Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/25/2026. Applicant has elected Group I, corresponding to claims 13-20.
Invention Group II, corresponding to claims 1-12, is withdrawn from further consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
Many typographical errors were found but will not be listed due to the time allowed for examination. The specification has at least dozen inconsistent uses of numerals for referring to the drawings.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the substrate is a common source line, the common source line comprising a sacrificial layer, an oxide layer, and a poly-silicon layer” and “removing the sacrificial layer from the common source line to form a common source opening” of claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13: “forming a first opening in the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate” includes a term without antecedent: “the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate”
Claim 17: “the transistor layers comprising one or more of, a blocking oxide layer, a trap layer, a tunnel oxide layer, and a channel layer” contains a stray comma: “one or more of[[,]] a blocking”
Claim 19: “titanium nitride (Ti)” is clearly incorrectly abbreviated, and it is understood as “titanium nitride (TiN)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13: “self-assembled” and “self-aligned” are not clearly defined and distinct method processes. The method steps are understood to be essentially the same processes.
Regarding Claim 14: “the polymer” is understood to be “the poly-silicon”
Regarding Claim 20: the recitation “wherein the substrate is a common source line, the common source line comprising a sacrificial layer, an oxide layer, and a poly-silicon layer, and the method further comprises removing the sacrificial layer from the common source line to form a common source opening” is unclear; especially the recitation “the oxide layer” is unclear because the specification describes the common source line at [0049] a s a poly-silicon layer 104, a sacrificial layer 106, and a second poly-silicon layer 104. Every figure depicting the CSL 103 shows those three layers and no other. The only description of an oxide within the CSL is [0050] which states that the sacrificial layer 106 may comprise an oxide material, e.g. a silicon oxide. So it is understood by the examiner that the sacrificial layer is the same as the oxide layer.
Other claims not discussed here inherit the same issues as those discussed particularly above.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12148475 in view of Yada (US # 20190267461).
Regarding Claim 13-20, U.S. Patent No. 12148475 recites essentially all the same limitations in its claims 16-20 except for a few limitations discussed below:
Although claims 16-20 of US # 12148475 recites much of the claimed invention, it does not recite the method steps:
selectively depositing poly-silicon on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material;
recessing a portion of the bit line pad to form an opening on a top surface of a recessed bit line pad; and
depositing a self-assembled mask in the opening.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed, in the same field of endeavor, renders such feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Yada teaches a similar method comprising
selectively depositing poly-silicon (114) on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material (see Fig. 9 and corresponding text);
recessing a portion of the bit line pad ([0114] and Fig. 14H) to form an opening (65) on a top surface of a recessed bit line pad; and
depositing a self-assembled mask in the opening (66).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the method recited in claims 16-20 of US # 12148475, as suggested by Yada. Specifically, the modification suggested by Yada would be to employ a method steps: selectively depositing poly-silicon on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material; recessing a portion of the bit line pad to form an opening on a top surface of a recessed bit line pad; and depositing a self-assembled mask in the opening. The rationale for this modification is that self align the masks prevent the need for more photolithographic steps and the SGD liner further provides better channel control.
Regarding Claim 14, Yada, as applied to claim 13, further teaches the method wherein the polymer has a thickness in a range of from 1 nm to 30 nm ([0082]).
Regarding Claim 15 and 16, see claim 18 of US # 12148475.
Regarding Claim 17, see claim 17 of US # 12148475.
Regarding Claim 18, see claim 18 of US # 12148475.
Regarding Claim 19, see claim 15 of US # 12148475.
Regarding Claim 20, see claim 19 of US # 12148475.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang (US # 20220319601) in view of Iwai (US # 10290650).
Regarding Claim 13, Kang (US # 20220319601) teaches a method of forming a semiconductor memory device having a three-dimensional vertical memory string including a select gate for drain (SGD) transistor and a memory transistor, the method comprising:
forming a select-gate-for-drain (SGD 112) stack on drain side (top of string) of a memory stack (130), the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) stack comprising a select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material ([0066]) and the memory stack comprising alternating layers of a first layer (108) and a second layer (110) on a substrate (indirectly stacked on 102);
forming at least one memory hole (116) extending through the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) stack and the memory stack (shown);
forming a memory string (118) in the at least one memory hole;
forming a bit line pad (122) on a top surface of the memory string;
recessing a portion (opening 123 is the result; see Fig. 8) of the bit line pad to form an opening (123) on a top surface of a recessed bit line pad (shown);
depositing a self-assembled mask (operation 50; precursor to mask 124; see Figs. 10) in the opening;
forming a self-aligned mask (124 or 126, 128 in Fig. 10C) on the top surface of the recessed bit line pad;
forming a first opening (134) in the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate (see Figs. 13);
filling the first opening with a dielectric material (136; see Figs. 15);
forming a slit (138) extending from a top surface of the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) stack through the memory stack to the substrate (Fig. 16);
removing the first layer to form a mold opening (144; see Fig. 18); and
forming a word line (146) in the mold opening (see Figs. 19).
Although Kang discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method including selectively depositing poly-silicon on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Iwai (US # 10290650) is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a method including selectively depositing poly-silicon (142L; see Fig. 7C) on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material (see col. 15).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method steps of forming an SGD gate level of Kang with the deposited poly-Si suggested by Iwai would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Iwai would be to employ a method including selectively depositing poly-silicon on the select-gate-for-drain (SGD) gate material. The rationale for this obvious modification is that independently formed conductive material on this level can be selected and optimized for the particular select gates (Fig. 7C, col. 15).
Regarding Claim 14, insofar as the claim scope can be ascertained in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections and/or claim objections above, Iwai, as applied to the rejection of claim 13, teaches the wherein the
Regarding Claim 15, Kang teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising enlarging the opening on the top surface of the recessed bit line pad to form an enlarged opening.
Regarding Claim 16, Kang teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the enlarged opening has a width that is at least 10 nm greater than the opening prior to enlarging (enlarged width “overhang O” is shown in Fig. 9B; [0079] teaches the width increase overlapping the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 17, Kang teaches the method of claim 13, wherein forming the memory string comprises:
depositing transistor layers in the memory hole, the transistor layers comprising one or more of, a blocking oxide layer (118b), a trap layer (118c), a tunnel oxide layer (118d), and a channel layer (118e).
Regarding Claim 18, Kang teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the self-aligned mask has a thickness in a range of from 1 nm to 100 nm and wherein the self-aligned mask overhangs the bit line pad in an amount in a range of from 1 nm to 50 nm ([0079-80]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kang teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the self-aligned mask comprises one or more of titanium (Ti), titanium nitride (Ti), and tungsten (W) ([0080-81]).
Regarding Claim 20, insofar as the claim scope can be ascertained in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections and/or claim objections above, Kang teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the substrate is a common source line, the common source line comprising a sacrificial layer (106), an oxide layer (also layer 106), and a poly-silicon layer (104), and the method further comprises removing the sacrificial layer from the common source line to form a common source opening (140 is formed at Figs. 17).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899