DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US Pub. 2018/0061835; hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a memory cell, comprising: a transistor T1 including a source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 in a nanowire structure (page 2, paragraph 27; see fig. 2); and a capacitive device 38 on the transistor T1 (page 2, paragraph 30; see fig. 2) and including a first conductor 42 (inner node; page 2, paragraph 30) in the nanowire structure (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang discloses wherein the source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 of the transistor T1 comprise a first diameter (see fig. 2) and the first conductor 42 of the capacitive device 38 comprises a second diameter greater than the first diameter (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang discloses a method of forming a memory cell, the method comprising: forming a source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 of a transistor T1 in a nanowire structure (page 2, paragraph 27; see fig. 2); and forming a first conductor 42 (inner node; page 2, paragraph 30) of a capacitive device 38 on the source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 in the nanowire structure (page 2, paragraph 30; see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang discloses wherein the forming of the source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 comprises stacking the source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 in a first direction (vertical direction) (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang discloses further comprising: forming a gate structure 14 of the transistor T1 around the channel region 26 (page 2, paragraph 26; see fig. 2), wherein the gate structure 14 comprises a portion of a word line WL (page 2, paragraph 24) extending lengthwise in a second direction (lateral direction) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction) (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang discloses a memory device, comprising: a plurality of bit lines (BL-1, BL-2, BL-1a, BL-2a) and plurality of word lines WL (see fig. 3); and a plurality of memory cells (12, 12a) (page 41, paragraph 19) at intersections of the plurality of bit lines (BL-1, BL-2, BL-1a, BL-2a) and the plurality of word lines WL (page 3, paragraph 37, see figs. 2 and 3), comprising: a transistor T1 including a source region 28, channel region 26 and drain region 30 in a nanowire structure (page 2, paragraph 27; see fig. 2); and a capacitive device 38 on the transistor T1 (page 2, paragraph 30; see fig. 2) and including a first conductor 42 (inner node; page 2, paragraph 30) in the nanowire structure (see fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang discloses wherein the nanowire structure has a diameter less than a width of a word line WL in the plurality of word lines WL (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 17, Yang discloses wherein the nanowire structure has a diameter less than a width of a bit line BL-1 in the plurality of bit lines (BL-1, BL-2, BL-1a, BL-2a) (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang discloses wherein the nanostructure extends lengthwise in a first direction (Y-direction in XYZ direction) (see fig. 2), the plurality of word lines WL extend lengthwise in a second direction (X-direction in XYZ direction) perpendicular to the first direction (Y-direction) (see fig. 2), and the plurality of bit lines BL-1, BL-2, BL-1a, BL-2a) extend lengthwise in a third direction (Z-direction in XYZ direction) perpendicular to the first direction (Y-direction) and the second direction (X-direction) (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Yang discloses wherein the transistor T1 further comprises: a gate structure 14 around the channel region 26 (page 2, paragraph 26; see fig. 2) and including a portion of a word line WL of the plurality of word lines WL (page 2, paragraph 24; see fig. 2).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sandhu et al. (US Pub. 2013/0193400; hereinafter “Sandhu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Sandhu discloses a memory cell, comprising: a transistor 48 including a source region 26, channel region 28 and drain region 30 in a nanowire structure (page 2, paragraphs 20 and 30; see fig. 1); and a capacitive device 50 on the transistor 48 (page 2, paragraph 30; see fig. 1) and including a first conductor 38 (page 2, paragraph 24) in the nanowire structure (see fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Sandhu discloses wherein the source region 26, channel region 28 and drain region 30 of the transistor 48 and the first conductor 38 of the capacitive device 50 comprise substantially the same diameter (see figs. 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Ramaswamy (US Pub. 2018/0122817).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang fails to disclose explicitly wherein the nanowire structure comprises a cylindrical structure extending lengthwise in a first direction.
However, Ramaswamy discloses a cylindrical source /drain regions 19 of transistors 16 (page 3, paragraph 40) in a vertical direction (see figs. 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a cylindrical structure in a transistor, as taught by Ramaswamy, in order to provide uniform gate control around the channel, thereby reducing short channel effects, lowering leakage current, and improving transistor performance.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang discloses wherein the transistor T1 further comprises: a dielectric layer 22 surrounding the channel region 26 (page 2, paragraph 26; see fig. 2); and a gate structure 14 surrounding the dielectric layer 22 (see fig. 2), wherein the gate structure 14 comprises a portion of a word line WL extending lengthwise in a second direction (lateral direction) (page 2, paragraph 24) perpendicular to the first direction (vertical direction) (see fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 13, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 4 recites a second conductor surrounding the dielectric material opposite the first conductor, wherein the second conductor extends lengthwise in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Claim 8 recites the channel region of the transistor comprises a first diameter and the source region and drain region of the transistor comprise a second diameter greater than the first diameter.
Claim 13 recites forming a second conductor of the capacitive device around the dielectric material, wherein the second conductor extends lengthwise in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Claim 20 recites a second conductor on a side of the dielectric material opposite the first conductor, and extending lengthwise in the third direction.
These features in combination with the other elements of the base claim are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Claims 5, 6 and 14 variously depend from claim 4 or 13, so they are objected for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,956,940 (hereinafter “Pat-940”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Pat-940 discloses all the claimed limitations. See rejections below.
Regarding Claim 1, Pat-940 discloses a memory cell, comprising: a transistor including a source region, channel region and drain region (see claim 1) in a nanowire structure (see claim 14); and a capacitive device on the transistor and including a first conductor (see claim 1) in the nanowire structure (see claim 14).
Regarding Claim 2, Pat-940 discloses wherein the nanowire structure comprises a cylindrical structure (circular cross-section; see claim 14) extending lengthwise in a first direction (see claim 1).
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,569,244 (hereinafter “Pat-244”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Pat-244 discloses all the claimed limitations. See rejections below.
Regarding Claim 1, Pat-244 discloses a memory cell, comprising: a transistor including a source region, channel region and drain region in a nanowire structure (forming a nanowire structure; see claim 1); and a capacitive device on the transistor and including a first conductor in the nanowire structure (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Pat-244 discloses wherein the nanowire structure comprises a cylindrical structure (circular cross section; see claim 14) extending lengthwise in a first direction (see claim 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Pat-244 discloses a method of forming a memory cell, the method comprising: forming a source region, channel region and drain region of a transistor in a nanowire structure (see claim 16); and forming a first conductor of a capacitive device on the source region, channel region and drain region in the nanowire structure (capacitive device vertically over the transistor; see claim 16).
Conclusion
/CHEUNG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 July 29, 2026