CTNF 18/599,819 CTNF 86070 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the applicant's application filed March 8 th , 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-fti AIA The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 12-14 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ approximately ” in claim s 12-14 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ approximately ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Does approximately mean within 10% or more of the claimed value or within 1% of the claimed value? For the purposes of examination, the limitation “approximately” is removed from claims (see MPEP 2173.05 b III) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edelstein et al. (US 2014/0353828 A1) in view of He et al. (US 2022/0077105 A1; hereinafter He) . With respect to claim 1, Edelstein discloses a method for processing a substrate in Figs. 1A-1D, comprising: providing a first substrate 100 for a bonding process (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 49, 51, 52, 63, 66; bonded directly without adhesive or solder); and forming, on the first substrate 100, a bonding layer (comprising 60, 62, and 70) (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 49-53) that comprises: a doped metal oxide layer 70 (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52-54); and a metal contact (60, 62) penetrating through the doped metal oxide layer 70 (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50, 51, 55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70). Edelstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the bonding process is a hybrid bonding process, wherein the bonding layer is a hybrid bonding layer, or wherein the metal oxide layer is an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer. He discloses a method for processing a substrate for hybrid bonding in at least Figs. 4A-5, comprising a hybrid bonding process and a hybrid bonding layer (comprising 11, 12) (see Figs. 4A-5, Abstract, and paragraphs 64-66, 68) wherein a metal oxide layer is an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer 11 (see Fig. 5 and paragraphs 66, 76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the bonding process and the bonding layer of Edelstein would be a hybrid bonding process and a hybrid bonding layer as taught by He because hybrid bonding of a metal and an insulation dielectric at a low temperature, avoids a bonding defect, and improves a yield rate of mass production (see He: paragraph 9). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metal oxide layer of Edelstein would be an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer as taught by He because aluminum oxide is a well-known metal oxide used in hybrid bonding processes and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07). With respect to claim 2, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: hybrid bonding the first substrate 100 to a second substrate 200 via the hybrid bonding layer (comprising 60, 62, and 70) (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1D and paragraphs 49, 51, 52, 63, 66. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 3, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer is doped with a metal dopant that has an atomic radius greater than an atomic radius of aluminum or oxygen (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 53; same materials same properties MPEP 2112.01 II. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 4, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 3, wherein formation of the doped aluminum oxide layer 70 includes depositing an aluminum oxide layer in conjunction with the metal dopant (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52-54. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 5, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 4, wherein aluminum oxide and the metal dopant are co-sputtered using a physical vapor deposition (PVD) process to form the doped aluminum oxide layer with the metal dopant interspersed throughout (see Edelstein: Figs. 2B, 3B, and paragraphs 73, 74, 91, 92. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 6, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 4, wherein aluminum oxide and the metal dopant are deposited using an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process to form the doped aluminum oxide layer with the metal dopant interspersed throughout (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52-54. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 7, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the metal dopant is hafnium, zirconium, titanium, tungsten, or tantalum (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52, 53). With respect to claim 8, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 3, wherein an amount of the metal dopant in the doped aluminum oxide layer is selected based on a temperature of an annealing process to be performed after a bonding process (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph 53; note dopant metal segregates from copper under a controlled temperature. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 9, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer 70 is an aluminum oxide layer that is formed first on the first substrate 100 followed by a formation of the metal contact (60, 62) on the first substrate 100 which penetrates through the aluminum oxide layer and then doped with a metal dopant throughout (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50-55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 10, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 9, wherein doping of the aluminum oxide layer is performed selectively only on the aluminum oxide layer (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 4, 53; A metallic dopant element having a greater oxygen-affinity than copper is introduced into, or over, surface portions of copper-based metal pads or surfaces of a dielectric material layer embedding the copper-based metal pads in each of two substrates to be subsequently bonded. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 11, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 9, wherein doping of the aluminum oxide layer is performed on the aluminum oxide layer and on the metal contact (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 4, 53; A metallic dopant element having a greater oxygen-affinity than copper is introduced into, or over, surface portions of copper-based metal pads or surfaces of a dielectric material layer embedding the copper-based metal pads in each of two substrates to be subsequently bonded. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). With respect to claim 12, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer is 30nm to 50nm in thickness (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph 53; 70 is 1 nm to 50 nm). With respect to claim 13, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer has a leakage current of less than 2X a leakage current of aluminum oxide or silicon dioxide (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 4, 53; A metallic dopant element having a greater oxygen-affinity than copper is introduced into, or over, surface portions of copper-based metal pads or surfaces of a dielectric material layer embedding the copper-based metal pads in each of two substrates to be subsequently bonded. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide. Same materials same properties MPEP 2112.01 II). With respect to claim 14, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer contains at least 25% metal dopant (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph 53; note dopant metal segregates from copper under a controlled temperature. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05 I). With respect to claim 15, Edelstein discloses a substrate 100 prepared for bonding in at least Figs. 1A-1D (see Figs. 1A-1D and paragraphs 49, 51, 52, 63, 66), comprising: a dielectric material 30 (see Figs. 1A-1D and paragraphs 49, 51); at least one metal contact (60, 62) (see Figs. 1A-1D and paragraphs 50, 51, 55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70)); and a doped dielectric bonding layer 70 surrounding the at least one metal contact (60, 62), wherein an uppermost surface of the at least one metal contact (60, 62) is exposed through the doped dielectric bonding layer 70 (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50-55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70). Edelstein does not explicitly disclose where the substrate is prepared for hybrid bonding. He discloses a substrate prepared for bonding in at least Figs. 4A-5 wherein the substrate 10 is prepared for a hybrid bonding (see Figs. 4A-5, Abstract, and paragraphs 64-66, 68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that substrate of Edelstein would be prepared for hybrid bonding as taught by He because hybrid bonding of a metal and an insulation dielectric at a low temperature, avoids a bonding defect, and improves a yield rate of mass production (see He: paragraph 9). With respect to claim 16, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the substrate of claim 15, wherein the doped dielectric bonding layer 70 is a doped aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer, wherein at least one of the at least one metal contact (60, 62) is copper, and wherein the doped oxide layer is doped with a metal dopant throughout (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50-54). Edelstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the doped dielectric layer is a doped aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer. He discloses a substrate prepared for hybrid bonding in at least Figs. 4A-5, wherein a metal oxide layer is an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer 11 (see Fig. 5 and paragraphs 66, 76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metal oxide layer of Edelstein would be an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer as taught by He because aluminum oxide is a well-known metal oxide used in hybrid bonding processes and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07). With respect to claim 17, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the substrate of claim 16, wherein the metal dopant is hafnium, zirconium, titanium, tungsten, or tantalum (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52, 53). With respect to claim 18, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses a device in Figs. 1A-1D, comprising: the substrate 100 of claim 15; and another substrate 200 that is hybrid bonded to the substrate 100 via the doped dielectric bonding layer 70 and the at least one metal contact (60, 62) (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1D and paragraphs 49, 51, 52, 63, 66. Also see He paragraphs 64-66, 68 for teaching of hybrid bonding). With respect to claim 19, Edelstein discloses a method for processing a substrate in Figs. 1A-1D, the method comprising: providing a substrate 100 for a bonding process (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 49, 51, 52, 63, 66; bonded directly without adhesive or solder); and forming, on the substrate 100, a bonding layer (comprising 60, 62, 70) (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 49-53) that comprises: a doped metal oxide layer 70; and a metal contact (60, 62) penetrating through the doped metal oxide layer 70 (see Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50, 51, 55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70). Edelstein does not disclose a non-transitory, computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause a method for processing a substrate. Additionally, Edelstein does not explicitly disclose wherein the bonding process is a hybrid bonding process, wherein the bonding layer is a hybrid bonding layer, or wherein the metal oxide layer is an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer. He discloses a method for processing a substrate for hybrid bonding in at least Figs. 4A-5, comprising a non-transitory, computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause a method for processing a substrate (see paragraph 161) further comprising a hybrid bonding process and a hybrid bonding layer (comprising 11, 12) (see Figs. 4A-5, Abstract, and paragraphs 64-66, 68) wherein a metal oxide layer is an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer 11 (see Fig. 5 and paragraphs 66, 76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of Edelstein could be included as a non-transitory, computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause the method for processing the substrate as taught by He because it is well known in the art that a process configured to execute the hybrid bonding method may execute the foregoing hybrid bonding method by executing computer program code stored in a memory (see He: paragraph 161). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the bonding process and the bonding layer of Edelstein would be a hybrid bonding process and a hybrid bonding layer as taught by He because hybrid bonding of a metal and an insulation dielectric at a low temperature, avoids a bonding defect, and improves a yield rate of mass production (see He: paragraph 9). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the metal oxide layer of Edelstein would be an aluminum oxide (Al 2 O 3 ) layer as taught by He because aluminum oxide is a well-known metal oxide used in hybrid bonding processes and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07). With respect to claim 20, the combination of Edelstein and He discloses the non-transitory, computer readable medium of claim 19, wherein the method further comprises (a), (b), (c), or (d): a) wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer has a leakage current of less than 2X a leakage current of aluminum oxide or silicon dioxide (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 4, 53; A metallic dopant element having a greater oxygen-affinity than copper is introduced into, or over, surface portions of copper-based metal pads or surfaces of a dielectric material layer embedding the copper-based metal pads in each of two substrates to be subsequently bonded. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide. Same materials same properties MPEP 2112.01 II); b) wherein the doped aluminum oxide layer is doped with a metal dopant and wherein an amount of the metal dopant in the doped aluminum oxide layer is selected based on a temperature of an annealing process to be performed after a bonding process (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraph 53; note dopant metal segregates from copper under a controlled temperature. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide); c) wherein formation of the doped aluminum oxide layer includes depositing an aluminum oxide layer on the substrate and then doping the aluminum oxide layer with a metal dopant (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 50-55; CMP exposes 60, 62 through 70. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide); d) wherein formation of the doped aluminum oxide layer includes depositing an aluminum oxide layer in conjunction with a metal dopant (see Edelstein: Figs. 1A-1C and paragraphs 52-54. Also see He paragraphs 66, 76 for teaching of aluminum oxide). Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JORDAN M KLEIN whose telephone number is (571)270-7544. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sue Purvis can be reached at 571-272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/599,819 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893