DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 07, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner except as otherwise indicated.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11, filed July 15, 2026, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kim et al (US 2022/0190274 A1, of record) in view of Choi et al (US 2019/0189863 A1).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 that “Song does not disclose or suggest that the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot are the only two quantum dots in one layer and convert light of blue into light of green” and the “Kim-Tseng combination does not disclose, teach or suggest each and every limitation of claims 1 and 11” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
5. Regarding the specification objection, applicant has amended the title to be more descriptive. Examiner withdraws objection to the title of the invention due to applicant’s amendments.
Claims Status
6. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2022/0190274 A1, hereafter Kim) in view of Choi (US 2019/0189863 A1, hereafter Choi).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (DP2, [0047], [0161]), comprising:
a color conversion layer (Fig. 7 CCP1; [0167])
disposed above a light emitting element (Fig. 7 ED1; [0058], [0161]) and
including a first quantum dot (Fig. 7 QD1; [0167])
wherein a core of the first quantum dot (QD1) includes a Group I-III-VI semiconductor compound ([0080], [0161]).
Kim fails to disclose a second quantum dot with a core of the second quantum dot including a Group III-V semiconductor compound, and wherein the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot are the only two quantum dots in one layer and convert light of blue into light of green. However, Kim discloses quantum dots having a core including a Group III-V semiconductor compound ([0080]).
Choi discloses a color conversion layer (Fig. 1 20; [0028]) with a first (Fig. 1 QD1; [0028]) and a second quantum dot (Fig. 1 QD2; [0028]), wherein the first quantum dot (QD1) and the second quantum dot (QD2) are the only two quantum dots in one layer (Fig. 1) and convert light of blue ([0026]) into light of green ([0041]-[0042]; Choi discloses controlling quantum dot diameter can vary the converted wavelength to green). Choi is analogous to Kim in the art of semiconductor light-emitting devices.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the color conversion layer of Kim to include two quantum dots like the color conversion layer of Choi to improve energy efficiency and display brightness of the device. Additionally, one skilled in the art would know that the core of the second quantum dot of Choi includes a Group III-V semiconductor compound (Choi states the quantum dot may comprise of InP ([0029]), which is a Group III-V compound (Kim [0084]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the Group I-III-VI semiconductor compound ([0080]) includes AgInS, AgInS2, CuInS, CuInS2, CuGaO2, CuInGaS, AgGaO2, AgInGaS, or a combination thereof (Kim [0083]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the Group III-V semiconductor compound ([0080]) includes InP, InAs, GaP, GaAs, GaN, AlP, AlAs, AlN, or a combination thereof (Kim [0084]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the color conversion layer (CCP1) further includes a light scattering particle (Kim Fig. 7 SP; [0093], [0161]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element (ED1) includes a first electrode (Kim Fig. 7 EL1; [0070], [0161]), a second electrode (Kim Fig. 7 EL2; [0070], [0161]), and a light emitting layer (Kim Fig. 5 EML, Fig. 7 SF1-3; [0070], [0161]) between the first electrode (EL1) and the second electrode (EL2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a color filter layer (Kim Fig. 7 CF1; [0104], [0161]), on the color conversion layer (CCP1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a display device (DP2) comprising:
a first color conversion layer (Kim Fig. 7 CCP1; [0167]) and a second color conversion layer (Fig. 7 CCP2; [0168]),
disposed above a light emitting element (Fig. 7 ED1-2; [0058], [0161]),
wherein the first color conversion layer (CCP1) includes a first quantum dot (Fig 7. QD1; [0167])
the second color conversion layer (CCP2) includes a third quantum dot (Fig 7. QD2; [0168]),
a core of the first quantum dot (QD1) includes a Group I-III-VI semiconductor compound ([0080], [0161]), and
a core of the third quantum dot (QD3) includes a Group III-V semiconductor compound ([0080], [0161]).
Kim fails to disclose a second quantum dot with a core of the second quantum dot including a Group III-V semiconductor compound, and wherein the first quantum dot and the second quantum dot are the only two quantum dots in one layer and convert light of blue into light of green. However, Kim discloses quantum dots having a core including a Group III-V semiconductor compound ([0080]).
Choi discloses a color conversion layer (Fig. 1 20; [0028]) with a first (Fig. 1 QD1; [0028]) and a second quantum dot (Fig. 1 QD2; [0028]), wherein the first quantum dot (QD1) and the second quantum dot (QD2) are the only two quantum dots in one layer (Fig. 1) and convert light of blue ([0026]) into light of green ([0041]-[0042]; Choi discloses controlling quantum dot diameter can vary the converted wavelength to green).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the color conversion layer of Kim to include two quantum dots like the color conversion layer of Choi to improve energy efficiency and display brightness of the device. Additionally, one skilled in the art would know that the core of the second quantum dot of Choi includes a Group III-V semiconductor compound (Choi states the quantum dot may comprise of InP ([0029]), which is a Group III-V compound (Kim [0084]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11, wherein the Group I-III-VI semiconductor compound ([0080]) includes AgInS, AgInS2, CuInS, CuInS2, CuGaO2, CuInGaS, AgGaO2, AgInGaS, or a combination thereof (Kim [0083]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11, wherein the Group III-V semiconductor compound ([0080]) includes InP, InAs, GaP, GaAs, GaN, AlP, AlAs, AlN, or a combination thereof (Kim [0084]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11, wherein the first color conversion layer (CCP1) and the second color conversion layer (CCP2) further includes a light scattering particle (Kim Fig 7. SP; [0093], [0161]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11, wherein the light emitting element (ED1-2) includes a first electrode (Kim Fig. 7 EL1; [0070], [0161]), a second electrode (Kim Fig. 7 EL2; [0070], [0161]), and a light emitting layer (Kim Fig. 5 EML, Fig. 7 SF1-3; [0070], [0161]) between the first electrode (EL1) and the second electrode (EL2).
9. Claims 4-6, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Choi as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Song et al (US 2020/0124886 A1, hereafter Song).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 1.
Kim and Choi fail to disclose a content of the second quantum dot (modified Fig. 7 QD1_2 of Kim) is greater than a content of the first quantum dot (QD1).
[AltContent: textbox (For the record, the inserted figure (modified Fig. 7 of Kim) depicts the display device (DP2) with two color conversion layers (CCP1, CCP2), with the first color conversion layer divided into a first (CCP1a) and second layer (CCP1b). The first layer (CCP1a) has the first quantum dot (QD1) and the second layer has the second quantum dot (QD1_2). The second color conversion layer has the third quantum dot (QD2).)] Song discloses a color conversion layer including a content of the second quantum dot is greater than a content of the first quantum dot ([0100]). Song is analogous to Kim and Choi in the field of semiconductor light-emitting devices
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the contents of the first and second quantum dots of Song in the device of Kim and Choi to improve light absorption efficiency (Song [0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Tseng disclose the display device of claim 1.
Kim and Tseng fail to disclose the color conversion layer (CCP1) including a first layer and a second layer.
Song discloses a color conversion layer (Fig. 6 13_1; [0110]) including a first (Fig. 6 13_1a; [0111]) and second layer (Fig. 6 13_1b; [0111]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the color conversion layer of Kim and Tseng with the multi-layer color conversion layer of Song (see modified Fig. 7 of Kim), resulting in two layers (modified Fig. 7 CCP1a and CCP1b of Kim), to improve light conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Tseng disclose the display device of claim 5.
Kim and Choi fail to disclose the first layer (CCP1a) includes the first quantum dot (QD1), and the second layer (CCP1b) includes the second quantum dot (QD_2).
Song discloses the first layer (13_1a; [0111]) includes the first quantum dot (Fig. 6 13g; [0112]), and the second layer (13_1b; [0111]) includes the second quantum dot (Fig. 6 13r; [0112]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the configuration of Song, where the first quantum dot in the first layer and the second quantum dot in the second layer, in the conversion layer of Kim and Choi (see modified Fig. 7 of Kim) to improve light conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11.
Kim and Choi fail to disclose a content of the second quantum dot (QD1_2) is greater than a content of the first quantum dot (QD1).
Song discloses a color conversion layer including a content of the second quantum dot is greater than a content of the first quantum dot ([0100]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the contents of the first and second quantum dots of Song in the device of Kim and Choi to improve light absorption efficiency (Song [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 11.
Kim and Choi fail to disclose the first color conversion layer (CCP1) including a first layer and a second layer.
Song discloses a color conversion layer (Fig. 6 13_1; [0110]) including a first (Fig. 6 13_1a; [0111]) and second layer (Fig. 6 13_1b; [0111]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first color conversion layer of Kim with the multi-layer color conversion layer of Song (see modified Fig. 7 of Kim), resulting in two layers (modified Fig. 7 CCP1a and CCP1b of Kim), to improve light conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 15.
Kim and Choi fail to disclose the first layer (CCP1a) includes the first quantum dot (QD1), and the second layer (CCP1b) includes the second quantum dot (QD2).
Song discloses the first layer (13_1a; [0111]) includes the first quantum dot (Fig. 6 13g; [0112]), and the second layer (13_1b; [0111]) includes the second quantum dot (Fig. 6 13r; [0112]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the configuration of Song, where the first quantum dot in the first layer and the second quantum dot in the second layer, in the conversion layer of Kim and Choi (see modified Fig. 7 of Kim) to improve light conversion efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Kim and Choi disclose the display device of claim 16.
Kim and Choi fail to explicitly disclose a thickness of the second color conversion layer (CCP2) is greater than a thickness of the second layer (CCP1b). However, Kim discloses color conversion layers of equal thickness (Fig. 7 CCP1-3), and modification of the first color conversion layer (CCP1) to the color conversion layer of Song, as stated above, would result in the first color conversion layer (CCP1) split into a first (modified Fig. 7 CCP1a of Kim) and second layer (modified Fig. 7 CCP2a of Kim), where the total of the thicknesses of the first and second layers (CCP1a and CCP1b) equal the thickness of the first color conversion layer (CCP1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that, given that the color conversion layers (CCP1-3) of Kim are of equal thickness, the thickness of the second color conversion layer (CCP2) would be greater than the thickness of the second layer of the first color conversion layer (CCP1b). One having skill in the art would try these thicknesses to control the color of light being emitted (Song [0116-0117]).
10. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Tseng, and Song as applied to claims 6 and 16 above, and further in view of Takiguchi et al (US2022/0199695 A1, hereafter Takiguchi).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Choi, and Song disclose the display device of claim 6.
Kim, Choi, and Song fail to disclose a thickness of the second layer (CCP1b) that is greater than a thickness of the first layer (CCP1a).
Takiguchi discloses changing the thickness of the color conversion layer ([0094]). Takiguchi is analogous to Kim, Choi, and Song in the field of display devices.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try different thicknesses of the first and second layer to modulate the color of light emitted (Takiguchi [0094]), and it would be obvious to have a second layer that is thicker than the first layer through routine optimization.
Regarding claim 17, Kim, Choi, and Song disclose the display device of claim 16.
Kim, Choi, and Song fail to disclose a thickness of the second layer (CCP1b) that is greater than a thickness of the first layer (CCP1a).
Takiguchi discloses changing the thickness of the color conversion layer ([0094]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try different thicknesses of the first and second layer to modulate the color of light emitted (Takiguchi [0094]), and it would be obvious to have a second layer that is thicker than the first layer through routine optimization.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892