DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach regulating an interval between adsorption sites as now claimed. However, Waseda et al., for example, shows exposure of the substrate surface to and O and H containing compound in Fig. 6A that achieves this purpose as broadly claimed. The claim does not include any features that would teach over what is shown in 6A, for example, as it only requires that the substrate be exposed to an O and H containing substance without anything more that would ‘regulate’ the interval. Similarly, Nakatani teaches that an O and H containing substance on the surface before the deposition of an inhibition layer controls where the layer is deposited in para 0060, which also meets the broad claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Any new grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-18 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waseda et al. (US 2021/0202245 A1)
As to claim 1, Waseda teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: forming an inhibitor layer on a first surface of a substrate having the first surface and a second surface (Fig. 6A) by supplying a modifying agent to the substrate to adsorb inhibitor molecules contained in the modifying agent on the first surface (Fig 6B); and forming a film on the second surface by supplying a film-forming agent containing a catalyst to the substrate after forming the inhibitor layer on the first surface (Fig. 6C, para 0027, 0043), wherein a width of each of the inhibitor molecules is a, an interval between adsorption sites on the first surface is b, and a width of a catalyst molecule constituting the catalyst is c, and wherein c>b-a is satisfied when a is smaller than b, and c>xb-a (x is the smallest integer that satisfies a<xb) is satisfied when a is larger than b. Waseda satisfies these limitations because it uses the same compounds (Fig 6A-6B, paras 0050-0084) as the instant specification in paras 0092, 0120-0122 and 0123 and thus they would be expected to have the same sizes.
As to claims 2-5 and 7, Waseda teaches these size limitations as they teach the same compounds(Fig 6A-6B, paras 0050-0084) as the instant specification in paras 0092, 0120-0122 and 0123.
As to claim 11, the adsorption site on the first surface includes an OH group as shown in Fig. 6A.
As to claims 12-14, the compounds are taught in Fig 6A-6B, paras 0050-0084.
As to claims 15-16, the second film is formed as claimed in paras 0070-0089.
As to claim 17, one surface is an oxide and the other is different in Figs. 6A-6C.
As to claim 18, a semiconductor device is made by this method in para 0002.
As to claim 21, the surface is cleaned before OH termination in para 0126, which would inherently remove native oxides.
As to claim 22, the substrate is heat treated in para 0100.
As to claim 23, the inhibitor layer is desorbed in para 0123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. (US 2023/0411146 A1) in view of Nakatani (US 2020/0303186 A1)
As to claim 1, Murakami et al. teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising: forming an inhibitor layer 20 on a first surface of a substrate having the first surface and a second surface (Fig. 3-5) by supplying a modifying agent to the substrate to adsorb inhibitor molecules contained in the modifying agent on the first surface (20, Fig. 3-5); and forming a film on the second surface by supplying a film-forming agent containing a catalyst to the substrate after forming the inhibitor layer on the first surface (30, 40 in Fig. 3-5, abstract, Fig. 12-14). Murakami does not explicitly give the relative sizes of the inhibitor molecules, interval between adsorption sites or the catalyst molecule.
However, in Figs. 12-14, Murakami shows catalyst molecules 30,40 that are unable to pass through the intermolecular gap of the inhibition layer 20 due to their relative size (para 0047-0048). This achieves the same technical effect of the relative sizes as shown in instant Figures 8-10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Murakami’s relative sizes would fulfill the cited equations and relative sizes as claimed as the same effect is achieved. Further, these relative sizes would be modified based on the desired result to be achieved in Murakami’s Figures. Thus, these relative sizes are also modified by routine experimentation. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Murakami does not show a regulating step before deposition of the inhibitor layer. Nakatani teaches a step such as having an -OH terminated surface that determines where the inhibitor layer will be deposited in para 0060. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Murakami to include an -OH terminated surface (thus from exposing a surface to an O and H containing substance as claimed) as taught by Nakatani to determine where the inhibiting layer will be deposited.
As to claims 2-5 and 7, Murakami does not explicitly give the relative sizes of the inhibitor molecules, interval between adsorption sites or the catalyst molecule. However, in Figs. 12-14, Murakami shows catalyst molecules 30,40 that are unable to pass through the intermolecular gap of the inhibition layer 20 due to their relative size (para 0047-0048). This achieves the same technical effect of the relative sizes as shown in instant Figures 8-10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Murakami’s relative sizes would fulfill the cited equations and relative sizes as claimed as the same effect is achieved. Further, these relative sizes would be modified based on the desired result to be achieved in Murakami’s Figures. Thus, these relative sizes are also modified by routine experimentation. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 11, the adsorption site on the first surface includes an OH group as shown in Murakami Fig. 8.
As to claim 12, the catalyst is basic in Murakami para 0035-0037.
As to claims 13-14, the inhibitor layer includes alkyl group termination in Murakami para 0030-0033.
As to claims 15-17, Murakami et al. does not explicitly teach that the second film is formed from a raw material and reactant and that the surface comprises two distinctly different films, one including an oxide. Nakatani teaches a similar method (abstract) where selectivity is between two sections of a substrate with two different surfaces next to eachother (Figs. 5A-5E) and the second surface comprises a film that is formed using a reactant and raw material as in Fig. 4. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Murakami to adapt to two different surfaces and other deposition methods for the second film as taught by Nakatani in order to modify its method for other uses and expand its applications.
As to claim 18, a semiconductor device is made by this method in Murakami para 0029.
As to claim 23, the inhibitor layer is removed or desorbed as broadly claimed in Murakami para 0049-0050.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. (US 2023/0411146 A1) in view of Nakatani (US 2020/0303186 A1) and Waseda et al. (US 2021/0202245 A1)
Murakami and Nakatani do not teach removing a natural oxide film or heat treating the substrate as claimed. Waseda is in the same field of endeavor and teaches both of these features as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Murakami and Nakatani to include these features as Waseda teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718