DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bibl et al (US Patent No. 8791474).
With respect to claim 1, Bibl et al discloses: a substrate (where T1 and T2 are formed on,Fig.6C); a pixel electrode disposed on the substrate (142), the pixel electrode having one or more grooves defined therein (Fig.6C); and light emitting elements respectively disposed in the one or more grooves (400).
With respect to claim 2, Bibl et al discloses: a planarization layer (148) disposed between the light emitting elements; and a common electrode (118) disposed on the planarization layer and the light emitting elements (Fig.6C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl et al (US Patent No. 8791474).
With respect to claim 3, Bibl et al does not explicitly disclose wherein a depth of the one or more grooves is in a range of about 10% to about 90% of a thickness of the pixel electrode. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Bibl et al such that a depth of the one or more grooves is in a range of about 10% to about 90% of a thickness of the pixel electrode, in order to have stable enough pixel electrode for holding LEDS.
With respect to claim 4, Bibl et al discloses each of the light emitting elements disposed in the one or more grooves (Fig.6C) includes an active layer (416); and the depth of each of the one or more grooves is greater than a height of the active layer (Fig.6C).
With respect to claim 5, Bibl et al discloses wherein each of the light emitting elements disposed in the one or more grooves includes an active layer (416) disposed within the one or more grooves (Fig.6C).
With respect to claim 6, Bibl et al discloses wherein: each of the one or more grooves has a bottom surface (the horizontal line) and an inclined surface extending from the bottom surface (the side lines intersection the horizontal lines); and an inclined angle formed between the inclined surface of the one or more grooves and the bottom surface of the one or more grooves is in a range of about 90 degrees to about 160 degrees (the angles seem to be more than 90 degrees). However, Bibl et al does not explicitly disclose the bottom surface of the one or more grooves is in a range of about 90 degrees to about 160 degrees. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 9, Bibl et al discloses that the area of the bottom surface of the groove is a lot bigger than the area of the light emitting device, however, it does not explicitly disclose wherein an area of the bottom surface of each of the one or more grooves is in a range of about 110% to about 200% of an area of the light emitting elements disposed within each of the one or more grooves. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the limitations like in the claim 9, in order to cut the cost of the device, and save space.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl et al (US Patent No. 8791474), in view of Bok et al (US Pub No. 20210193769).
With respect to claim 7, Bibl et al does not explicitly disclose wherein a reflective layer is disposed on the inclined surface of the one or more grooves and the bottom surface of the one or more grooves, the reflective layer has a higher reflectivity than a reflectivity of the pixel electrode. On the other hand, Bok et al discloses wherein a reflective layer (1211b) completely covers the top surface of the pixel electrode (1211a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Bibl et al according to the teachings of Bok et al such that a reflective layer is disposed on the inclined surface of the one or more grooves and the bottom surface of the one or more grooves, the reflective layer has a higher reflectivity than a reflectivity of the pixel electrode, in order to have oxidation resistant such as ITO to be used as pixel electrode and using aluminum as light reflecting material, thereby cutting cost and increasing the lifetime of the device.
With respect to claim 8, Bok et al discloses wherein the reflective layer has a reflectivity greater than or equal to about 80% (Para 179, Al).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bibl et al (US Patent No. 8791474), in view of LEE et al (US Pub No. 20220024208).
With respect to claim 10, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose a wavelength conversion part disposed on the common electrode, wherein the wavelength conversion part includes partition walls separating light emitting areas from non-emitting areas; a wavelength conversion layer disposed between the partition walls and overlapping the light emitting areas; a light blocking member disposed on the partition walls; and color filters disposed on the wavelength conversion layer. However, Lee et al discloses a wavelength conversion part (20,Fig.2) disposed on the common electrode (CME), wherein the wavelength conversion part includes partition walls (PTL) separating light emitting areas (TA) from non-emitting areas (BA) ; a wavelength conversion layer (WCL) disposed between the partition walls and overlapping the light emitting areas (Fig.2, this accordance with applicants specification); a light blocking member disposed on the partition walls (BML) ; and color filters disposed on the wavelength conversion layer (CFL). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that color filter regions are formed on wavelength conversion layers in order to produce a white light from different colors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chang et al (US Pub No. 20180158847).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817