DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
2. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chung et al. (US 2024/0071822 A1), hereinafter as C1, in view of Wojtecki et al. (US 2023/0178370 A1), hereinafter as W1, in view of Schwank et al. (US 2011/0118105 A1), hereinafter as S1
4. Regarding Claim 1, C1 discloses a method of processing a substrate (in particular see Figs. 33-37), comprising:
an exposed surface of a conductive layer (see Fig. 33 exposed surface of conductive layer element 43 within element 32, see [0081] “conductive element 43”) within a via (opening of element 32, see [0078] “opening 32”) formed in a dielectric layer (element 31 see in particular Fig. 27 and [0024] “dielectric feature 31”) formed over the conductive layer (see Fig. 33);
forming a passivation layer (see Fig. 34 element 53, see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”) over the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 34); and
removing the passivation layer (see Fig. 37 and [0077] “removal of the additional blocking layer 53 may be performed using any suitable processes depending on material thereof … thermal degradation may be adopted by applying heat with a temperature greater than about 200° C. and less than about 400° C”).
C1 does not disclose performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer; removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process.
W1 discloses performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 2 cleaning of the exposed surface of the conductive layer element 204 and see [0030] “performing a surface clean on IC 200”, and [0028] “metal material 204 formed in a dielectric layer 202”).
The preclean process as taught by W1 is incorporated as a preclean process of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of W1 with C1 because the combination provides precleaning for a more controlled surface prior to subsequent deposition of SAM formulation which can improve stability and surface conditions (see W1 [0028, 0030, 0034]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of SAM formulation on an exposed conductive layer for another in a similar invention to obtain predictable results (see W1 Fig. 2 and [0028, 0030]).
C1, W1 do not disclose removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process.
S1 discloses heating for removal of material using a microwave assisted process (see [0051] “volumetric microwave heating involves fewer heat transfer limitations. Microwave heating also produces no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods. Furthermore, the carbon/coke phase undergoing reactions are highly susceptible to microwave energy. Thus, the reacting phase is also the phase being preferentially heated (e.g., carbon/coke generally absorbs microwave energy at a higher rate than a catalytic metal (such as nickel), while gases and certain catalytic support materials (such as ceramics) exhibit little to no microwave heating)”).
The type of heating as taught by S1 is incorporated as the type of heating of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with C1 because the combination provides no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods, and can remove undesired carbon and/or sulfur contaminants (see S1 [0049-0050]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of heating for another for removal of material to obtain predictable results (see C1 [0077] and S1 [0050]).
5. Regarding Claim 2, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the microwave assisted process is a non-plasma microwave assisted process (see C1 [0077] and S1 [0050] The microwave is utilized for heating and not for plasma etching, and further see S1 [0042] “Operating pressures commonly are near atmospheric (e.g., 100 kPa to 200 kPa, about 150 kPa), but can be higher (e.g., up to 1000 kPa) to provide a pressure driving force for downstream flow of the products to other unit operations, or can be sub-atmospheric (e.g., 20 kPa to 50 kPa, 70 kPa, or 100 kPa) to allow plasma reaction conditions” Operations can be at near atmospheric pressure or sub atmospheric to allow plasma reactions such that the former can be selected).
6. Regarding Claim 3, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the microwave assisted process comprises delivering a process gas to a processing region of a process chamber and delivering microwave energy to the process gas to excite the process gas (see S1 [0049] “the regeneration gas (e.g., substantially free from hydrocarbons) is then fed to the reactor 120 in conjunction with applied microwave energy”).
7. Regarding Claim 4, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the process gas is a hydrogen containing gas (see S1 [0046] “For sulfur-contaminant removal, the regeneration gas suitably is a reducing gas (e.g., a hydrogen (H2)-containing gas”).
8. Regarding Claim 5, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 1, where in the passivation layer is a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) (see C1 see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”).
9. Regarding Claim 6, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the SAM comprises carbon, hydrogen, or combinations thereof (see C1 [0074] “SAM material may be an organic molecule …. blocking layer 53 may include an inorganic complex with ligands” Which have carbon and/or hydrogen).
10. Regarding Claim 7, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising selectively depositing a barrier layer on inner sidewalls of the via (see C1 Fig. 53 element 62, see [0074] “second liner layer 62”).
11. Regarding Claim 9, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the barrier layer comprises tantalum nitride (TaN) or doped tantalum nitride (TaN), metal doped TaN, titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), or tungsten nitride carbide (WCN) (see C1 [0017] “first barrier layer 41 may include a metal nitride such as tantalum nitride (TaNx), titanium nitride (TiNx), tungsten nitride (WNx)”, [0028] “the second liner layer 62 may be made of a material similar to that of the first liner layer 42”).
12. Regarding Claim 10, C1 discloses a method of processing a substrate (in particular see Figs. 33-37) comprising:
an exposed surface of a conductive layer (see Fig. 33 exposed surface of conductive layer element 43 within element 32, see [0081] “conductive element 43”) within a via opening of element 32, see [0078] “opening 32”) formed in a dielectric layer (element 31 see in particular Fig. 27 and [0024] “dielectric feature 31”) formed over the conductive layer (see Fig. 33);
forming a passivation layer (see Fig. 34 element 53, see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”) over the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 34); and
removing the passivation layer (see Fig. 37 and [0077] “removal of the additional blocking layer 53 may be performed using any suitable processes depending on material thereof … thermal degradation may be adopted by applying heat with a temperature greater than about 200° C. and less than about 400° C”).
C1 does not disclose performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer; removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process, the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas into a processing chamber; and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas, wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber
W1 discloses performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 2 cleaning of the exposed surface of the conductive layer element 204 and see [0030] “performing a surface clean on IC 200”, and [0028] “metal material 204 formed in a dielectric layer 202”).
The preclean process as taught by W1 is incorporated as a preclean process of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of W1 with C1 because the combination provides precleaning for a more controlled surface prior to subsequent deposition of SAM formulation which can improve stability and surface conditions (see W1 [0028, 0030, 0034]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of SAM formulation on an exposed conductive layer for another in a similar invention to obtain predictable results (see W1 Fig. 2 and [0028, 0030]).
C1, W1 do not disclose removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process, the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas into a processing chamber; and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas, wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber
S1 discloses heating for removal of material using a microwave assisted process (see [0051] “volumetric microwave heating involves fewer heat transfer limitations. Microwave heating also produces no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods. Furthermore, the carbon/coke phase undergoing reactions are highly susceptible to microwave energy. Thus, the reacting phase is also the phase being preferentially heated (e.g., carbon/coke generally absorbs microwave energy at a higher rate than a catalytic metal (such as nickel), while gases and certain catalytic support materials (such as ceramics) exhibit little to no microwave heating)”), the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas into a processing chamber (see [0049] “the regeneration gas (e.g., substantially free from hydrocarbons) is then fed to the reactor 120 in conjunction with applied microwave energy”); and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas (see [0049]), wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber (see [0050] The microwave is utilized for heating and not for plasma etching, and further see S1 [0042] “Operating pressures commonly are near atmospheric (e.g., 100 kPa to 200 kPa, about 150 kPa), but can be higher (e.g., up to 1000 kPa) to provide a pressure driving force for downstream flow of the products to other unit operations, or can be sub-atmospheric (e.g., 20 kPa to 50 kPa, 70 kPa, or 100 kPa) to allow plasma reaction conditions” Operations can be at near atmospheric pressure or sub atmospheric to allow plasma reactions such that the former can be selected)).
The type of heating for the removal process as taught by S1 is incorporated as the type of heating for the removal process of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with C1 because the combination provides no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods, and can remove undesired carbon and/or sulfur contaminants (see S1 [0049-0050]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of heating for another for removal of material to obtain predictable results (see C1 [0077] and S1 [0050]).
13. Regarding Claim 11, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the processing gas comprises hydrogen (see S1 [0046] “For sulfur-contaminant removal, the regeneration gas suitably is a reducing gas (e.g., a hydrogen (H2)-containing gas”).
14. Regarding Claim 12, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 10, where in the passivation layer is a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) (see C1 see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”).
15. Regarding Claim 13, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the SAM comprises carbon, hydrogen, or combinations thereof (see C1 [0074] “SAM material may be an organic molecule …. blocking layer 53 may include an inorganic complex with ligands” Which have carbon and/or hydrogen).
16. Regarding Claim 14, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising selectively depositing a barrier layer on inner sidewalls of the via (see C1 Fig. 53 element 62, see [0074] “second liner layer 62”).
17. Regarding Claim 16, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the barrier layer comprises tantalum nitride (TaN) or doped tantalum nitride (TaN), metal doped TaN, titanium nitride (TiN), tungsten nitride (WN), or tungsten nitride carbide (WCN) (see C1 [0017] “first barrier layer 41 may include a metal nitride such as tantalum nitride (TaNx), titanium nitride (TiNx), tungsten nitride (WNx)”, [0028] “the second liner layer 62 may be made of a material similar to that of the first liner layer 42”).
18. Regarding Claim 17, C1 discloses a method of processing a substrate (in particular see Figs. 33-37) comprising:
an exposed surface of a conductive layer (see Fig. 33 exposed surface of conductive layer element 43 within element 32, see [0081] “conductive element 43”) within a via (opening of element 32, see [0078] “opening 32”) formed in a dielectric layer (element 31 see in particular Fig. 27 and [0024] “dielectric feature 31”) formed over the conductive layer (see Fig. 33);
forming a passivation layer (see Fig. 34 element 53, see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”) over the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 34);
forming a barrier layer on sidewalls of the via (Fig. 53 element 62, see [0074] “second liner layer 62”); and
removing the passivation layer (see Fig. 37 and [0077] “removal of the additional blocking layer 53 may be performed using any suitable processes depending on material thereof … thermal degradation may be adopted by applying heat with a temperature greater than about 200° C. and less than about 400° C”).
C1 does not disclose performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer; removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process, the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas that comprises hydrogen into a processing chamber; and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas, wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber.
W1 discloses performing a preclean process to form the exposed surface of the conductive layer (see Fig. 2 cleaning of the exposed surface of the conductive layer element 204 and see [0030] “performing a surface clean on IC 200”, and [0028] “metal material 204 formed in a dielectric layer 202”).
The preclean process as taught by W1 is incorporated as a preclean process of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of W1 with C1 because the combination provides precleaning for a more controlled surface prior to subsequent deposition of SAM formulation which can improve stability and surface conditions (see W1 [0028, 0030, 0034]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of SAM formulation on an exposed conductive layer for another in a similar invention to obtain predictable results (see W1 Fig. 2 and [0028, 0030]).
C1, W1 do not disclose removing the passivation layer using a microwave assisted process, the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas that comprises hydrogen into a processing chamber; and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas, wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber.
S1 discloses heating for removal of material using a microwave assisted process (see [0051] “volumetric microwave heating involves fewer heat transfer limitations. Microwave heating also produces no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods. Furthermore, the carbon/coke phase undergoing reactions are highly susceptible to microwave energy. Thus, the reacting phase is also the phase being preferentially heated (e.g., carbon/coke generally absorbs microwave energy at a higher rate than a catalytic metal (such as nickel), while gases and certain catalytic support materials (such as ceramics) exhibit little to no microwave heating)”); the microwave assisted process comprising: flowing a process gas that comprises hydrogen into a processing chamber (see [0049] “the regeneration gas (e.g., substantially free from hydrocarbons) is then fed to the reactor 120 in conjunction with applied microwave energy”); and delivering microwave energy to the processing gas (see [0049]), wherein delivering the microwave energy to the process gas does not generate a plasma in the processing chamber (see [0050] The microwave is utilized for heating and not for plasma etching, and further see S1 [0042] “Operating pressures commonly are near atmospheric (e.g., 100 kPa to 200 kPa, about 150 kPa), but can be higher (e.g., up to 1000 kPa) to provide a pressure driving force for downstream flow of the products to other unit operations, or can be sub-atmospheric (e.g., 20 kPa to 50 kPa, 70 kPa, or 100 kPa) to allow plasma reaction conditions” Operations can be at near atmospheric pressure or sub atmospheric to allow plasma reactions such that the former can be selected)).
The type of heating as taught by S1 is incorporated as the type of heating of C1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with C1 because the combination provides no combustion products within the reactor and heats the solid rather than the gas phase, and at a much greater rate than is possible under traditional methods, and can remove undesired carbon and/or sulfur contaminants (see S1 [0049-0050]); furthermore, combination is the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known method of heating for another for removal of material to obtain predictable results (see C1 [0077] and S1 [0050]).
19. Regarding Claim 18, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 17, where in the passivation layer is a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) (see C1 see [0074] “blocking layer 53 may include a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) material”).
20. Regarding Claim 19, C1, W1, S1 disclose the method of claim 18, wherein the SAM comprises carbon, hydrogen, or combinations thereof (see C1 [0074] “SAM material may be an organic molecule …. blocking layer 53 may include an inorganic complex with ligands” Which have carbon and/or hydrogen).
Allowable Subject Matter
21. Claims 8, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reason for indicating allowable subject matter:
The prior art made of record, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest at least the claim limitations of:
22. Claim 8, “the microwave energy is delivered at a power between 50 to 200 Watts at a temperature between 100 and 350°C and a flow rate of the processing gas is between 5 and 50 sccm” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
23. Claim 15, “the microwave energy is delivered at a power between 50 to 200 Watts at a temperature between 100 and 350°C and a flow rate of the processing gas is between 5 and 50 sccm” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
24. Claim 20, “the microwave energy is delivered at a power between 50 to 200 Watts at a temperature between 100 and 350°C and a flow rate of the processing gas is between 5 and 50 sccm” – as instantly claimed and in combination with the additionally claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; pertinent prior art(s) and most relevant portion(s) is provided:
US 2021/0202298 (see [0072])
/SAMUEL PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2818