DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 January 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10 - 12, 14 - 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino et al. (US 2018/0106015; hereinafter Pino ‘015) in view of Kao et al. (US 2011/0293954).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Pino ‘015 discloses a method for applying a tubular body comprising a fiber optic cable (fiber optic cable 502) onto a paved surface (asphalt), the method comprising: preparing a segment of the paved surface (digging a microtrench 11) to receive the tubular body (502), wherein preparing the segment generates debris (spoil 12); combining the debris (12) with an uncured protectant (concrete mixture) to form a mixture; applying the tubular body onto the prepared segment; and applying the mixture onto the tubular body while the tubular body is on the prepared segment of the paved surface (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, and 0076). Pino ‘015 fails to disclose combining a catalyst with the debris and uncured protectant. Kao teaches combining a catalyst with a concrete mixture (paragraphs 0020 and 0037) to increase the strength and durability of the concrete. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the combining step as disclosed by Pino ‘015 to include a catalyst as taught by Kao increase the strength and durability of the concrete mixture.
Regarding claim 2, Pino ‘015further discloses collecting the debris (12) before the combining of the debris with the uncured protectant (concrete mixture) (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0066, 0067, and 0069).
Regarding claim 4, Pino ‘015 further discloses the preparing of the segment of the paved surface comprises cutting a channel (microtrench 11) in the paved surface (asphalt) (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0060, and 0066).
Regarding claim 6, Pino ‘015 further discloses the collecting of the debris (12) comprises vacuuming (using vacuum device 110) the debris (12) (Fig. 4; paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 11, Pino ‘015 further discloses a color (coloring agent is used to match the roadway color) of the mixture is closer to a color of the paved surface than a color of the uncured protectant (concrete mixture) is to the color of the paved surface (paragraphs 0069 and 0071).
Regarding claim 12, Pino ‘015 discloses a method for applying a tubular body (140/502) onto a paved surface (asphalt), the method comprising: preparing a segment of the paved surface (asphalt) to receive the tubular body (140/502), wherein preparing the segment (digging a microtrench 11) generates debris (12); applying the tubular body (140/502) onto the prepared segment of the paved surface in response to preparing the segment of the paved surface; applying uncured protectant (concrete mixture) onto the tubular body; and curing the uncured protectant into a cured protectant while the uncured protectant is on the tubular body on the prepared segment of the paved surface, the cured protectant protectively encasing and adhering the tubular body to the prepared segment of the paved surface (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, and 0076). Pino ‘015 fails to explicitly teach applying the debris onto the uncured protectant; and mixing a catalyst with the uncured protectant. Pino ‘015 teaches mixing debris and an uncured protectant (concrete mixture) (paragraph 0069) and it would have been considered obvious to have applied the debris onto the uncured concrete mixture as opposed to applying the uncured concrete mixture onto the debris as a design consideration within the skill of the art. Kao teaches combining a catalyst with a concrete mixture (paragraphs 0020 and 0037) to increase the strength and durability of the concrete. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the combining step as disclosed by Pino ‘015 to include a catalyst as taught by Kao increase the strength and durability of the concrete mixture.
Regarding claim 14, Pino ‘015 further discloses the preparing of the segment of the paved surface comprises cutting a channel (microtrench 11) in the paved surface (asphalt) (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0060, and 0066).
Regarding claim 15, Pino ‘015 further discloses collecting the debris (12) before the applying of the debris on the uncured protectant (concrete mixture) (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0066, 0067, and 0069).
Regarding claim 16, Pino ‘015 further discloses the collecting of the debris (12) comprises vacuuming (using vacuum device 110) the debris (12) (Fig. 4; paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 18, Pino ‘015 further discloses the tubular body (140/502) is a fiber optic cable (paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 19, Pino ‘015 further discloses a color (coloring agent is used to match the roadway color) of the mixture is closer to a color of the paved surface than a color of the uncured protectant (concrete mixture) is to the color of the paved surface (paragraphs 0069 and 0071).
Claims 3, 5, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Kao et al. as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Turner (US 10,866,380; hereinafter Turner ‘380).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Pino ‘015 in view of Kao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the preparing of the segment of the paved surface comprises smoothing a portion of the paved surface. Turner ‘380 teaches the preparing of the segment of the paved surface (surface 100 comprises asphalt) comprises smoothing (using smoothing apparatus 124) a portion of the paved surface (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 8 - 23; col. 4, lines 27 - 36; col. 6, line 1) to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the filler and the surface. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the step of smoothing a portion of the paved surface as taught by Turner ‘380 to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the mixture and the surface.
Regarding claim 5, Pino ‘015 in view of Kao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except curing the mixture into a cured protectant while the uncured protectant is on the tubular body on the prepared segment of the paved surface, the cured protectant protectively encasing and adhering the tubular body to the prepared segment of the paved surface. Turner ‘380 teaches curing the mixture into a cured protectant while the uncured protectant is on the tubular body (102) on the prepared segment of the paved surface (100), the cured protectant protectively encasing and adhering the tubular body to the prepared segment of the paved surface (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 8 - 38; col. 4, lines 27 - 42; col. 11, lines 28 - 52) to provide a strong adhering bond between the filler and the surface. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the steps of applying the uncured protectant on the tubular body and then curing the protectant as taught by Turner ‘380 to provide a strong adhering bond between the mixture and the surface.
Regarding claim 8, Pino ‘015 in view of Kao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except shaping the mixture after the applying of the mixture onto the tubular body on the prepared segment. Turner ‘380 teaches shaping the mixture (using protectant shaping template 110) after the applying of the mixture onto the tubular body on the prepared segment (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 35 - 57) to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the step of shaping the mixture as taught by Turner ‘380 to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Kao et al. as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Turner (US 10,268,016; hereinafter Turner ‘016). Pino ‘015 in view of Kao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except blowing the prepared segment prior to applying the tubular body to the prepared segment. Turner ‘016 teaches blowing (using blower 124) and/or vacuuming the prepared segment (surface 100) prior to applying the tubular body to the prepared segment (col. 6, lines 64 - 67; col. 8, lines 46 - 49) to remove debris from the surface prior to the installation of the tubular body. The substitution of one known element (blower as taught by Turner ‘016) for another (vacuum device 110 as disclosed by Pino ‘015) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
Claims 20, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380.
The following rejections are made assuming the resin is positively recited in the claim(s).
Regarding claims 20 and 24, Pino ‘015 discloses an apparatus for adhering a tubular body to a paved surface, the apparatus comprising: a main body (microtrencher 2) movable in an advancing direction, the main body possessing a forward end and a read end; a deployment mechanism (reel loader 104, reel holder 120) connected to the main body, the deployment mechanism configured to deploy a tubular body (cable 121/140) onto a surface; a collection mechanism comprising a vacuum (vacuum device 110) connected to the main body, the collection mechanism configured to collect the debris; a mixing container (fill device 200) connected to the main body, the mixing container; and a mixture conduit (outlet 210) connected to the main body, the mixture conduit, the mixture being applied on the surface proximal to where the tubular body is deployed onto the surface in the advancing direction so that the mixture is deployed on top of the tubular body and the surface to protectively adhere the tubular body to the surface (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, and 0076). Pino ‘015 fails to disclose a smoothing apparatus connected to the main body, the smoothing apparatus configured to contact the paved surface at a smoothing contact point to smooth a segment of the paved surface when the apparatus moves in the advancing direction, wherein debris is generated from smoothing a segment of the paved surface. Turner ‘380 teaches a smoothing apparatus (124) connected to the main body (chassis 126), the smoothing apparatus configured to contact the paved surface at a smoothing contact point to smooth a segment of the paved surface when the apparatus moves in the advancing direction (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 8 - 23; col. 4, lines 27 - 36; col. 6, line 1) to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the filler and the surface. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed by Pino ‘015 with the step of smoothing a portion of the paved surface as taught by Turner ‘380 to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the mixture and the surface. Although Turner ‘380 fails to explicitly teach debris is generated from smoothing a segment of the paved surface, Examiner takes the position that a smoothing device that is used to remove irregularities from a surface will obviously generate debris when smoothing a segment of the paved surface.
Regarding claim 21, Pino ‘015 further discloses a debris container (first container 104) connected to the main body (2) , the debris container configured to selectively receive debris from the collection mechanism and expel the debris to the mixing container (200) while maintaining a vacuum (using vacuum device 110) in the collection mechanism (Fig. 4; paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 25, Pino ‘015 discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a shaping template comprising an opening and being positioned to contact the surface when the main body moves in the advancing direction. Turner ‘380 teaches a shaping template (110) comprising an opening and being positioned to contact the surface when the main body (126) moves in the advancing direction (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 35 - 57) to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the shaping template as taught by Turner ‘380 to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape.
Claims 20, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380, Kao et al., and Pino et al. (US 2019/0086002; hereinafter Pino ‘002).
The following rejections are made assuming the resin is positively recited in the claim(s).
Regarding claims 20 and 24, Pino ‘015 discloses an apparatus for adhering a tubular body to a paved surface, the apparatus comprising: a main body (microtrencher 2) movable in an advancing direction, the main body possessing a forward end and a read end; a deployment mechanism (reel loader 104, reel holder 120) connected to the main body, the deployment mechanism configured to deploy a tubular body (cable 121/140) onto a surface; a collection mechanism comprising a vacuum (vacuum device 110) connected to the main body, the collection mechanism configured to collect the debris; a mixing container (fill device 200) connected to the main body, the mixing container configured to receive the debris and an uncured protectant, the mixture being uncured when received in the mixing container; and a mixture conduit (outlet 210) connected to the main body, the mixture conduit configured to apply the mixture of the mixing container on the surface, the mixture being applied on the surface proximal to where the tubular body is deployed onto the surface in the advancing direction so that the mixture is deployed on top of the tubular body and the surface to protectively adhere the tubular body to the surface (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraphs 0056, 0059, 0065, 0066, 0069, and 0076). Pino ‘015 fails to disclose a smoothing apparatus connected to the main body, the smoothing apparatus configured to contact the paved surface at a smoothing contact point to smooth a segment of the paved surface when the apparatus moves in the advancing direction, wherein debris is generated from smoothing a segment of the paved surface; and the protectant comprises a catalyst and a resin. Turner ‘380 teaches a smoothing apparatus (124) connected to the main body (chassis 126), the smoothing apparatus configured to contact the paved surface at a smoothing contact point to smooth a segment of the paved surface when the apparatus moves in the advancing direction (Fig. 1; col. 3, lines 8 - 23; col. 4, lines 27 - 36; col. 6, line 1) to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the filler and the surface. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed by Pino ‘015 with the step of smoothing a portion of the paved surface as taught by Turner ‘380 to allow the tubular body to be installed with greater precision and to provide a stronger adhering bond between the mixture and the surface. Although Turner ‘380 fails to explicitly teach debris is generated from smoothing a segment of the paved surface, Examiner takes the position that a smoothing device that is used to remove irregularities from a surface will obviously generate debris when smoothing a segment of the paved surface. Turner ‘380 fails to teach a protectant comprises a catalyst and a resin. Kao teaches combining a catalyst with a protectant (concrete mixture) (paragraphs 0020 and 0037) to increase the strength and durability of the concrete. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the protectant as disclosed above to include a catalyst as taught by Kao increase the strength and durability of the concrete mixture. Kao fails to teach the protectant comprises a resin. Pino ‘002 teaches a protectant comprising a resin, debris (spoil 12), and a concrete mixture (paragraph 0056). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the mixture as disclosed above with the resin as taught by Pino ‘002 to increase the strength of the bond between the fill and the surface.
Regarding claim 21, Pino ‘015 further discloses a debris container (first container 104) connected to the main body (2) , the debris container configured to selectively receive debris from the collection mechanism and expel the debris to the mixing container (200) while maintaining a vacuum (using vacuum device 110) in the collection mechanism (Fig. 4; paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 25, Pino ‘015 discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a shaping template comprising an opening and being positioned to contact the surface when the main body moves in the advancing direction. Turner ‘380 teaches a shaping template (110) comprising an opening and being positioned to contact the surface when the main body (126) moves in the advancing direction (Fig. 1; col. 6, lines 35 - 57) to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the apparatus as disclosed above with the shaping template as taught by Turner ‘380 to shape the unshaped protectant into a shaped protectant having a predetermined shape.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380 as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Turner ‘016. Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380 discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a blowing apparatus connected to the main body, the blowing apparatus configured to blow debris from an area smoothed by the smoothing apparatus prior to deployment of the tubular body. Turner ‘016 teaches a blowing apparatus (124) connected to the main body (126), the blowing apparatus configured to blow debris from an area smoothed by the smoothing apparatus prior to deployment of the tubular body (col. 6, lines 64 - 67; col. 8, lines 46 - 49) to remove debris from the surface prior to the installation of the tubular body. The substitution of one known element (blower as taught by Turner ‘016) for another (vacuum device 110 as disclosed by Pino ‘015) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380, Kao et al., and Pino ‘002 as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Turner ‘016. Pino ‘015 in view of Turner ‘380, Kao and Pino ‘002 discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a blowing apparatus connected to the main body, the blowing apparatus configured to blow debris from an area smoothed by the smoothing apparatus prior to deployment of the tubular body. Turner ‘016 teaches a blowing apparatus (124) connected to the main body (126), the blowing apparatus configured to blow debris from an area smoothed by the smoothing apparatus prior to deployment of the tubular body (col. 6, lines 64 - 67; col. 8, lines 46 - 49) to remove debris from the surface prior to the installation of the tubular body. The substitution of one known element (blower as taught by Turner ‘016) for another (vacuum device 110 as disclosed by Pino ‘015) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 8, 10 - 21, and 23 - 25 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
2/11/2026