DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to application No. 18587846 filed on 03/06/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of claims 1-8, 11-15 in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant argues that claims 1, 4-7, 11-14 are generic. The examiner acknowledges the claims as generic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frost et al. (US 2024/0421181).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Frost et al. teach a structure, comprising:
an insulating layer (Fig. 10, element 322, paragraph 0042) disposed on a substrate (Fig. 10, element 320, paragraph 0022, 0042); and
a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor (Fig. 10, element 350, paragraph 0010, 0060) disposed on the substrate, wherein the MIM capacitor comprises:
a main portion (see annotated figure above), disposed on the insulating layer;
at least one branch portion (see annotated figure above), extending from the main portion; and
a plurality of twig portions (see annotated figure above), extending from the branch portion and being respectively embedded in the insulating layer.
Regarding claim 4, Frost et al. teach wherein adjacent two of the twig portions are electrically connected only through the branch portion (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Frost et al. teach wherein a portion of the insulating layer is disposed between adjacent two of the twig portions (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Frost et al. teach wherein the insulating layer is a homogeneous material (Fig. 10, paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 7, Frost et al. teach wherein: the branch portion penetrates through the insulating layer; and the twig portions laterally extend from the branch portion (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Frost et al. teach further comprising: a conductor (Fig. 10, element 358, paragraph 0060), embedded in the main portion of the MIM capacitor.
Regarding Independent claim 11, Frost et al. teach structure, comprising:
a metal-insulator-metal (MIM) capacitor (Fig. 10, element 350, paragraph 0010, 0060), comprising:
a second electrode (Fig. 10, element 358, paragraph 0060), having a main portion (see annotated figure above), at least one branch portion (see annotated figure above) extending from the main portion, and a plurality of twig portions (see annotated figure above) extending from the branch portion;
a dielectric layer (Fig. 10, element 356, paragraph 0060), covering a lower surface of the main portion, and extending for completely covering outer surfaces of the branch portion and twig portions of the second electrode; and
a first electrode (Fig. 10, element 354, paragraph 0060), conformally covering the dielectric layer, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are physically and electrically separated by the dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 12, Frost et al. teach wherein the first electrode is a structurally continuous film layer (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13, Frost et al. teach wherein the twig portions of the second electrode are structurally respectively annularly extended from the branch portion (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, Frost et al. teach further comprising: a conductor (Fig. 10, element 354, paragraph 0060), embedded in the main portion of the second electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost et al. (US 2024/0421181).
Regarding claim 2, Frost et al. teach wherein in a top view, peripheral contours of the twig portions gradually increase away from the main portion (Fig. 10, the extension of the twig portions is a design choice that a person skilled in the art could set as appropriate taking into consideration the design parameters and the like. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 3, Frost et al. teach wherein in a top view, a peripheral contour of the main portion is larger than peripheral contours of the twig portions (the extension of the main portion and twig portions is a design choice that a person skilled in the art could set as appropriate taking into consideration the design parameters and the like. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Regarding claim 14, Frost et al. teach wherein the twig portions are different in sizes (Fig. 10, the extension of the twig portions is a design choice that a person skilled in the art could set as appropriate taking into consideration the design parameters and the like. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/SHAHED AHMED/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813