DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(5) because Figures 1A, 1B, 1C and 1D show(s) modified forms of construction in the same view. Taking for example Figure 1A, it appears to be illustrating both a side profile and top down view, but it’s not clear because half of the drawing elements are not labeled and each of the views are connected to each other (see below Figure 1A marked up as an example, the same issues apply to the other Figures as mentioned)
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of active channels stacked to each other” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is unclear how element 111/121/131/141, specified as the active channel layers in the specification, is stacked to each other based on the drawings, see additional drawing objection above, regardless element 111 isn’t stacked “to each other” in the figures, and since this is claimed, it must be shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims, 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 8 and 18 recite the limitation “a plurality of active channels stacked to each other”. These elements are referred to as 111/121/131/141 in the specification, however the drawings do not illustrate a stacked orientation, as elements 111/121/131/141 as shown in Figures 1A/1B/1C/1D respectively have these layers adjacent to each other (this is based on the specification [0021] teaching that element “SP” is a spacer on element 112. It appears that the drawings are showing two different views of the same thing, with the one view being top down, which makes the channels adjacent, not stacked, on each other, see objection to drawings above). Stacking implies a top/bottom orientation, not a side by side orientation. The specification mentions a stacked orientation, but the drawings teach an adjacent orientation or are completely absent the language found in the specification depending upon ones argument.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: stacked channels, as the drawings do not illustrate that the channels are stacked, but rather adjacent with an intervening adjacent structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al US 2018/0261677.
Pertaining to claim 1, lee teaches a transistor, comprising:
a plurality of active channels 110 See elements 110/210 and Figures 16 (top down) 17 (one profile) and 18 (the other profile) stacked to each other (see drawing and 112 rejections above, interpreting this to mean adjacent not stacked as this is what appears to be illustrated in the Applicant’s figures); and
a metal gate 120/220 formed on the active channels 110/210, wherein the metal gate comprises:
a plurality of P-metal layers 121/122 221/222; and
a N-metal layer 128 [0069] stacked on the P-metal layers.
Note that the applicant’s specification describes P-metal as titanium nitride and an n-metal as consisting of any of the TAL metals, which includes metals taught by Lee [0069] such as copper.
Pertaining to claim 2, Lee teaches the transistor as claimed in claim 1, wherein each of the P-metal layers is formed of TiN. Elements 121/122 221/222 are TiN [0135]
Pertaining to claims 8 and 18, Lee teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a first transistor , comprising:
a plurality of first active channels 110 stacked to each other see objections and 112 rejections above; and
a first metal gate 120 formed on the first active channels, wherein the first metal gate comprises:
a plurality of first P-metal layers 121/122; and
a first N-metal layer 128 stacked to the first P-metal layers;
a second transistor, comprising:
a plurality of second active channels 210 stacked to each other see objections and 112 rejections above; and
a second metal gate 220 formed on the second active channels 210, wherein the second metal gate comprises a second N-metal layer 228.
Note: With specific respect to claim 18, Lee teaches pluralities of transistors in paragraph [0123].
Claims 2-7, 9-17, 19 and 20 have not been rejected over the prior art because, in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections supra, there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of the claims; hence, it would not be proper to reject the claims on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817