DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election, without traverse, of Species II of which claims read upon 1-15 in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 07/01/2026”, is acknowledged
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claims 16-20 are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-15 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (700; Fig 7A; [0081]) = (element 790; Figure No. 7A; Paragraph No. [0081]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1—2 , 4-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin; Yu-hsin et al. (US 20230263014 A1). hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1. Lin teaches a display device (700, labelled as sub-pixel circuit i.e. a display device; 7A-7B; 0081]), comprising (see the entire document; Figs. 7A-7B along with other relevant figures 1At o 6; specifically, as cited below):
Lin Figure 7A Figure 7B
a pixel electrode (metal-containing layers 104 within the sub-pixel 108A; Fig 7A; [0032, 0081]) in a light emission area (EML);
a pixel defining layer (126/PDL; Fig 7A/1A) which is on the pixel electrode and defines the light emission area;
a light emitting layer (112, labelled as EML Fig 7A-7B; [0085]) and a common electrode (cathode 114) on the pixel electrode (104);
a bank (110; comprising {110C,110A,110B}; Fig 7A-7B; [0084]) on the pixel defining layer (126), the bank comprising:
a first bank layer ({110C,110A}) comprising a side surface defining a lower portion of a bank opening corresponding to the light emission area (126/PDA); and
a second bank layer (110B) on the first bank layer ({110C,110A}), the second bank layer (110C) comprising:
a side surface defining an upper portion of the bank opening, the side surface of the second bank layer protruding further than (110B comprises side surfaces protruding more than side surfaces of the first bank layer ({110C,110A})
the side surface of the first bank layer({110C,110A}) to define a tip portion (lateral protruding portion beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) of the bank ({110), and
the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) including an upper surface of the second bank layer (110B) and a lower surface of the second bank layer which is opposite to the upper surface;
a lower inorganic layer (116; [0090]) of an encapsulation layer ([0090]) on the bank (110), the lower inorganic layer comprising an inorganic pattern which is on the common electrode (114), the inorganic pattern facing and spaced apart from the upper surface and the lower surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}); and
an auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088]) between the lower surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and the inorganic pattern (116).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088]) extends from the lower surface of the tip, along the side surface of the first bank layer (110) and along the common electrode (114).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, further comprising an organic encapsulation layer (first capping layer from one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]) of the encapsulation layer which is between the upper surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and the inorganic pattern (116).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the inorganic pattern (116) includes a first surface facing the upper surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and a second surface facing (depicted in Figs 7A-7B) the side surface of the second bank layer (110B).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 5, further teaches, wherein the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]) extends from the lower surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and along the second surface of the inorganic pattern (116) .
Regarding Claim 7, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 6, further teaches, wherein the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]) further extends from the second surface (top) of the inorganic pattern (116) and along the first surface of the inorganic pattern (116).
Regarding Claim 9, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 4, further teaches, wherein the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) of the second bank layer (110B) overlaps the light emitting layer (#ML) and is in contact with the organic encapsulation layer (first capping layer from one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088]) includes transparent conductive oxide ([0081]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein opposing ends of the common electrode (114) are in the bank opening and overlap (Fig 7A) the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}).
Regarding Claim 12, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 1, further teaches, (the device) further comprising:
the pixel electrode (metal-containing layers 104 within the sub-pixel 108A, 108B; Fig 7A; [0032, 0081]) and the light emission area (EML) provided in plural including a first pixel electrode (108A) in a first light emission area and a second pixel electrode (108B) which is spaced apart (depicted in Fig 7A) from the first pixel electrode and in a second light emission area;
the light emitting layer (112, labelled as EML Fig 7A-7B; [0085]) and the common electrode (114) provided in plural including a first light emitting layer (112/EML in 108A) and a first common electrode (114 in 108A) which are on the first pixel electrode (108A), and a second light emitting layer (112/EML in 108B) spaced apart (depicted in Fig 7A) from the first light emitting layer (112/EML in 108A) and a second common electrode (114 in 108B) spaced apart (depicted in Fig 7A) from the first common electrode, the second light emitting layer and the second common electrode being on the second pixel electrode ((metal-containing layers 104 within the sub-pixel 108A; Fig 7A; [0032, 0081])) ;
the bank opening (110) provided in plural including a first bank opening ({110C,110B} in 108A) corresponding to the first light emission area (EML in 108A) and a second bank opening {110C,110B} in 108B) corresponding to the second light emission area {EML in 108A);
the tip provided in plural ((lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A} in 108A, 106B);
the inorganic pattern (116) provided in plural including inorganic patterns respectively on the first common electrode (114 in 108A) and on the second common electrode(114 in 108A); and
the auxiliary pattern provided in plural including auxiliary patterns (one or more capping layers in 108A, 108B; ]0088]) respectively between the lower surfaces of the tips ((lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A} in 108A, 108B) and the inorganic patterns (116).
Regarding claim 13. Lin teaches a display device (700, labelled as sub-pixel circuit i.e. a display device; 7A-7B; 0081]), comprising (see the entire document; Figs. 7A-7B along with other relevant figures 1A to 6; specifically, as cited below):
a pixel electrode (metal-containing layers 104 within the sub-pixel 108A; Fig 7A; [0032, 0081]) in a light emission area (EML);
a pixel defining layer (126/PDL; Fig 7A/1A) which is on the pixel electrode and defines the light emission area;
a light emitting layer (112, labelled as EML Fig 7A-7B; [0085]) and a common electrode (cathode 114) on the pixel electrode (104);
a bank (110; comprising {110C,110A,110B}; Fig 7A-7B; [0084]) on the pixel defining layer (126), the bank comprising:
a first bank layer ({110C,110A}) comprising a side surface defining a lower portion of a bank opening corresponding to the light emission area (126/PDA); and
a second bank layer (110B) on the first bank layer ({110C,110A}), the second bank layer (110C) comprising:
a side surface defining an upper portion of the bank opening, the side surface of the second bank layer protruding further than (110B comprises side surfaces protruding more than side surfaces of the first bank layer ({110C,110A})
the side surface of the first bank layer ({110C,110A}) to define a tip portion (lateral protruding portion beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) of the bank ({110), and
the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) including an upper surface of the second bank layer (110B) and a lower surface of the second bank layer which is opposite to the upper surface;
a lower inorganic layer (116; [0090]) of an encapsulation layer ([0090]) on the bank (110), the lower inorganic layer comprising an inorganic pattern including a body portion (portion of 116 above 104; Fig 7A) on the common electrode (114) and a wing portion (portion of 116 beyond 104 and above 126,110; Fig 7A) which extends from the body portion, the wing portion facing and spaced apart from both the upper surface and the lower surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A});
an auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088\) between the lower surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and the inorganic pattern (116).
an auxiliary pattern (second layer from one or more capping layers; [0088] includes an organic material) between the common electrode (114) and the body portion of the inorganic pattern; and
an organic encapsulation layer (first capping layer from one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]) of the encapsulation layer between the wing portion of the inorganic pattern [116) and the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}).
Regarding Claim 14, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 13, further teaches, wherein the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088\) extends from the common electrode (114), along the lower surface of the tip lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) and along the side surface of the first bank layer (110).
Regarding Claim 15, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 13, further teaches, wherein, the upper surface of the tip (lateral protruding portion of 110B beyond side surface of ({110C,110A}) which faces the wing portion of the inorganic pattern (116) is in contact with the organic encapsulation layer ((first capping layer from one or more capping layers includes organic material; [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin.
Regarding Claim 3, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 2, is silent on, wherein a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern (one or more capping layers; ]0088]) which extends along the common electrode and a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the lower surface of the second bank layer (I10B) are different from each other.
But, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed relative thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the common electrode and a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the lower surface of the second bank layer are different from each other or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin as applied to the display device of claim 7, is silent on , wherein a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the first surface of the inorganic pattern is greater than a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the lower surface of the tip.
But, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed relative thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the first surface of the inorganic pattern is greater than a thickness portion of the auxiliary pattern which extends along the lower surface of the tip or any unexpected results arising therefrom and it has been held that where patentability is said to be based upon a particular chosen dimension or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimension is critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
July 16, 2026