Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 6 in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (20240145316), in view of Genetti (20220246408).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a method, comprising:
positioning a substrate (par. 31 teaches two substrates being bonded) and a plurality of dies (par. 33 teaches one of the substrates having stacked dies) over a substrate support of a bonding tool (par. 17 teaches the substrates being bonded via a bonding tool), wherein the plurality of dies are disposed on the substrate (par. 31 teaches the substrates being over each other), and the substrate is surrounded by an edge ring (par. 30 teaches chucks with edge rings);
inflating a membrane (par. 31 teaches an inflatable structures on the chucks which deforms) of the bonding tool disposed above the substrate and the edge ring to expand the membrane downwards (par. 15 teaches the substrates are brought together via inflating the inflatable structure); and
applying a force from the inflating membrane on the plurality of dies via the PEEK layer (par. 15 teaches after inflating the inflatable structures, the wafers are later pressed together to bond).
Wu fails to teach:
a polyetheretherketone (PEEK) layer attached to the membrane rests on the edge ring
Genetti teaches a tool for manufacturing semiconductor wafers wherein the tool has an edge ring for supporting wafers, wherein the edge rings have supporting pads composed of PEEK (par. 76). Genetti teaches that the supporting pads are beneficial because they provide a non-scratch support surface for the edge ring (par. 76), which would be beneficial in the edge ring of Wu, since the chuck scratching the wafer would decrease yield.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time of filing, to utilize aforementioned teachings of the prior art(s) in the primary prior art(s) due to aforementioned reason(s).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches a method of claim 1, wherein the substrate support is attached to a lower tray (par. 31 teaches pin being attached to the bottom inflatable structure) of the bonding tool and the membrane is attached to an upper tray of the bonding tool (par. 31 teaches pin being attached to the up inflatable structure).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 4.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-14 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art fails to teach the temporal ordering of steps mentioned in claim 8.
Claims 15-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art fails to teach the temporal ordering of steps mentioned in claim 8.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818