DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 & 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20120007057 ) in view of Im et al. (US 20070257253).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses that a display device comprising:
a substrate 110 comprising an emission area 150 and a non-emission area (Fig. 13);
a via layer 115 disposed on the substrate and comprising a recess toward the substrate 110;
a pixel-defining layer 114 overlapping the non-emission area and disposed on the via layer 115 (Fig. 1);
a first bank layer 130 disposed on the pixel-defining layer 114 and defining a first opening 151 (Fig. 1);
a second bank layer 140 disposed on the first bank layer and comprising a tip protruding toward the first opening from a side surface of the first bank layer (Fig. 1);
a first emissive layer 150 disposed on the first pixel electrode 120 in the first opening; and
a first common electrode 160 disposed on the first emissive layer 150 in the first opening and in contact with the first bank layer 130, wherein the side surface of the first bank layer and the tip of the second bank layer overlap the recess of the via layer (Fig. 1).
Choi fails to teach that a first pixel electrode overlapping the recess of the via layer and disposed on the substrate and a first emissive layer disposed on the first pixel electrode.
However, Im suggests that a first pixel electrode 380b overlapping the recess of the via layer 380b and disposed on the substrate 300 and a first emissive layer 381 disposed on the first pixel electrode 380b (Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Choi with a first pixel electrode overlapping the recess of the via layer and disposed on the substrate and a first emissive layer disposed on the first pixel electrode as taught by Im in order to reduce thermal damage, improving transfer efficiency (para. 0054) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 2, Choi & Im disclose that a first portion of the via layer 115 has a first thickness and overlaps the recess;
a second portion of the via layer has a second thickness and does not overlap the recess 120; and
the first thickness is different from the second thickness (Choi, Fig. 1, Im Fig. 4, note: a shape of via).
Reclaim 3, Choi & Im disclose that the first thickness is smaller than the second thickness (Choi, Fig. 1, Im Fig. 4, note: a shape of via).
Reclaim 4, Choi & Im disclose that the first opening overlaps the recess of the via layer (Choi, Fig. 1, Im Fig. 4).
Reclaim 5, Choi & Im disclose that a width of the first opening in a direction parallel to the substrate is smaller than a width of the recess of the via layer 115 & 120 (Choi, Fig. 1).
Reclaim 6, Choi & Im disclose that the via layer further comprises an inclined surface (a vertical portion of an element 120) overlapping the non-emission area and not overlapping the recess (Choi, Fig. 1).
Reclaim 7, Choi & Im disclose that the first pixel electrode 380b is in contact with the inclined surface (Choi Fig. 1 in view of Im’s Fig. 4)
Reclaim 8, Choi & Im disclose that the pixel-defining layer 376 is spaced apart from the first pixel electrode 380b in a direction perpendicular to the substrate in the recess of the via layer (Fig. 8, Im).
Reclaim 13, Choi & Im disclose that a subsidiary via layer 124c or 160b (Im, Fig. 1) disposed between the substrate and the via layer, wherein a surface of the subsidiary via layer overlaps the recess of the via layer and is exposed by the recess, and wherein the exposed surface of the subsidiary via layer is in contact with the first pixel electrode (Fig. 1, Choi).
Reclaim 14, Choi & Im disclose that the via layer comprises: a first surface facing the subsidiary via layer; a second surface opposed to the first surface; and an inclined surface connecting the first surface with the second surface (Fig. 1, Choi in view of Im’s Fig. 4).
Reclaim 15, Choi & Im disclose that a width of the first surface is greater than a width of the second surface, and wherein an angle formed by the first surface and the inclined surface is an acute angle (Fig. 1, Choi in view of Im’s Fig. 4).
Reclaim 16, Choi & Im disclose that the via layer and the subsidiary via layer comprise a same material (Fig. 1, Choi in view of Im’s Fig. 4).
Reclaim 17, Choi & Im disclose that the via layer and the subsidiary via layer comprise different materials (Fig. 1, Choi in view of Im’s Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20120007057) in view of Im et al. (US 20070257253) and further in view of Park et al. (US 20170005149).
Regarding claim 18, Choi & Im disclose that a display device comprising:
a substrate 110 comprising an emission area and a non- emission area (Fig. 1); a
via layer 115 disposed on the substrate and comprising a recess toward the substrate;
a pixel-defining layer 114 overlapping the non-emission area, disposed on the via layer and defining a first opening 115;
a first bank layer 130 overlapping the non-emission area and disposed on the pixel- defining layer;
a second bank layer 140 disposed on the first bank layer and comprising a tip protruding toward the first opening from a side surface of the first bank layer (Choi, Fig. 1);
a first pixel electrode 380b disposed on the via layer 380a in the recess of the via layer (Fig. 4, Im);
a first emissive layer 150 disposed on the first pixel electrode in the first opening (Choi, Fig. 1 in view of Im’s Fig. 4); and
a first common electrode 160 disposed on the first emissive layer in the first opening and in contact with the first bank layer 130.
Choi & Im fails to teach that the first opening overlaps the recess of the via layer.
Park suggests that the first opening overlaps the recess of the via layer (Fig. 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Choi & Im with the first opening overlaps the recess of the via layer as taught by Park in order to light emission efficiency and lifetime of an organic light emitting diode (para. 0084) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 19, Choi, Im , & Park disclose that a width of the first opening is smaller than a width of the recess of the via layer (Im, Fig. 4).
Reclaim 20, Choi, Im , & Park disclose that a side surface of the pixel-defining layer 370 facing the first opening is located in the recess of the via layer, and the side surface of the pixel-defining layer overlaps the via layer in a direction parallel to the substrate (Fig. 4. Im).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s argument , filed on 8/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Choi et al. (US 20120007057) in view of Im et al. (US 20070257253) and further in view of Park et al. (US 20170005149).
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899