DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-31 are canceled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20190140049; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer having (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) a first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]), the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) having a second conductivity type (P-type; ¶ [0051]) opposite the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region has the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) is adjacent a channel region (¶ [0052]) in the well region; and
an implanted charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) beneath (Fig 6h) the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) increases a voltage blocking capability of the semiconductor device (¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a gate insulating layer (115; Fig 6h; ¶ [0052]) on the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) above the channel region (¶ [0052]), a gate contact (116; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) on the gate insulating layer (115; Fig 6h; ¶ [0052]) and a first contact (118; Fig 6h; ¶ [0054]) on the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a substrate (101; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) having the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]), wherein the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) is on the substrate (101; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) and a second contact (108; Fig 6h; ¶ [0054]) on the substrate (101; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 11, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) decreases an electric field strength in the semiconductor layer in an area around the charge compensation region during a voltage blocking operation of the device. (¶ [0067])
Regarding claim 12, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a doped well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) adjacent the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) has the second conductivity type (¶ [0051]) and contacts the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is at least partially provided beneath the well contact region.
Regarding claim 13, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a doped well contact region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0053]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) adjacent the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the well contact region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) has the second conductivity type (¶ [0051]) and contacts the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is not provided directly beneath the well contact region.
Regarding claim 14, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a (left side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is spaced apart from the well region (112 (right side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 15, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a vertical conduction region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0053]) adjacent the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is formed beneath a lower corner of the well region near the vertical conduction region. (Fig 6h)
Regarding claim 16, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) extends past the lower corner of the well region and into the vertical conduction region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20190140049; hereinafter Zhang) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0376075; hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang does not expressly disclose the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) comprises non-activated implanted dopant ions.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 12 of Wu discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge compensation/trapping layer can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon for the purpose of using non-electrical dopants in suppressing growth in the charge-trapping/compensation layer in subsequent high temperature processing steps (¶ [0044]).
Claim(s) 6, 9, 32-38, 41-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20190140049; hereinafter Zhang) and further in view of Schulze et al (US 2020/0381253; hereinafter Schulze).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 6h of Zhang does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a semiconductor layer (700; Fig 7H; ¶ [0125]) comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0125]) and a charge compensation region (281; Fig 7H; ¶ [0132]) comprises aluminum ions (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) comprises dopant ions that form deep level traps in the semiconductor layer (¶ [0067]).
However Zhang does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a semiconductor layer (700; Fig 7H; ¶ [0125]) comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0125]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 32, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a semiconductor layer having (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) a first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]), the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) having a second conductivity type (P-type; ¶ [0051]) opposite the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region has the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) is adjacent a channel region (¶ [0052]) in the well region; and
an implanted charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) beneath (Fig 6h) the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region form deep level traps in the semiconductor layer. (¶ [0067]).
However Zhang does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and the charge compensation region comprises inert ions, non-activated implanted dopant ions and/or dopant ions that form deep level traps in the semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a semiconductor layer (700; Fig 7H; ¶ [0125]) comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0125]) and a charge compensation region (281; Fig 7H; ¶ [0132]) comprises aluminum ions (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 33, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a doped well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) adjacent the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) has the second conductivity type (¶ [0051]) and contacts the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is at least partially provided beneath the well contact region.
Regarding claim 34, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a doped well contact region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0053]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) adjacent the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the well contact region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) has the second conductivity type (¶ [0051]) and contacts the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is not provided directly beneath the well contact region.
Regarding claim 35, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a (left side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is spaced apart from the well region (112 (right side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 36, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a vertical conduction region (104; Fig 6h; ¶ [0053]) adjacent the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is formed beneath a lower corner of the well region near the vertical conduction region. (Fig 6h)
Regarding claim 37, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) extends past the lower corner of the well region and into the vertical conduction region.
Regarding claim 38, Fig 6h of Zhang does not expressly disclose non-activated implanted dopant ions comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a charge compensation region (281; Fig 7H; ¶ [0132]) comprises aluminum ions (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 41, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) increases a voltage blocking capability of the semiconductor device (¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 42, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) decreases an electric field strength in the semiconductor layer in an area around the charge compensation region during a voltage blocking operation of the device. (¶ [0067])
Regarding claim 43, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses a semiconductor layer having (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) a first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]), the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) having a second conductivity type (P-type; ¶ [0051]) opposite the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0049]);
a source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region has the first conductivity type (N-type; ¶ [0051]), wherein the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) is adjacent a channel region (¶ [0052]) in the well region; and
an implanted charge compensation region (111/110a/120a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) beneath (Fig 6h) the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]);
a doped well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in the semiconductor layer (102; Fig 6h; ¶ [0049]) adjacent the source region (113; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the well contact region (114; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) has the second conductivity type (¶ [0051]) and contacts the well region (112; Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]), wherein the charge compensation region (111/110a; Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is at least partially provided beneath the well contact region.
However Zhang does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a semiconductor layer (700; Fig 7H; ¶ [0125]) comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0125]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 44, Zhang does not expressly disclose the charge compensation region comprises inert ions, non-activated implanted dopant ions and/or dopant ions that form deep level traps in the semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a charge compensation region (281; Fig 7H; ¶ [0132]) comprises aluminum ions (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 45, Fig 6h of Zhang discloses the charge compensation region (111/110a (left side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0050]) is spaced apart from the well region (112 (right side); Fig 6h; ¶ [0051]) in a vertical direction.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20190140049; hereinafter Zhang) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0376075; hereinafter Wu) and Schulze et al (US 2020/0381253; hereinafter Schulze).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises inert ions.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 12 of Wu discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge compensation/trapping layer can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon for the purpose of using non-electrical dopants in suppressing growth in the charge-trapping/compensation layer in subsequent high temperature processing steps (¶ [0044]).
However Zhang in view of Wu does not expressly disclose the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 7H of Schulze discloses a semiconductor layer (700; Fig 7H; ¶ [0125]) comprises silicon carbide (¶ [0125]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention such that the semiconductor layer comprises silicon carbide and wherein the charge compensation region comprises hydrogen, aluminum or nitrogen dopant ions as taught by Schulze for in order to achieve an attractive super junction performance (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang in view of Fig 12 of Wu (Wu in particular) discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang in view of Schulze does not expressly disclose the dopant ions comprise carbon and/or iron.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 12 of Wu discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as carbon (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge compensation/trapping layer can comprise non-electrical dopants such as carbon for the purpose of using non-electrical dopants in suppressing growth in the charge-trapping/compensation layer in subsequent high temperature processing steps (¶ [0044]).
Claim(s) 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20190140049; hereinafter Zhang) and in view of Schulze et al (US 2020/0381253; hereinafter Schulze) and further in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0376075; hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 39, Zhang in view of Schulze does not expressly disclose the inert ions comprise He, Ne and/or Ar ions.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 12 of Wu discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge compensation/trapping layer can comprise non-electrical dopants such as argon for the purpose of using non-electrical dopants in suppressing growth in the charge-trapping/compensation layer in subsequent high temperature processing steps (¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 40, Zhang in view of Schulze does not expressly disclose the dopant ions that form deep level traps in the semiconductor layer comprise carbon and/or iron.
In the same field of endeavor, Fig 12 of Wu discloses a charge compensation/trapping layer (20; Fig 12; ¶ [0044]) can comprise non-electrical dopants such as carbon (¶ [0044]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge compensation/trapping layer can comprise non-electrical dopants such as carbon for the purpose of using non-electrical dopants in suppressing growth in the charge-trapping/compensation layer in subsequent high temperature processing steps (¶ [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Van Brunt et al (US 2022/0140132)
Weyers et al (US 2022/0406928)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817