CTNF 18/596,003 CTNF 97485 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I Claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 05/04/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-22 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7, 8 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Re claim 7 line 2 “the die pads” should read “the conductive die pads” Re claim 8 line 2 “the die pads” should read “the conductive die pads” Re claim 13 lines 4 and 8 “ second pair of edge terminal” should read “second pair of conductive edge terminal” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al Shi et al (US7309912B1) in view of Lin et al (US20120161315A1) . Re claim 1 Shi teaches an apparatus (fig 1-4), comprising: a substrate (108, fig 1, col 4, lines 56-58) having a top surface (top of 108) and a bottom surface (bottom of 108), wherein each of the top surface and the bottom surface is generally planar (see fig 1) and is oriented substantially parallel to the other, wherein at least one of the top surface (top surface of 108, fig 1) and the bottom surface includes a die mounting area (area of 102, fig 1), and wherein at least one of the top surface and the bottom surface (bottom of 108, fig 1) comprises system interconnect terminals (122, fig 1 col 6, line 6); a first substrate edge surface (right side of 108, fig 3A) disposed along a first peripheral end of the substrate (right end) and oriented substantially orthogonally to the top surface (top of 108, fig 3A) and to the bottom surface (bottom of 108); a first pair of conductive edge terminals (308/310, fig 3A-3B) disposed on the first substrate edge surface (right side of 108) and a first pair of substrate conductors (204/206) disposed on or inside the substrate (inside the substrate),wherein each edge terminals (308/310, fig 3A-3B, col 7 line 23) is electrically coupled (through 312/314, fig 3A, col 7 line 51) to a respective one of the substrate conductors (204/206, fig 3A-3B, col 7, line 36). a first capacitor (202, fig 3B, col 6 lines 38-39) attached exteriorly to the substrate (108, fig 3B, col 7, lines 24) at the first substrate edge surface such that terminals (304/306, fig 3A 3B, col 7, lines 23-25) of the first capacitor are electrically coupled to respective ones of the edge terminals (308/310, fig 3A-3B, col 7, lines 23-25); Shi do not teach an integrated circuit die comprising electrically conductive die pads and attached to the substrate at the die mounting area. Lin an integrated circuit die (108, fig 2) [0021]comprising electrically conductive die pads (109, fig 2) [0021] and attached to the substrate (120, fig 2) [0022] at the die mounting area (area between 120 and 108, fig 2) [0022]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Lin into the structure of Shi to include an integrated circuit die comprising electrically conductive die pads and attached to the substrate at the die mounting area as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi based on the teaching of Lin in the above manner for the purpose to achieve mechanical support and structural integrity. Re claim 2 Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first capacitor (202, col 1, lines 46-48) comprises a surface mount capacitor (col 1,lines 46-48). Re claim 3 . Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the first capacitor (202, fig 3B, lines 46-48) comprises opposite ends (left to right of 202, fig 3A-3B) such that the opposite ends define a capacitor axis (axis from 304 to 306) extending from one of the opposite ends to the other (left to right, fig 3A-3B); the terminals of the first capacitor (304/306, fig 3B) are disposed at respective ones of the opposite ends (left to right); and the capacitor axis (axis from 304 to 306, fig 3B) is oriented substantially parallel to the first substrate edge surface (right side of 108, fig 3A). Re claim 5 Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 3, wherein: the capacitor axis (axis from 304 to 306, fig 3A) is oriented substantially parallel to a plane of the top surface (top of 108, fig 3A-3B) and to a plane of the bottom surface (bottom of 108, fig 3A-3B). Re claim 6 Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: at least one of the edge terminals (308/310, fig 3A-3B) is directly coupled to more than one substrate conductor (204/206, fig 3A-3B) disposed on or inside the substrate (108, fig 3A-3B). Re claim 7 Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: one of the first substrate conductors (left 121, fig 2) [Lin, 0022] is electrically coupled to one of the die pads (109, fig 2) [Lin, 0021]; and the other of the first substrate conductors (right 121, fig 2) is electrically coupled to one of the system interconnect terminals (right 122, fig 2) [Lin 0022]. Re claim 8 Shi in view of Lin teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: one of the first substrate conductors (left 121, fig 2) [Lin 0022] is electrically coupled to one of the die pads (middle 109, fig 2) the other of the first substrate conductors (right 121, fig 2) is electrically coupled to a different one of the die pads (right 109, fig 2) [Lin 0021]. Re claim 9 Shi in view of Lin teach, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: one of the first substrate conductors (right 109, fig 2) [Lin 0021] is electrically coupled to one of the system interconnect terminals (right 122, fig 2); and the other of the first substrate conductors (left 121, fig 2) [Lin 0021] is electrically coupled to a different one of the system interconnect terminals (left 122, fig 2 )[Lin 0022] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi modified by Lin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Pearson et al (US20060049479A1) . Re claim 4 Shi in view of Lin teaches the apparatus of claim 3, Shi does not teach the capacitor axis is oriented substantially perpendicular to a plane of the top surface and to a plane of the bottom surface. Pearson does teach the capacitor axis (top to bottom axis of 23, fig 1-2B) is oriented substantially perpendicular to a plane of the top surface (top of 14, fig 1-2B) and to a plane of the bottom surface (bottom of 14, fig 1-2B). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Pearson into the structure of Shi and Lin to include the capacitor axis is oriented substantially perpendicular to a plane of the top surface and to a plane of the bottom surface as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi and Lin based on the teaching of Parson in the above manner for the purpose to reduce electrical noise and to suppress unwanted radiation [0005]. Re claim 17 Shi in view of Lin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: second, third, and fourth substrate edge surfaces (left, top and bottom edges of 108, fig 3A) disposed respectively along second, third, and fourth peripheral ends (periphery of the substrate) of the substrate and each oriented substantially orthogonally (see fig 3A) to the top surface (top of 108) and to the bottom surface (bottom of 108) ; second, third, and fourth pairs of edge terminals (bottom 206, top 204, fig 3A) disposed respectively on the second, third, and fourth substrate edge surfaces (see fig 1, 3A). Shi and Lin do not teach second, third, and fourth capacitors attached exteriorly to the substrate at the second, third, and fourth substrate edge surfaces, respectively, such that terminals of the second, third, and fourth capacitors are electrically coupled to respective ones of the second, third, and fourth pairs of edge terminals. Pearson teaches second, third, and fourth capacitors (multiple 23, fig 1) [0021] attached exteriorly to the substrate (15, fig 1) [0022] at the second, third, and fourth substrate edge surfaces (multiple 16, fig 1) [0019], respectively, such that terminals of the second, third, and fourth capacitors (23, fig 1) [0021] are electrically coupled to respective ones of the second, third, and fourth pairs of edge terminals. (multiple 27, 25, fig 1 2A) [0020]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Pearson into the structure of Shi and Lin to include second, third, and fourth capacitors attached exteriorly to the substrate at the second, third, and fourth substrate edge surfaces, respectively, such that terminals of the second, third, and fourth capacitors are electrically coupled to respective ones of the second, third, and fourth pairs of edge terminals as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi and Lin based on the teaching of Pearson in the above manner for the purpose of to reduce electrical noise and to suppress unwanted radiation [0005]. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi modified by Lin as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Batey et al (US20050230792A1) . Re claim 10 Shi in view of Lin teaches, the apparatus of claim 1, Shi does not teach one of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a data node of the integrated circuit die through a data die pad on the integrated circuit die. Batey teaches one of the first substrate conductors (112C, fig 5) [0020] is electrically coupled to a data node (110A, fig 5) of the integrated circuit die (102, fig 5) [0027] through a data die pad (122, fig 5) [0017] on the integrated circuit die (102, fig 5) [0027]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Batey into the structure of Shi to include one of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a data node of the integrated circuit die through a data die pad on the integrated circuit die as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi based on the teaching of Batey in the above manner for the purpose of provid ing a capability to monitor an electrical parameter of the die via the external package connection [00045]. Re claim 11 Shi teaches the apparatus of claim 1, Shi does not teach one of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a power supply node; and the other of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a ground node. Batey teaches one of the first substrate conductors (112C, fig 5) [0020] is electrically coupled to a power supply node (116C, fig 5) [0016]; and the other of the first substrate conductors (112A, fig 5) [0020] is electrically coupled to a ground node (120A, fig 5)[0016]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Batey into the structure of Shi to include one of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a power supply node; and the other of the first substrate conductors is electrically coupled to a ground node as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi based on the teaching of Batey in the above manner for the purpose of provid ing a capability to monitor an electrical parameter of the die via the external package connection [00045] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi modified by Lin and Batey as applied to claims 1, 11 and further in view of Chakravorty et al (US20060012966 A1) . Re claim 12 Shi in view of Lin and Batey teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Shi, Lin and Batey do not teach the power supply node is disposed at least partially inside the integrated circuit die: and the ground node is electrically coupled to one of the system interconnect terminals. Chakravorty teaches the power supply node (45, fig 2) [0029] is disposed at least partially inside the integrated circuit die (40, fig 2) [0027]; and the ground node (63, fig 2) [0035] is electrically coupled to one of the system interconnect terminals (58, fig 2) [0033]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Chakravorty into the structure of Shi, Lin and Batey to include the power supply node is disposed at least partially inside the integrated circuit die; and the ground node is electrically coupled to one of the system interconnect terminals as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi, Lin and Batey based on the teaching of Chakravorty in the above manner for the purpose of increasing performance while generally being smaller or more compact in size [0006] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi modified by Lin as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Pearson et al (US20060049479A1) . Re claim 13 Shi and Lin teach the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a second pair of conductive edge terminals (bottom 308/310, fig 3A) disposed on the first substrate edge surface (right side of 108, fig 1, 3A). a second pair of substrate conductors (bottom 204/206, fig 3A) [col 7, lines 5-10] disposed on or inside the substrate, (inside 108 fig 3A) [col 7, lines 5-10]. Shi does not teach each of the edge terminals in the second pair of edge terminals is electrically coupled to a respective one of the substrate conductors in the second pair of substrate conductors; and a second capacitor attached exteriorly to the substrate at the first substrate edge surface such that terminals of the second capacitor are electrically coupled to respective ones of the edge terminals in the second pair of edge terminals. Pearson teach each of the edge terminals (16, fig 1) [0019] in the second pair of edge terminals (right side pair of 16, fig 1) is electrically coupled to a respective one of the substrate conductors (22, 21, fig 2A) [0022] in the second pair of substrate conductors (see fig 2); and a second capacitor (23, fig 1, 2A) [0021, 0022] attached exteriorly to the substrate (15, fig 2A) at the first substrate edge surface (left side) such that terminals of the second capacitor (27, 25, fig1, 2A) [0021, 0022] are electrically coupled to respective ones of the edge terminals (22, 21, fig 1,2A) [0022] in the second pair of edge terminals (fig 1, 2A). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Pearson into the structure of Shi to include teach each of the edge terminals in the second pair of edge terminals is electrically coupled to a respective one of the substrate conductors in the second pair of substrate conductors; and a second capacitor attached exteriorly to the substrate at the first substrate edge surface such that terminals of the second capacitor are electrically coupled to respective ones of the edge terminals in the second pair of edge terminals as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi based on teaching of Pearson in the above manner for the purpose of to reduce electrical noise and to suppress unwanted radiation [0005]. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. B.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi modified by Lin and Pearson as applied to claim 13 further in view of Li et al (US20040027813A1) . Re claim 14 Shi in view of Tomita and Pearson teach the apparatus of claim 13, Shi, Lin and Pearson do not teach opposite ends of the first capacitor define a first capacitor axis extending between them; opposite ends of the second capacitor define a second capacitor axis extending between them; and the first capacitor axis and the second capacitor axis are not oriented in a same direction. Li teaches opposite ends of the first capacitor (1004, fig 11) [0072] define a first capacitor axis (left to right 1004, fig 11) [0072] extending between them (fig 11); opposite ends of the second capacitor (1006, fig 11) [0072] define a second capacitor (1006, fig 11) [0072] axis extending between them; and the first capacitor axis (left to right 1004, fig 11) and the second capacitor axis (top to bottom 1004, fig 11) are not oriented in a same direction (see fig11). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Li into the structure of Shi, Lin and Pearson to include opposite ends of the first capacitor define a first capacitor axis extending between them; opposite ends of the second capacitor define a second capacitor axis extending between them; and the first capacitor axis and the second capacitor axis are not oriented in a same direction as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi, Lin and Pearson based on the teaching of Li in the above manner for the purpose of reducing the system noise [0057]. Re claim 15 Shi in view of Lin and Pearson teach the apparatus of claim 13, Shi, Lin and Pearson do not teach the first capacitor and the second capacitor are disposed one over the other such that the first capacitor is closer to the top surface of the substrate and the second capacitor is closer to the bottom surface of the substrate. Li teaches the first capacitor (1004, fig 11)[0072] and the second capacitor (1006, fig 11) [0072] are disposed one over the other such that the first capacitor (1004, fig 11) is closer to the top surface of the substrate (1002, fig 11) [0072] and the second capacitor (1006, fig 11) is closer to the bottom surface of the substrate (bottom 1002, fig 11) [0072]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching taught by Li into the structure of Shi, Lin and Pearson to include the first capacitor and the second capacitor are disposed one over the other such that the first capacitor is closer to the top surface of the substrate and the second capacitor is closer to the bottom surface of the substrate as claimed. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shi, Lin and Pearson based on the teaching of Li in the above manner for the purpose of reducing the system noise [0057]. Re claim 16 Shi in view of Lin and Pearson teach the apparatus of claim 13, wherein: the first pair of substrate conductors (308/310, fig 3A) [Shi, col 7, lines 20-25] and the second pair of substrate conductors (312/314, fig 3A) [Shi, col 7, lines 5-10] comprise a same pair of substrate conductors (Shi, same pairs see fig 3A). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PRATIKSHA J LOHAKARE whose telephone number is (571)270-1920. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7.30 am-4.30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, EVA MONTALVO can be reached at 571-270-3829. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PRATIKSHA JAYANT LOHAKARE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818 /DUY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 6/1/26 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 10 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 11 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 12 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 13 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 14 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 15 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,003 Page 16 Art Unit: 2818