DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 14, 2024; June 6, 2024; October 28, 2024; December 30, 2024; June 26, 2025; October 22, 2025; March 23, 2026; and June 30, 2026 were considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B, directed to figures 2A-2C, encompassed in claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 12, and 17 in the reply filed on June 8, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the stated differences between species is arbitrary. This is not found persuasive because each of the listed differences between the species is mutually exclusive based upon the current record. Further, Applicant has not stated that the stated features are obvious variants of each other. Applicant next states that Examiner has not shown that the species are “independent and distinct”. Under MPEP 806.04(b), Examiner is required to show the species are independent or distinct. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive. Applicant’s next argument is that Examiner has not provided different class/subclass for the species. Examiner is not required to provide a class/subclass. In the election requirement Examiner stated that the species would require a different field of search. This does not inherently mean different class/subclass. It means different searches are necessary to search the disclosed species. In addition, the election requirement stated that at least one of two reasons, and Examiner provided two different reasons with each one standing on its own to meet the reason for the search burden. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 2, 5-8, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 5-8, 11, 13-16, and 18-20 have the wrong identifier “Original”. Applicant needs to use the identifier “Withdrawn”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Isokawa et al. (US 2003/0025117 A1) (“Isokawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
a support structure (5/2/2’; based upon claim 9 the support structure comprises the lead frame and housing) forming a recess (B) with at least one recess sidewall (A);
one or more LED chips (3) within the recess (B);
an encapsulant (6) within the recess (B) and over the one or more LED chips (3); and
at least one anchoring structure (51) integral with the at least one recess sidewall (A) such that a portion of the encapsulant (6) extends into the support structure (5) at the at least one anchoring structure (51).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
wherein the at least one anchoring structure (51) is arranged in one or more segments along one or more portions of the at least one recess sidewall (B) (as shown in figure 1 element 51 is so arranged).
Regarding claim 4, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
wherein the one or more segments of the at least one anchoring structure (51) do not extend to corners of the recess (This is shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
wherein the support structure (5) comprises a lead frame structure (2/2’) with a housing (5), and
the recess is formed within the housing (5).
Regarding claim 10, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
a lead frame (2/2’);
a housing molded (5; the term molded is a product-by-process term) to the lead frame (2/2’),
the housing (5) forming a recess (B) with at least one recess sidewall (A),
a portion of the lead frame (2/2’) being accessible at a floor of the recess (this is shown in figure 1); and
at least one anchoring structure (51) integral with the housing (5),
the at least one anchoring structure (51) extending into the housing (5)from the at least one recess sidewall (A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isokawa, in view of Ting et al. (US 2019/0326486 A1) (“Ting”).
Regarding claim 17, Isokawa teaches at least in figure 1, and Examiner’s figure 1 above:
at least one LED package comprising (detailed below):
a support structure (5/2/2’; based upon claim 9 the support structure comprises the lead frame and housing) forming a recess (B) with at least one recess sidewall (A);
one or more LED chips (3) within the recess (B);
an encapsulant (6) within the recess (B) and over the one or more LED chips (3); and
at least one anchoring structure (51) integral with the at least one recess sidewall (A) such that a portion of the encapsulant (6) extends into the support structure (5) at the at least one anchoring structure (51).
Isokawa does not teach:
a display panel
Ting teaches at least in figure 9:
A display panel (200), that can comprise a plurality of LED devices (100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the device of Isokawa into a display panel. This is because it is well-known in the art that display panels comprise a plurality of LEDs. It would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art using the LEDs of Isokawa would know they could be used in a display panel.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898