DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 03/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected (Group II, method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/17/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “165” has been used to designate both “electromechanical actuators” and referenced components in Fig. 9B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Blocking portions (extraction slits, para. [0062]) in at least claims 2-4, 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20160211156 to Singh.
Claim 1: Singh discloses a processing apparatus, comprising: a chamber (103 [reaction chamber], Fig. 1) operable to contain a plasma within a chamber volume (inside 103), the chamber (103) defined by a plurality of sidewalls (sidewalls of 103); a plate assembly (107 [ion extractor plate]) proximate a substrate (101 [substrate]), the plate assembly (107) comprising a plate (107) defining a plurality of apertures (109 [apertures]), wherein ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0038]) and are delivered to the substrate at a non-zero angle relative to a perpendicular extending from the substrate (101, para. [0036]); and
an actuator (“translational actuator,” para. [0091]) operable to dither the plate (107) and the substrate (101) relative to one another as the ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0091-0092]).
Claim 2: Singh discloses wherein the plate (107, Fig. 1, 5A-5D, 6A-6B, Singh) further comprising a plurality of blocking portions (interpreted as areas with no apertures) to block the ions, and wherein ion beamlets are extracted through the plurality of apertures (para. [0075-0078]).
Claim 3: Singh discloses wherein each of the plurality of blocking portions (interpreted as areas with no apertures, Fig. 5A-5D, 6A-6B, Singh) comprises a straight portion (see Fig 5A-5D where there are “straight portions”).
Claim 4: Singh discloses wherein the plate (107, Fig. 1, 5A-5D, 6A-6B, Singh) comprises a series of peaks and valleys (127 [peaks], 129 [valleys], Fig. 1), and wherein a first aperture (602, Fig. 6A or 6B) of the plurality of apertures (602) is located between a first peak (127) and a first valley (129) of the series of peaks and valleys (Fig. 6A or 6B).
Claim 5: Singh discloses further comprising a power supply (757 [power supply], Fig. 7) operable to provide a pulsed bias signal to one or more of the following: the substrate, a shield ring adjacent the substrate, and the plate (750 [ion extractor plate] through 717 [substrate support], para. [0115]), wherein a duty cycle of the pulsed bias signal varies as the plate is dithered relative to the substrate as the ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0109]).
Regarding the limitation “wherein a duty cycle of the pulsed bias signal varies as the plate is dithered relative to the substrate as the ions are extracted,” it is noted that the limitations are drawn to an intended use of the apparatus, which Singh is capable to perform as necessary (para. [0109], [0091-0092]). The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 8: Singh discloses wherein the plate assembly (107, Fig. 1, Singh) is located within the plasma chamber (inside 103, Fig. 1, para. [0030]).
Claim(s) 9-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20160211156 to Singh.
Claim 9: Singh discloses a plasma processing apparatus, comprising: a plasma chamber (103 [reaction chamber], Fig. 1) operable to contain a plasma within a chamber volume (inside 103), the chamber (103) defined by a plurality of sidewalls (sidewalls of 103); a plate assembly (107 [ion extractor plate]) within the plasma chamber (103) wherein the plate assembly (107) is above a substrate (101 [substrate]), wherein the plate assembly (107) comprises a plate (107) defining a plurality of apertures (109 [apertures]), wherein ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0038]) and are delivered to the substrate at a non-zero angle relative to a perpendicular extending from the substrate (101, para. [0036]); and
an actuator (“translational actuator,” para. [0091]) operable to dither the plate (107) and the substrate (101) relative to one another as the ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0091-0092]).
Claim 10: Singh discloses wherein the plate (107, Fig. 1, 5A-5D, 6A-6B, Singh) further comprising a plurality of blocking portions (interpreted as areas with no apertures) to block the ions, and wherein ion beamlets are extracted through the plurality of apertures (para. [0075-0078]).
Claim 11: Singh discloses further comprising a power supply (757 [power supply], Fig. 7) operable to provide a pulsed bias signal to one or more of the following: the substrate, a shield ring adjacent the substrate, and the plate (750 [ion extractor plate] through 717 [substrate support], para. [0115]), wherein a duty cycle of the pulsed bias signal varies as the plate is dithered relative to the substrate as the ions are extracted through the plurality of apertures (109, para. [0109]).
Regarding the limitation “wherein a duty cycle of the pulsed bias signal varies as the plate is dithered relative to the substrate as the ions are extracted,” it is noted that the limitations are drawn to an intended use of the apparatus, which Singh is capable to perform as necessary (para. [0109], [0091-0092]). The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
Claim 14: Singh discloses wherein the plate (107, Fig. 1, 5A-5D, 6A-6B, Singh) comprises a series of peaks and valleys (127 [peaks], 129 [valleys], Fig. 1), and wherein a first aperture (602, Fig. 6A or 6B) of the plurality of apertures (602) is located between a first peak (127) and a first valley (129) of the series of peaks and valleys (Fig. 6A or 6B), and wherein the first peak (127) and the first valley (129) are directly adjacent one another (Fig. 6A or 6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160211156 to Singh as applied to claims 1-5, 8 above.
Claims 6, 7: Singh does not explicitly disclose (claim 6) wherein the actuator is operable to dither the plate repeatedly between a first position and a second position while the substrate remains in a stationary position, and wherein the power supply reduces the duty cycle when the plate is in the first position and the second position; (claim 7) wherein the power supply increases the duty cycle when the plate is moving between the first position and the second position.
However Singh teaches that the actuator is operable to move the plate towards and away from the stationary substrate support, which is interpreted as a first position and second position (para. [0091-0092]), and a controller (“system controller”) can be direct a power supply to the ion extractor plate and contain instructions to modify relevant parameters such as modifying the bias applied to the ion extractor plate, and the substrate support, etc. (para. [0128]) for the purpose of modifying the ion energy of ions traveling into the lower processing chamber during the etch process (para. [0128]).
It is also noted that majority of the limitations in claims 6 and 7 are drawn to intended use of the apparatus, see above case law in claim 5 regarding intended use, while being obvious rationale, in either case, not a patentable advance.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Singh with motivation to modify the ion energy of ions traveling into the lower processing chamber during the etch process.
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160211156 to Singh as applied to claims 9-11, 14 above.
Claims 12, 13: Singh does not explicitly disclose (claim 12) wherein the actuator is operable to dither the plate repeatedly between a first position and a second position while the substrate remains in a stationary position, and wherein the power supply reduces the duty cycle when the plate is in the first position and the second position; (claim 13) wherein the power supply increases the duty cycle when the plate is moving between the first position and the second position.
However Singh teaches that the actuator is operable to move the plate towards and away from the stationary substrate support, which is interpreted as a first position and second position (para. [0091-0092]), and a controller (“system controller”) can be direct a power supply to the ion extractor plate and contain instructions to modify relevant parameters such as modifying the bias applied to the ion extractor plate, and the substrate support, etc. (para. [0128]) for the purpose of modifying the ion energy of ions traveling into the lower processing chamber during the etch process (para. [0128]).
It is also noted that majority of the limitations in claims 6 and 7 are drawn to intended use of the apparatus, see above case law in claim 5 regarding intended use, while being obvious rationale, in either case, not a patentable advance.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Singh with motivation to modify the ion energy of ions traveling into the lower processing chamber during the etch process.
Claims 15-20: (Withdrawn).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14 of copending Application No. 18/424470 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application render the claims of the instant application obvious. More specifically, although the language of the claims of the instant application and the copending application are not identical, the subject matter in the disclosure represented by the language of the aforementioned claims is the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10818472 discloses an electrode (620, Fig. 6) having a segmented surface (620) which includes a plurality of angled surfaces (621, c. 13, l. 55-67) which is biased by RF power. US 20160333464 to Likhanskii discloses an extraction assembly including a plurality of baffles (212, Fig. 2), and having surfaces arranged at a non-zero angle with respect to the X-Y plane (para. [0029]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718