable to removably couple to the ATE (at least see Figs. 8A-B and [0090]), wherein the measurement arrangement comprises a modular measurement device (a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising: one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position, wherein the measurement arrangement is operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT(“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]). Kato does not disclose the ATE further comprises a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, wherein the load board is configured to mechanically couple coupled to the load board frame.
Weimer discloses a test apparatus (Fig. 2) comprises a test head (12) coupled to a load board frame (10) and further coupled to a load board (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, and the load board is configured to mechanically couple coupled to the load board frame, as taught by Weimer for purpose of providing the test board designed for one test system is can be efficiently used for other test systems. Thus the user is enabled to easily test the devices using different test beads without the need for building a new device under test (DUT) board for each test system and for each device. Hence a competitive and less expensive test system is ensured. Also, Kato and Weimer do not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Rowell discloses, in Figs. 1-4, a modular measurement device (a test arrangement 100, 200, or 300) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (such a circular guide beam of a mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55), and
one or more second components (a motor of the mechanical antenna positioning structure 105, 205, or 305. See Figs. 1-3 and Col. 6, lines 45-55) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The mechanical antenna positioning structure 105 moves the position of the link antenna 104 around a device under test DUT 150 on a circular circumference, or a three-dimensional circumference. See Col. 7 lines 40-52), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (“with beamforming devices it is important to measure the emissions of the device from a plurality of different positions or verify the behavior of the device under the impact of RF signals under different beamforming configurations. The present invention is especially based on the fact that a beamforming device will comprise an antenna diagram with a main lobe into a desired direction and with a number of side lobes into other directions….”. See Col. 2, lines 4-25. The link antenna 104 serves to establish a communication link to the DUT 150. The communication may comprise performing data transmission or a test transmission. Such the test transmission comprises emitting a test signal to the position of the link antenna 104 with a test signal, so that the device under test 150 performing beamforming or beamsteering to focus the emission direction of the main lobe of the device under test 150 onto the link antenna 104…, see Col. 8 lines 1-35. Thus, the emission direction of the main lobe of the DUT will be determined based on the displacement position of the link antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato and Weimer by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Rowell for purpose of providing the test arrangement that allows a communication controller to provide such interference or disturbance signals to the test antenna system, while performing communication with the device under test through the link antenna to provide convenient testing of antenna systems where obtaining far-field spacing to the device under test can be infeasible using traditional free space (see the summary).
Regarding claim 16, Kato and Mineo and Rowell disclose the measurement system according to claim 15, Kato further teaches wherein the measurement arrangement is configured to be controlled by the test head, and wherein the measurement arrangement is configured to manipulate the position of the antenna and to provide a measurement information for determining the beamforming characteristic of the DUT in response to a control signal provided by the test head (see [0087-90 and 114-115]). Regarding claim 17, Kato and Mineo and Rowell disclose the measurement system according to claim 15, Kato further teaches wherein the measurement arrangement further comprises an actuator (the drive unit 632) and one or more control modules (see [0085, 109, 127]), and wherein the one or more control modules are configured to control the actuator, wherein the antenna is configured to provide a plurality of measurement signals, and wherein the one or more control modules are configured to control a selection of a measurement signal of the plurality of measurement signals of the antenna (see [0139-142, 146-148]). Regarding claim 18, Kato and Mineo and Rowell disclose the measurement system according to claim 15, Weimer further teaches wherein the test head (the test head 32 in Fig. 2) is configured to test a plurality of devices under test (DUTs) (a plurality of sockets 16 for holding DUTs as shown in Fig. 2), when the DUTs are arranged in the testing position and electrically coupled to the load board (the load board 14); wherein the test head is configured to perform a plurality of tests on the plurality of DUTs (see at least in [0008] of Weimer), and wherein the test head is configured to perform one or more tests of the plurality of tests temporally in parallel on a one or more DUTs of the plurality of devices under test DUTs (see at least in [0008] and claim 8). Regarding claim 19, Kato and Mineo and Rowell disclose the measurement system according to claim 18, wherein the test head is configured to provide a test signal for determining a the beamforming characteristic of a the DUT; temporally parallel to a testing of one or more at least one DUT of the plurality of DUTs (see at least in [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]).
14. Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato in view of Weimer (US. Pub. 2003/0197521; hereinafter “Weimer”) and further in view of Kawamura.
Regarding claim 15 and similarly claim 20, taking claim 15 as an example, Kato discloses, in Figs. 1-29, a measurement system comprising: an automated test equipment (ATE) (a tester 3) comprising a test head (a test head 32), wherein the ATE is operable to couple to a load board (a load board 4) which is operable to receive and to hold a device under test (DUT) in a testing position (a socket 5 is mounted on the load board 4 for holding a DUT 10 in a testing position); and a measurement setup comprising a measurement arrangement (a test setup and a test arrangement for testing an antenna of the DUT 12 as shown at least in Figs. 1, 5F and 8A-B) operable to removably couple to the ATE (at least see Figs. 8A-B and [0090]), wherein the measurement arrangement comprises a modular measurement device (a measurement apparatus 6 or 6C in Figs. 1 and 8A-B) comprising: one or more first components (such as a substrate 642C of the pusher unit 63C for holding a test antenna 641C) operable to receive and carry an antenna (641C), and one or more second components (such as a drive unit 632 for driving the pusher 631C) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position, wherein the measurement arrangement is operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT(“The test antenna 641C is movable relative to the socket 5 with the movement of the pusher 631C”, see [0139]), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT (“The distances between the test antenna 641C and the device antenna 12 when the pusher 631C contacts the DUT 10 are adjusted so that radio waves radiated from the device antenna 12 can reach the test antenna 641C with near-field. he test signal outputted from the main frame 31 is sent to the DUT 10 through the socket 5, in paragraph [0140]. The DUT 10 radiates radio waves upward from the device antenna 12. The radio waves are received by the test antennas 641C and converted into electrical signals. The electrical signals are sent to the main frame 31 via the pogo pins 645, the pads 41, and the test heads 32. The radio wave radiation characteristics of the DUT 10 are evaluated based using the signals. the test signals outputted from the main frame 31 are transmitted to the test antennas 641C through the pads 41 and the pogo pins 645 while keeping the DUT 10 pressed against the sockets 5. The test antenna 641C which has received the test signal radiates a radio wave downward. This radio wave is received by the device antenna 12 of the DUT 10 and is converted into an electric signal. The electric signal is sent to the main frame 31 via the socket 5. The radio wave reception characteristics of the DUT 10 is evaluated using the signal, in [0144-145]”. Also see [0087-90, 0106-107, and 114-115]). Kato does not disclose the ATE further comprises a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, wherein the load board is configured to mechanically couple coupled to the load board frame.
Weimer discloses a test apparatus (Fig. 2) comprises a test head (12) coupled to a load board frame (10) and further coupled to a load board (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having a load board frame configured to couple to the test head and to the load board, and the load board is configured to mechanically couple coupled to the load board frame, as taught by Weimer for purpose of providing the test board designed for one test system is can be efficiently used for other test systems. Thus the user is enabled to easily test the devices using different test beads without the need for building a new device under test (DUT) board for each test system and for each device. Hence a competitive and less expensive test system is ensured. Also, Kato and Weimer do not explicitly specify that the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level.
Kawamura discloses, in Figs. 1-13, a modular measurement device (an antenna measurement device 30 in Fig. 1 or 10 in Fig. 9) comprises:
one or more first components operable to receive and carry an antenna (a vertical component of a probe scanning mechanism 13 configured to receive and carry a probe antenna 12), and
one or more second components (a base component of the probe scanning mechanism 13) operable to manipulate a position of the antenna relative to the DUT arranged in the testing position (The probe scanning mechanism 13 moves the probe antenna 12 in X and Y direction at a predetermined pitch within the measurement plane P. The probe scanning mechanism 13 and the test antenna support portion 31 are controlled by the measurement control unit 32. See [0064] and Fig. 1 and 9), wherein the one or more first components and the one or more second components are operable to facilitate a determination of a beamforming characteristic of the DUT, and the beamforming characteristic comprises at least one of: a lobe main magnitude; a main lobe direction; and a side lobe level (The beam direction detection means 33 performs a scanning so that the probe antenna 12 passes through a portion of the measurement plane P (S2) in a state where the electromagnetic wave radiation plane 1a of the test antenna 1 is directed toward the reference direction (S1), and obtains the direction of a main lobe of the beamforming radiated by the test antenna 1 from information of an amplitude and a phase which are obtained in the scanning (S3). In such a beam direction detection process, in the same manner as a normal directivity calculation process, the function is obtained by an inverse Fourier transformation and a far field directivity is obtained, see [0086]. Also see [0027, 70-71]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the test apparatus of Kato by having the beamforming characteristic comprises a main lobe direction as taught by Kawamura for purpose of providing the device minimizes measurement range and prevents accuracy of measurement from deteriorating. The device obtains high-accuracy directivity regardless of beam direction when directivity is obtained after direction of the test antenna is changed, so that the beam of the test antenna is directed toward the center of the measurement plane in which directivity calculation results are obtained with high degree of accuracy, and amount of change in direction of the antenna is corrected. (see the summary).
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion 16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
3/9/2026