Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 2026-02-27 is acknowledged. Applicant’s arguments that the restriction is improper are persuasive and the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. Para [0032] of the instant specification refers to Figure 1A and 1B as a probing device of the conventional art. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 7 and 8, these claims state “…the conductive structure of stationary probe…” in lines 4 and 5 respectively. The examiner will interpret this to read -- the conductive structure of the stationary probe --.
Additionally, Regarding Claim 8, this claim states “the second movable further comprises…” in line 2. The examiner will interpret this to read – the second movable probe further comprises--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, and 18-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 5 and 21, these claims states “one end part of the metal block… is the needle tip” in lines 2 and 3-4 respectively. It is unclear how the metal block can be the needle tip as the metal block seems to be initiated as a separate and distinct component from the needle tip and Fig 5A of the instant specification shows them as separate parts of the probe. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret this limitation in accordance with Figure 5A where the metal block and needle tip are in electrical communication with each other.
Regarding Claim 18, this claim states “a pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe through a translation movement” in lines 3-4. It is unclear how to precisely interpret the meaning of this statement. The statement seems to indicate something should happen to the pitch between the movable probe and stationary probe when a translation movement happens but does not indicate what that should be. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret this such that any art that changes a pitch between two probes when one move is sufficient to read on the claim.
Regarding Claims 19-22, These claims stand rejected for incorporating and reciting the above rejected subject matter of their respective parent claim(s) and therefore stand rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US-20210102992-A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Cheng teaches a stationary probe of a position-adjustable probing device, in which the position-adjustable probing device comprises a movable probe for adjusting a pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe through a translation movement (Figs 12-15: first movable probe, 30), the movable probe further comprises a needle core extending along a central axis (Figs 12-15: needle, 31), and an extending structure protruding toward one specific direction from the needle core (Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 32),
wherein the stationary probe further comprises: a stationary probe, comprising a first coaxial structure comprising a first needle core extending along a first central axis (Fig 11: core, 231), and a first dielectric layer (Fig 11: insulating layer, 232) and a first exterior conductive layer (Fig 11: conductive layer, 233), both coaxially surrounded the first needle core (Para [0040]), wherein the first exterior conductive layer is configured to electrically contacted with the extending structure of the movable probe (Can be seen in Fig 14, the conductive layer 233, is electrically connected through the replaceable conductor 222).
Regarding Claim 15, Cheng teaches the stationary probe of claim 14, wherein after the pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe is adjusted through the translation movement, the first exterior conductive layer is electrically contacted with the extending structure of the movable probe (Para [0045] teaches the movable probe moves to a position where contact between the movable probe and the replaceable conductor, 222, occurs).
Regarding Claim 16, Cheng teaches the stationary probe of claim 14, further comprising a holding part arranged on the first exterior conductive layer so as to electrically connected to the first exterior conductive layer (Fig 11: conductive frame, 22),
wherein the holding part further comprises a sloping surface, a top end part and a bottom end part (Can be seen in Annotated Fig 11 of Cheng), the sloping surface is arranged between the top end part and bottom end part, the sloping surface is utilized to contact with the extending structure of the movable probe after a pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe is adjusted through the translation movement (Can be seen in Fig 14), one end of the first needle core is a needle tip (Fig 11: contact end, 231), the bottom part is closer to the needle tip than the top part, a first distance on the bottom end part is defined from the first exterior conductive layer to the sloping surface, and a second distance on the top end part is defined from the first exterior conductive layer to the sloping surface, wherein the second distance is larger than the first distance (Can be seen in Fig 11).
Regarding Claim 17, Cheng teaches the stationary probe of claim 16, further comprising a conductive structure arranged on the sloping surface (Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 222) wherein the conductive structure is a cylindrical rod-like conductor structure (Can be seen in Fig 14).
Annotated Figure 11 of Cheng
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Swart (US-6051978-A).
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng teaches a stationary probe (Figs 10-20: fixed probe, 20), comprising a first coaxial structure comprising a first needle core (Fig 11: core, 231) extending along a first central axis (Can be seen in the Fig 11), and a first dielectric layer (Fig 11: insulating layer, 232) and a first exterior conductive layer (Fig 11: conductive layer, 233), both coaxially surrounded the first needle core (Para [0040]), wherein the first coaxial structure comprises a first side and a second side relative to the first central axis (First and Second sides relative to the X-axis);
a first movable probe, arranged at the first side of the stationary probe (Figs 12-15: first movable probe, 30), the first movable probe further comprising a ground needle core (Figs 12-15: pinpoint portion, 312) extending along a second central axis (can be seen in Fig 13), and
a first extending structure (Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 32), coupled to the ground needle core (Fig 14 shows conductor, 32, coupled to the pinpoint portion, 312, through the metal needle, 31), protruding toward one specific direction from the ground needle core (Can be seen in Figure 14),
wherein the first extending structure further comprises a first structure, a first top surface and a first bottom surface (Can be seen in Annotated Fig 15 of Cheng), the first structure is formed between the first top surface and the first bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 15), one end of the ground needle core is a needle tip (Fig 15: contact end, 313), the first bottom surface is closer to the needle tip of the ground needle core than the first top surface (Can be seen in Fig 15), a first included angle is formed between the needle tip of the ground needle core and the first bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 15), and
the first structure electrically contacts with the stationary probe through a first translation movement of the first movable probe (Fig 14 shows contact between the fixed probe, 20, and the replaceable conductor, 32); and
a second movable probe (Figs 16-19: second movable probe, 40), arranged at the second side of the stationary probe (Can be seen in Fig 17), comprising a second coaxial structure, and a second extending structure (Fig 18: replaceable conductor, 45), the second coaxial structure comprising a second needle core extending along a third central axis (Fig 19: core, 431), and a second dielectric layer (Fig 19, insulating layer, 432), and a second exterior conductive layer (Fig 19: conductive layer, 433), both coaxially surrounded the second needle core (Para [0043]), the second extending structure, coupled to the second exterior conductive layer (Can be seen in Fig 18 and taught in Para [0043]), protruding toward one specific direction from the second needle core (Can be seen in Fig 18),
wherein the second extending structure further comprises a second structure, a second top surface and a second bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 18, Similar to the first surfaces indicated in Fig 15), the second structure is formed between the second top surface and the second bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 18), one end of the second needle core is a needle tip (Fig 16: contact end, 431a), the second bottom surface is closer to the needle tip of the second needle core than the second top surface (Can be seen in Fig 18), a second included angle is formed between the needle tip of the second needle core and the second bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 18), and
the second structure electrically contacts with the stationary probe through a second translation movement of the second movable probe (Para [0047] teaches the movable probe moves to a position where contact between the movable probe and the replaceable conductor, 222, occurs, Fig 18).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the extending structures are planar structures. However, Swart teaches extending structures may be planar (Fig 6 shows a ground shield extender, 92, which would be a planar shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second extending structures of Cheng to be planar as taught in Swart. A motivation for this modification is to provide a large surface to make it easier to make contact.
Annotated Figure 15 of Cheng
Regarding Claim 2, Cheng further teaches wherein another end of the second needle core along the third central axis is a needle tail (located on same end of needle as the coaxial connector, 42, see Fig 16), and the second extending structure arranged on the second coaxial structure comprises a boundary surface (Fig 18, Vertical surface in contact with the movable probe, 40), wherein a distance defined from the boundary surface to the needle tip of the second needle core is smaller than a distance defined from the boundary surface to the needle tail of the second needle core (Can be seen in Fig 18).
Regarding Claim 4, Cheng further teaches wherein the first movable probe further comprises a metal block (Fig 13: needle, 31) electrically connected to the ground needle core (Para [0042] teaches the needle, 31, is made of metal and comprises the pinpoint portion, 312), and one lateral side of the metal block is protruded out of the first extending structure (Can be seen in Fig 14).
Regarding Claim 5, Cheng further teaches wherein on the second central axis of the ground needle core, one end part of the metal block is the needle tip of the ground needle core (Can be seen in Fig 14-15), the metal block further comprises a partial tapered structure formed between another end part of the metal block and the needle tip of the ground needle core (Can be seen in Fig 13), and the first extending structure is protruded out from one lateral side of the partial tapered structure (Can be seen in Fig 14).
Regarding Claim 6, Cheng further teaches wherein the stationary probe further comprises a holding part arranged on the first exterior conductive layer for electrically connecting to the first exterior conductive layer (Fig 11: conductive frame, 22), the holding part further comprising a sloping surface, an top end part and a bottom end part (Can be seen in Annotated Fig 11 of Cheng),
wherein the sloping surface is arranged between the top end part and bottom end part, one end of the first needle core is a needle tip (Fig 11: contact end, 231), the bottom end part is closer to the needle tip of the first needle core than the top end part, a first distance on the bottom end part is defined from the first exterior conductive layer to the sloping surface, and a second distance on the top end part is defined from the first exterior conductive layer to the sloping surface, wherein the second distance is larger than the first distance (Can be seen in Fig 11).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 6, teaches wherein the stationary probe further comprises a conductive structure arranged on the sloping surface (Cheng - Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 222), the first movable probe further comprises a first conductive structure arranged on the first planar structure (Swart - Fig 6 shows a conductive structure (Spring probe, 96) arranged on a planar structure (shield extender bracket, 92)), and the conductive structure of stationary probe is in electrical point contact with the first conductive structure when the conductive structure is electrically contacted with the first conductive structure (Swart - col 4 lns 4-14 teach the spring probe, 96, is in contact with the conductive structure of the ground spring, 90, on the other probe, 36). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 6, teaches wherein the stationary probe further comprises a conductive structure (Cheng - Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 222), the second movable further comprises a second conductive structure (Swart - Fig 6 shows a conductive structure (Spring probe, 96) arranged on a planar structure (shield extender bracket, 92)), the conductive structure is arranged on the sloping surface (Cheng - Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 222), the second conductive structure is arranged on the second planar structure, and the conductive structure of stationary probe is in electrical point contact with the second conductive structure when the conductive structure is electrically contacted with the second conductive structure (Swart - col 4 lns 4-14 teach the spring probe, 96, is in contact with the conductive structure of the ground spring, 90, on the other probe, 36). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 9, Cheng further teaches wherein the conductive structure is a cylindrical rod-like conductor (Can be seen in Fig 14).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 7, teaches wherein the first conductive structure is a cylindrical rod-like conductor structure (Swart - The conductive structure is a spring probe and is therefore cylindrical) or has a plurality of ball-like protrusions formed by linear arrangement. These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 8, teaches wherein the second conductive structure is a cylindrical rod-like conductor structure (Swart - The conductive structure is a spring probe and is therefore cylindrical) or has a plurality of ball-like protrusions formed by linear arrangement. These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 18, Cheng teaches A movable probe of a position-adjustable probing device, in which the position-adjustable probing device comprises a stationary probe arranged at a stationary position (Figs 10-20: fixed probe, 20), a pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe through a translation movement Para [0045] teaches the movable probe moves, therefore adjusting the pitch), and
the stationary probe further comprises a coaxial structure having a first needle core (Fig 11: core, 231) extending from a first central axis (Can be seen in the Fig 11), and a first dielectric layer (Fig 11: insulating layer, 232) and a first exterior conductive layer (Fig 11: conductive layer, 233), both coaxially surrounded the first needle core (Para [0040]),
wherein the movable probe further comprises:
a needle core extending from a central axis (Figs 12-15: needle, 31), and a extending structure protruding toward one specific direction from the needle core (Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 32), the extending structure further comprising a structure, a top surface and a bottom surface, wherein the structure is arranged between the top surface and the bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 14, Refer to the annotated Fig 15 of Cheng), one end of the needle core is a needle tip (Fig 15: contact end, 313), the bottom surface is closer to the needle tip of the needle core than the top surface (Can be seen in Fig 15), an included angle is formed between the needle tip of the needle core and the bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 15), and the extending structure is utilized to electrically contact with the first exterior conductive layer (Can be seen in Fig 15).
Cheng does not explicitly teach the extending structures are planar structures. However, Swart teaches extending structures may be planar (Fig 6 shows a ground shield extender, 92, which would be a planar shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the first and second extending structures of Cheng to be planar as taught in Swart. A motivation for this modification is to provide a large surface to make it easier to make contact.
Regarding Claim 19, Cheng further teaches wherein after the pitch between the movable probe and the stationary probe is adjusted by the movable probe through the translation movement, the extending structure is electrically contacted with the first exterior conductive layer (Para [0045] with reference to Fig 15 teaches the movable probe moves to a position where contact between the movable probe and the replaceable conductor, 222, occurs).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 18, teaches a first movable probe comprising a ground needle core extending from a second central axis of the first movable probe (Cheng - Figs 12-15: pinpoint portion, 312), and first extending structure (Cheng - Fig 14: replaceable conductor, 32), in which the needle core of the movable probe is the ground needle core (Cheng - Para [0042] teaches the needle, 31, and replaceable conductor, 32, collectively compose a ground unit, 33, the pinpoint portion, 312, being a part of the needle, 31), the extending structure of the movable probe is the first extending structure coupled to the ground needle core (Cheng - Fig 14 shows conductor, 32, coupled to the pinpoint portion, 312, through the metal needle, 31), and the first extending structure is moved to electrically contact with the first exterior conductive layer after the pitch between first movable probe and the stationary probe is adjusted by the first movable probe through the translation movement (Cheng - Para [0045] teaches the movable probe moves to a position where contact between the movable probe and the replaceable conductor, 222, occurs), wherein the first extending structure further comprises a first planar structure (Swart teaches a planar structure in Fig 6 which shows a ground shield extender, 92, which would be a planar shape), a first top surface, and a first bottom surface (Cheng - Can be seen in Annotated Fig 15 of Cheng), the planar structure is the first planar structure, the top surface is the first top surface, the bottom surface is the first bottom surface, a first included angle is formed between the needle tip of the ground needle core and the first bottom surface, and the included angle is the first included angle (Cheng - Can be seen in Fig 15). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 21, Cheng further teaches wherein the first movable probe comprises a metal block (Fig 13: needle, 31) electrically connected to the ground needle core (Para [0042] teaches the needle, 31, is made of metal and comprises the pinpoint portion, 312), one end part of the metal block on the second central axis of the ground needle core is the needle tip of the ground needle core (Can be seen in Fig 14-15), the metal block further comprises a partial tapered structure arranged between the another end part of the metal block and the needle tip of the ground needle core (Can be seen in Fig 13), and the first extending structure is protruded from one lateral side of the partial tapered structure (Can be seen in Fig 14).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart, as presented with respect to claim 18, teaches wherein the movable probe further comprises a second movable probe (Figs 16-19: second movable probe, 40) comprising a second coaxial structure having a second needle core extending along a third central axis (Fig 19: core, 431), and a second dielectric layer (Fig 19, insulating layer, 432) and a second exterior conductive layer (Fig 19: conductive layer, 433), both coaxially surrounded the second needle core (Para [0043]), and
a second extending structure (Fig 19: conductive layer, 433), the needle core of the movable probe is the second needle core, the extending structure of the movable probe is the second extending structure, the second extending structure is configured to be moved to electrically contact with the first exterior conductive layer after the pitch between the second movable probe and the stationary probe is adjusted by the second movable probe through the translation movement (Para [0047] teaches the movable probe moves to a position where contact between the movable probe and the replaceable conductor, 222, occurs, Fig 18), the second extending structure is coupled to the second exterior layer (Can be seen in Fig 18 and taught in Para [0043]), the second extending structure comprises a second planar structure (Swart teaches a planar structure in Fig 6 which shows a ground shield extender, 92, which would be a planar shape), a second top surface, and the second bottom surface, the planar structure is the second planar structure, the top surface is the second top surface, the bottom surface is the second bottom surface (Can be seen in Fig 18, Similar to the first surfaces indicated in Fig 15), a second included angle is defined between the needle tip of the second needle core and the second bottom surface, and the included angle is the second included angle (Can be seen in Fig 18). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Swart in view of Yang (US-6734689-B1).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart does not teach wherein the second movable probe further comprises a second isolation casing enclosing the second exterior conductive layer, wherein the second isolation casing comprises a partial tapered structure formed between the needle tip of the second needle core and the needle tail of the second needle core, and the second extending structure is arranged between the partial tapered structure and the needle tip of the second needle core. However, Yang teaches wherein the second movable probe further comprises a second isolation casing enclosing the second exterior conductive layer (Fig 5: housing members, 82/84), wherein the second isolation casing comprises a partial tapered structure formed between the needle tip of the second needle core and the needle tail of the second needle core (Taper can be seen in Fig 5, starting near the needle tip and stopping before the end of the probe), and the second extending structure is arranged between the partial tapered structure and the needle tip of the second needle core (the combination of the probe of the combination and the probe of Yang, would place the extending structure between the partial tapered structure and the needle tip). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the probe of the combination to incorporate the housing of Yang. A motivation for this modification is that housings may provide protection.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Swart in view of Mokhberdoran et al. (See attached NPL for references cited).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart does not teach wherein the stationary probe further comprises a first isolation casing for enclosing the first exterior conductive layer, and the second movable probe comprises a second isolation casing for enclosing the second exterior conductive layer. However, Mokhberdoran teaches a first isolation casing for enclosing the first exterior conductive layer (Fig 15 shows a cross section of a coax cable with multiple insulation layers around a conductive layer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the coaxial structure of the combination to include the isolation casing of Mokhberdoran. A motivation for this modification is to provide for more protection of the exterior conductor.
The combination of Cheng in view of Swart in view of Mokhberdoran does not explicitly teach a second isolation casing for enclosing the second exterior conductive layer. However, it has been held that the duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have provided a duplication of the first isolation casing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the second isolation casing would perform in a similar manner to the first isolation casing and therefore the result of the duplication would be predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. A motivation to duplicate is when multiple connections are being made.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Cheng in view of Swart in view of Mokhberdoran, as presented with respect to claim 12, teaches wherein a first reinforcement structure is formed between the first exterior conductive layer and the first isolation casing (Mokhberdoran - Fig 15 shows an armor layer between the SC layer 2 and the insulator 3 layer), and a second reinforcement structure is formed between the second isolation casing and the second exterior conductive layer (Taught in the duplication presented in Claim 12). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858