CTNF 18/596,635 CTNF 101505 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application KR10-2023-0036584. The priority document exchange retrieval request failed, therefore, no certified copy is present in the application file. Please contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free) or 571-272-4100 (local). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4 -7, 9 – 13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Won et al . US 20220013609 . Regarding claim 1, Won discloses a display panel comprising: a light-emitting element ( figure 6B, LED [0093] ) including a first electrode (figure 6B, the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107]) , a second electrode arranged on the first electrode ( second electrode 223 is arranged on the first electrode 221 as shown in figure 6B ) , and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B) ; a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element ( see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2); a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode ( figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows connection comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221 ); a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line ( figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103] ); a second organic layer arranged on the first organic layer and between the transistor and the light-emitting element (figure 6B, organic layer 209/211 is arranged on organic layer 213 and between TFT and LED [0103] ); and a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 1 st electrode, the upper part of 221 and 2 nd electrode 223 [0109] ) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode, the upper part of 221), and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening ( figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R), PNG media_image1.png 667 664 media_image1.png Greyscale wherein the second electrode includes one end connected to the emission connection part and another end spaced apart from the one end in a cross-sectional view ( see annotated figure 6 below ) Regarding claim 2 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line includes: a first pattern layer contacting the first organic layer and including a transparent conductive oxide ( The connection line includes the lower part of element 221, which will be considered part of the first pattern layer. The lower part of 221 contacts the first organic layer 213 and includes a transparent conductive oxide, as described in paragraph [0108] ; and a second pattern layer arranged on the first pattern layer ( the second pattern layer comprises CM1 and CM2, and is arranged on the bottom surface of the first pattern layer ). Regarding claim 4 , Won discloses display panel of claim 2, wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first pattern arranged on the driving connection part ( see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1 ) ; and a second pattern spaced apart from the first pattern and arranged on the emission connection part ( Similarly, the second pattern, which is spaced apart from the first pattern in the z direction, is the portions of driving connection part CM2 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM2 ). PNG media_image2.png 671 718 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 5, Won discloses display panel of claim 4, wherein the second pattern includes a tip part ( see annotated figure 6B, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow ). Regarding claim 6 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a protective layer arranged between the first organic layer and the connection line and including silicon ( figure 6B, protective layer 214 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the connection line parts in the lower part of 221 and includes silicon material [0135]) , wherein the connection line penetrates the first organic layer and the protective layer and is connected to the transistor ( figure 6B, the via below electrode 221, part of the connection line, penetrates 214 as well as first organic layer 213 ). Regarding claim 7, Won discloses the display panel of claim 6, wherein the second organic layer is arranged on the protective layer ( figure 6B – the second organic layer 211/209 is arranged on the bottom side of the protective layer 214 ), the second opening overlaps the emission connection part ( the second opening, that is the opening in pixel defining layer 214 comprising recess R, as shown in figure 7B, overlaps the emission connection part CM1 - the opening is spaced apart from the emission connection CM1 in the x, the y, and the z directions, so there must be a diagonal direction in which these features overlap), and at least a portion of the protective layer is exposed by the second opening ( figure 7B - the magnified area of the side of the second opening shows that at least a portion of the protective layer 214 is exposed by the second opening.) PNG media_image3.png 671 718 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 9 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line is arranged between the first organic layer and the second organic layer ( annotated figure 6B shows that connection line part CM1 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and second organic layer 209/211) , and a step is defined between the emission connection part and the second organic layer ( the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B below ). Regarding claim 10 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a capping pattern ( a capping pattern comprises layer 300, including sublayers 310, 311, and 312 [0119]) overlapping the second opening ( figure 7B shows that capping pattern 330 overlaps the second opening ) and covering at least a portion of the emission connection part ( figure 6B shows that capping pattern 300 covers the emission connection part CM2). Regarding claim 11 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the connection line is arranged between the first organic layer and the pixel defining layer ( annotated figure 6B shows that the connection line part comprising the lower part of 221 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the pixel defining layer 215) , and a step is defined between the emission connection part and the pixel defining layer ( the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B above ). Regarding claim 12 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 11, wherein the connection line includes: a first line arranged on the first organic layer ( figure 6B, line AW ); and a second line arranged on the second organic layer ( figure 6B, line WL ) and having a step defined between the second line and the pixel defining layer ( the “step” is indicated on annotated figure 6B above ). Regarding claim 13 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element is provided in plurality ( paragraphs [0006] and [0059] and figure 11 ), and the first electrodes of the plurality of light-emitting elements are connected to each other ([0084 ]). Regarding claim 15, Won discloses a display panel comprising: a light-emitting element ( figure 6B, LED [0093] ) including a first electrode ( figure 6B, the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107 ]), a second electrode arranged on the first electrode (second electrode 223 is arranged on the first electrode 221 as shown in figure 6B ), and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B ); a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element (see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2) ; a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode ( Figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows connection comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221 ) and having a tip part defined therein ( see annotated figure 6B from the rejection of claim 5 above, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow ); and a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line ( figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103] ), wherein the connection line includes a first pattern layer contacting the first organic layer and including a transparent conductive oxide ( The connection line includes the lower part of element 221, which will be considered part of the first pattern layer. The lower part of 221 contacts the first organic layer 213 and includes a transparent conductive oxide, as described in paragraph [0108].) and a second pattern layer arranged on the first pattern layer (see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1). Regarding claim 17 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 15, wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first pattern arranged the driving connection part ( see figure 6B – the first pattern is the portions of driving connection part CM1 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM1 ); and a second pattern spaced apart from the first pattern, arranged on the emission connection part ( Similarly, the second pattern, which is spaced apart from the first pattern in the z direction, is the portions of driving connection part CM2 extending in the x-y plane above the via that is comprised by CM2 ), and including the tip par( see annotated figure 6B from the rejection of claim 5 above, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow ). Regarding claim 18 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 15, further comprising: a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 1 st electrode, the upper part of 221 and 2 nd electrode 223 [0109] ) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode, the upper part of 221) and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening ( figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R) ; and a capping pattern ( a capping pattern comprises layer 300, including sublayers 310, 311, and 312 [0119]) overlapping the second opening ( figure 7B shows that capping pattern 330 overlaps the second opening ) and covering at least a portion of the emission connection part ( figure 6B shows that capping pattern 300 covers the emission connection part CM2) . Regarding claim 19, Won discloses a display panel comprising: a light-emitting element ( figure 6B, LED [0093] ) including a first electrode (figure 6B, the upper portion of 221 arranged directly under 222 [0107]) , a second electrode arranged on the first electrode ( second electrode 223 is arranged on the first electrode 221 as shown in figure 6B ) , and an intermediate layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( intermediate layer 222 is arranged between electrodes 221 and 223, shown in figure 6B) ; a transistor electrically connected to the light-emitting element ( see figure 6B, where thin film transistor TFT is connected to LED by CM1 and CM2) ; a connection line arranged between the light-emitting element and the transistor in a cross-sectional view and including a driving connection part connected to the transistor and an emission connection part connected to the second electrode ( figure 6B, a cross-sectional view, shows connection comprising CM1/CM2 as well as the lower part of 221, comprising the portion of 221 exposed from 222, arranged between LED and TFT, including a driving connection part CM1 connected to TFT and an emission connection part CM2 connected to the second electrode, the upper part of 221 ) and having a tip part defined therein ( see annotated figure 6B in the rejection of claim 5, where the tip part of the extending portion of CM2 is indicated by an arrow ); a first organic layer arranged between the transistor and the connection line ( figure 6B, organic insulating layer 213 is arranged between TFT and the upper part of the connection line comprising the lower part of 221 [0103] ); and a protective layer arranged between the first organic layer and the connection line and including silicon ( figure 6B, protective layer 214 is arranged between first organic layer 213 and the connection line parts in the lower part of 221 and includes silicon material [0135]) , wherein the connection line penetrates the first organic layer and the protective layer and is connected to the transistor ( figure 6B, the via below electrode 221, part of the connection line, penetrates 214 as well as first organic layer 213 ). Regarding claim 20 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 19, further comprising: a second organic layer arranged on the protective layer and between the transistor and the light-emitting element ( figure 6B – the second organic layer 211/209 is arranged on the bottom side of the protective layer 214 and between the transistor TFT and the light-emitting element LED ); and a pixel defining layer arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 is arranged between 1 st electrode, the upper part of 221 and 2 nd electrode 223 [0109] ) and having defined therein a first opening overlapping at least a portion of the first electrode ( figure 6B, pixel defining layer 215 has an opening at the position of the LED, which overlaps at least a portion of the first electrode, the upper part of 221), and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening ( figure 7B, which like figure 6A illustrates another cross section of the device of figure 5, shows that pixel defining layer pixel defining layer 215 has another opening comprising the recess R) , wherein the second opening overlaps the emission connection part (the second opening, that is the opening in pixel defining layer 214 comprising recess R, as shown figure 7B, overlaps the emission connection part CM1 - the opening is spaced apart from the emission connection CM1 in the x, the y, and the z directions, so there must be a diagonal direction in which these features overlap ), and at least a portion of the protective layer is exposed by the second opening ( figure 7B - the magnified area of the side of the second opening shows that at least a portion of the protective layer 214 is exposed by the second opening. ) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al . US 20220013609 . Regarding claim 3 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 2, Won lacks wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first layer including titanium (Ti); a second layer arranged on the first layer and including aluminum (Al); and a third layer arranged on the second layer and including titanium (Ti). However, although Won is silent on the composition of the second pattern, in paragraph [0099] Won discloses that other metal patterns within this display panel may have triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer in order to ensure good conductivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the date of filing to use a triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer for the second pattern as disclosed by Won in order to ensure good conductivity. Regarding claim 14 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 13, having first electrodes that are commonly connected. Won lacks wherein the second electrodes of the plurality are separated from each other. However, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide separated second electrodes, in order to provide the display of Won with individual control of each pixel, as is necessary for a display device. Regarding claim 16 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 15. Won lacks wherein the second pattern layer includes: a first layer including titanium (Ti); a second layer arranged on the first layer and including aluminum (Al); and a third layer arranged on the second layer and including titanium (Ti). However, although Won is silent on the composition of the second pattern, in paragraph [0099] Won discloses that other metal patterns within this display panel may have triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer in order to ensure good conductivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the date of filing to use a triple layer structure including a titanium layer/an aluminum layer/a titanium layer for the second pattern as disclosed by Won in order to ensure good conductivity . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of In US 9299281 . Regarding claim 8 , Won discloses the display panel of claim 6. Won lacks wherein the protective layer has a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å. However, In discloses a display device wherein the protective layer has a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å ([0016] and [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to use a thickness of about 500 Å to about 5000 Å for a protective layer, to provide protection without adding excess bulk to the display panel . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Lee et al. US 20200235172 and Kim et al. US 20200411629 (describe a similar OLED display panel), Lee et al. US 20210265456 (similar display device emphasizing connections), Shin et al. US 20170200916 and Choi et al . US 20200083306 (display devices with “steps” in pixel defining or insulating layers) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KATRINA M H WALJESKI-MOSES whose telephone number is (571)272-0731. The examiner can normally be reached Mon- Fri 7:30 am- 5 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeff Natalini can be reached at (571) 272-2266. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KATRINA WALJESKI-MOSES/Examiner, Art Unit 2818 /JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 10 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 11 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 12 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 13 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/596,635 Page 14 Art Unit: 2818