DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liou et al. (US 9899267) in view of Tung (US 20180211960).
Regarding claim 1, Liou discloses that a semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor fin 10F (Fig. 5) extending along a first direction above a substrate 10;
a gate structure 30 (Fig. 5-6) extending across the semiconductor fin 10F along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (a vertical direction is a first direction and a horizontal direction is a second direction in Fig. 5, which is a perpendicular to each other); and
a dielectric isolation plug 61(60) extending downwardly from a top surface of a fin into a bottom of the fin (Fig. 8-13).
Liou fails to specify that the semiconductor fin comprising a silicon germanium layer and a silicon layer over the silicon germanium layer.
However, Tung suggests that that the semiconductor fin comprising a silicon germanium layer and a silicon layer over the silicon germanium layer (Fig. 5, para. 0023, note: a top portion 34 can be a silicon and a bottom portion 34 can be a SiGe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Liou with the semiconductor fin comprising a silicon germanium layer and a silicon layer over the silicon germanium layer as taught by Tung in order to enhance a variation of semiconductor Fin materials and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 2, Liou & Tung disclose that the dielectric isolation plug further extends downwardly to a bottom surface of the silicon germanium layer 36 (Tung, para. 0023, a SiGe).
Reclaim 3, Liou & Tung disclose that the dielectric isolation plug 60 has a width decreasing as a distance from the substrate decreases when viewed in a cross section taken along the first direction (Liou, Fig. 8-13).
Reclaim 4, Liou & Tung disclose that when viewed in a cross section taken along the first direction, a maximum width of a portion of the dielectric isolation plug in the silicon layer is greater than a maximum width of a portion of the dielectric isolation plug in the silicon germanium layer (Liou, Fig. 8-13).
Reclaim 5, Liou & Tung disclose that when viewed in a cross section taken along the second direction, the gate structure wraps around three sides of an upper part of the dielectric isolation plug (Liou, Fig. 8-13).
Reclaim 6, Liou & Tung disclose that a shallow trench isolation (STI) region 20 around a lower part of the dielectric isolation plug 62(60) when viewed in the cross section taken along the second direction (Liou, Fig.7 & 8).
Reclaim 7, Liou & Tung disclose that an interface between the dielectric isolation plug and the STI region 20 is coterminous with an interface between the dielectric isolation plug and the gate structure (Liou, Fig. 7-8).
Reclaim 8, Liou & Tung disclose that the dielectric isolation plug has a bottom end substantially level with a bottom surface of the STI region 20 when viewed in the cross section taken along the second direction (Liou, Fig. 7-8).
Reclaim 9, Liou & Tung disclose that the gate structure 30E comprises a gate dielectric layer in contact with three sides of the dielectric isolation plug when viewed along a cross section taken along the second direction (Liou, Fig. 7-8).
Reclaim 10, Liou & Tung disclose that when viewed in a cross section taken along the first direction, the dielectric isolation plug and the gate structure form an interface substantially level with the top surface of the silicon layer of the semiconductor fin (Liou, Fig. 7-8).
Reclaim 11, Liou & Tung disclose that gate spacer 39 on a sidewall of the gate structure 30E, the gate spacer forms an interface with the dielectric isolation plug at a position lower than the top surface of the silicon layer of the semiconductor fin (Liou, Fig. 7-8).
Reclaim 12, Liou & Tung disclose that the interface formed between the gate spacer and the dielectric isolation plug has a concave shape when viewed in a cross section taken along the first direction (Liou, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Liou & Tung disclose that a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 10;
a first semiconductor fin 10F extending along a first direction above the substrate, the first semiconductor fin comprising a first silicon germanium layer and a first silicon layer over the first silicon germanium layer (Tung, para. 0023);
a first gate structure 30E extending across the first semiconductor fin along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction; a second semiconductor fin extending along the first direction above the substrate and aligned with the first semiconductor fin along the first direction; a second gate structure extending across the second semiconductor fin along the second direction perpendicular to the first direction; and
a dielectric isolation plug 62(60) between the first and second semiconductor fins, wherein the dielectric isolation plug is in contact with the first silicon germanium layer of the first semiconductor fin (Fig. 7 in view of Tung’s Fig. 5. Para. 0023).
Reclaim 14, Liou & Tung disclose that the second semiconductor fin comprises a second silicon germanium layer and a second silicon layer over the second silicon germanium layer, and the dielectric isolation plug is in contact with the second silicon germanium layer of the second semiconductor fin.
Reclaim 15, Liou & Tung disclose that a bottom surface of the dielectric isolation plug is in contact with the substrate.
Reclaim 16, Liou & Tung disclose that a third gate structure extending across the dielectric isolation plug along the second direction.
Regarding claim 17, Liou & Tung disclose that a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate 10 (Fig. 7-8, Liou);
a first semiconductor fin 10F (Fig. 7-8, Liou) extending along a first direction above the substrate, the first semiconductor fin comprising a first silicon germanium layer and a first silicon layer over the first silicon germanium layer (Tung, para. 0023);
a first gate structure 30E extending across the first semiconductor fin along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Liou, Fig. 7); and
a first dielectric isolation plug 62(60) at a longitudinal end of the first semiconductor fin, wherein the first dielectric isolation plug has a top surface in contact with the first gate structure and a bottom surface below the first silicon germanium layer of the first semiconductor fin (Liou’s Fig. 8-12 in view of Tung’s Fig. 5).
Reclaim 18, Liou & Tung disclose that a bottom surface of the first gate structure extends beyond opposite sides of the first dielectric isolation plug (Liou’s Fig. 8-12 in view of Tung’s Fig. 5).
Reclaim 19, Liou & Tung disclose that a second semiconductor fin extending along the first direction above the substrate and misaligned with the first semiconductor fin along the first direction; and a second gate structure extending across the second semiconductor fin and the first dielectric isolation plug (Liou’s Fig. 8-12 in view of Tung’s Fig. 5).
Reclaim 20, Liou & Tung disclose that a second dielectric isolation plug at a longitudinal end of the second semiconductor fin, wherein the first gate structure extends across the second dielectric isolation plug (Liou’s Fig. 8-12 in view of Tung’s Fig. 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10497778 in view of Liou et al. (US 9899267) and further in view of Tung (US 20180211960).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1-20 claims of U.S. Patent No. 11948970 in view of Liou et al. (US 9899267) and further in view of Tung (US 20180211960).
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899