DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshua Collins et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0335450, here
after Collins), further in view of Kenji Suzuki et al (U. S. Patent Application:
2006/0112883, here after Suzuki), and Kyle Fondurulia et al (U. S. Patent Application:
2010/0322604, here after Fondurulia).
Claim 1 is rejected. Collins teaches a method for delivering vaporized
precursor comprising:
connecting a solid source (267) chemical vaporizer to supply a reaction
chambers (250) [fig. 2], and heating the solid source chemical vaporizer to an operating
temperature [0032]. Collins teaches passing a first inert gas over the first solid source chemical and a second inert gas over the second solid source chemical [0056, 0034 last sentence, fig. 2]. Collins teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer comprises
comprising first and second solid vaporizing units [fig. 2], but does not teach the solid
source chemical vaporizer comprises a first tray and second tray. Suzuki teaches a
method of providing solid precursor provider comprising multi-tray solid precursor
evaporation system to provide precursor for thin film deposition system and increasing
deposition rate by increasing exposed surface area of solid precursor[abstract]. Suzuki
also teaches trays have circular path and the first tray and the second tray are fluidly
connected in parallel [fig. 3]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Collins where
the trays are connected in parallel, because it increasing deposition rate by increasing
exposed surface area of solid precursor. They do not teach trays comprising
serpentine flow path. Fondurulia teaches a method of delivering vaporized precursor to
reaction chamber where solid source precursor source vessel comprising tray having
serpentine flow path [0036, 0078, fig. 12] to reduce contamination and improve
serviceability [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Collins, and Suzuki
where each precursor source vessel comprising a tray with serpentine flow path as
teaches by Fondurulia, because it reduces contamination and improve serviceability.
Fondurulia also teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer comprises a first tray
having a first serpentine flow path and a second tray having a second serpentine flow
path [0099, 0036], and providing a first solid source chemical in the first serpentine flow
path and a second solid source chemical in the second serpentine flow path [0101 fig.
11D]. Fondurulia teaches passing the first inert gas over the first solid source chemical comprises passing the first inert gas around a flow protrusion(powder) disposed within the first serpentine path [0078, fig. 11H, 0094]. which in fact increases a turbulence (tortuous flow path) of the passing of the first inert gas over the first solid source chemical. Or considering one dark area in serpentine path as a wall with protrusion( see claim 14 rejection).
Claim 3 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the first and second serpentine flow
paths each comprise a recess formed in a solid metal block, the recesses defining a
height: width aspect ratio in a range of about 2.8-4.6 [0081, fig. 11A, fig. 11G, fig. 9,
0092].
Claim 4 is rejected, as Fondurulia teaches the first and second serpentine flow
paths are fluidly connected in parallel [0045 lines 1-2].
Claim 7 is rejected as Collins teaches the operating temperature is 150°C [0035].
Claim 11 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a
perforated wall (screen) across the first serpentine flow path integrally formed with the
first tray, the perforated wall having one or more holes formed therethrough, the one or
more holes configured to allow flow of the first inert gas therethrough [0101].
Claim 12 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the one or more holes form an axis
vertically angled relative to horizontal [fig. 13].
Claim 13 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a pillar-like protrusion [fig. 9].
Claim 14 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a wall
insert configured for insertion into slots formed in the first tray [fig. 11D](considered one dark area as wall).
Claim 15 is rejected as Suzuki teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer
comprises a housing lid (320), wherein the first and the second inert gas passes
through the housing lid and into the first or second trays (serpentine flow path) [fig. 3,
0051-0052]. Fondurulia also teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer
comprises a housing lid, wherein the solid source chemical passes through the housing
lid (106) and into the serpentine flow path [fig. 8, 0105].
Claims 16, and 17 are rejected as Fondurulia teaches the housing lid comprises
an inlet valve (108) and an outlet valve (110) in fluid communication with the serpentine
flow path, wherein the first solid source chemical passes through the serpentine flow
path, the outlet valve [0105], and the inlet valve [0006]. Since each vessel (source) of
Collins is substituted by Fondurulia's vessel, therefore housing lid comprises wherein
the inert gas passes through the inlet valve [Fondurulia 0104], and the first serpentine
flow path, and with a vaporized precursor through the outlet path [Fondurulia 0104,
0105].
Claim 18 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the housing lid comprises a vent
valve in fluid communication with the first serpentine flow path, wherein method further
comprises releasing pressure from the first serpentine flow path through the vent valve
[0109 last 4 lines, 0129].
Claim 19 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches replacing the entire source vessel
when the source precursor is depleted [0067], therefore disposing the first tray and the
second tray into a housing base (container body, 104) of the solid source chemical
vaporizer happens prior to the providing the first solid source chemical in the first
serpentine flow path (flowing inert gas) and the second solid source chemical in the
second serpentine flow path.
Claim 20 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches coupling the housing base to a
housing lid, thereby enclosing the first tray and the second tray [fig. 2, fig. 8, 0009-
0010].
Claim 21 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the (first) serpentine flow path comprises straight portion and wherein the flow portion is disposed within the straight [ fig. 11 E , fig. 11 H ].
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Joshua Collins et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2017/0335450, here after Collins),
further in view of Kyle Fondurulia et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2010/0322604, here
after Fondurulia).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected. Collins teaches a method for delivering vaporized
precursor comprising:
connecting a solid source (267's) chemical vaporizer to supply a reaction
chambers (250) [fig. 2], and heating the solid source chemical vaporizer to an operating
temperature [0032]. Collins teaches passing a first inert gas over the first solid
source chemical and a second inert gas over the second solid source chemical [0056,
0034 last sentence, fig. 2]. Collins teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer (including all 257 units) comprises first and second solid vaporizing units [fig. 2, for example first and second 257 units in right side] but does not teach the solid source chemical vaporizer comprises a first tray and second tray. Fondurulia teaches a method of delivering vaporized precursor to reaction chamber where solid source precursor source vessel comprising tray having serpentine flow path [0036, 0078, fig. 12] to reduce contamination and improve serviceability [0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Collins, and Suzuki where each of precursor source vessel comprising a tray with serpentine flow path as taught by Fondurulia, because it reduces contamination and improve serviceability. Therefore, the first unit of solid source chemical vaporizer
comprises a first tray having a first serpentine flow path and the second unit comprising
a second tray having a second serpentine flow path [0099, 0036], and providing a first
solid source chemical in the first serpentine flow path and a second solid source
chemical in the second serpentine flow path. Therefor the first serpentine path (in first
unit), and the second serpentine path (in second unit) are not in fluid communication
with each other within the solid source chemical vaporizer [fig. 2]. Fondurulia teaches passing the first inert gas over the first solid source chemical comprises passing the first inert gas around a flow protrusion(powder) disposed within the first serpentine path [0078, fig. 11H, 0094]. which in fact increases a turbulence (tortuous flow path) of the passing of the first inert gas over the first solid source chemical. Or considering one dark area in serpentine path as a wall with protrusion( see claim 14 rejection).
Claim 3 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the first and second serpentine flow
paths each comprise a recess formed in a solid metal block, the recesses defining a
height: width aspect ratio in a range of about 2.8-4.6 [0081, fig. 11A, fig. 11G, fig. 9,
0092].
Claim 7 is rejected as Collins teaches the operating temperature is 150°C [0035].
Claim 11 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a
perforated wall (screen) across the first serpentine flow path integrally formed with the
first tray, the perforated wall having one or more holes formed therethrough, the one or
more holes configured to allow flow of the first inert gas therethrough [0101].
Claim 12 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the one or more holes form an axis
vertically angled relative to horizontal [fig. 13].
Claim 13 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a pillar-
like protrusion [fig. 9].
Claim 14 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the flow protrusion comprises a wall
insert configured for insertion into slots formed in the first tray (considered one dark area is wall) [fig. 11D].
Claim 15 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the solid source chemical vaporizer
comprises a housing lid, wherein the solid source chemical passes through the housing
lid (106) and into the serpentine flow path [fig. 8, 0105], since each vessel (source) of
Collins is substituted by Fondurulia's vessel, therefore the first and the second inert gas
chemical passes through the housing lid and into the first or second serpentine flow
path (inert gas provided inlet) [Fondurulia 0104].
Claims 16, and 17 are rejected as Fondurulia teaches the housing lid comprises
an inlet valve (108) and an outlet valve (110) in fluid communication with the serpentine
flow path, wherein the first solid source chemical passes through the serpentine flow
path, the outlet valve [0105], and the inlet valve [0006]. Since each vessel (source) of
Collins is substituted by Fondurulia's vessel, therefore housing lid comprises wherein
the inert gas passes through the inlet valve [Fondurulia 0104], and the first serpentine
flow path, and with a vaporized precursor through the outlet path [Fondurulia 0104,
0105].
Claim 18 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the housing lid comprises a vent
valve in fluid communication with the first serpentine flow path, wherein method further
comprises releasing pressure from the first serpentine flow path through the vent valve
[0109 last 4 lines, 0129].
Claim 19 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches replacing the entire source vessel
when the source precursor is depleted [0067], therefore disposing the first tray and the
second tray into a housing base (container body, 104) of the solid source chemical
vaporizer happens prior to the providing the first solid source chemical in the first
serpentine flow path (flowing inert gas) and the second solid source chemical in the
second serpentine flow path.
Claim 20 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches coupling the housing base to a
housing lid, thereby enclosing the first tray and the second tray [fig. 2, fig. 8, 0009-
0010].
Claim 21 is rejected as Fondurulia teaches the (first) serpentine flow path comprises straight portion and wherein the flow portion is disposed within the straight [ fig. 11 E, fig. 11 H].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Fondurulia does not teach the new limitations of amended claim 1such as a flow protrusion deposited within the first serpentine flow path. The examiner disagrees as Fondurulia teaches precursor powder deposited within the path [0071, fig. 11H] which in fact protrusion deposited within the first serpentine flow path and increase a turbulence of the passing of the first inert gas as it acts as a barrier against the gas flow. Or protrusion can be considered as one dark area in serpentine path as a wall with protrusion (see claim 14 rejection).
The applicant argument regarding claim 14 is not persuasive, as the above picture shows at least one dark area as wall insert of flow protrusion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718