CTNF 18/600,394 CTNF 88260 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, species I, corresponding to claims 1-10 and 21-30 , in the reply filed on 05/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Adusumilli (US 9,496,225) . Regarding claim 1, Adusumilli discloses, in FIGS. 1-9 and in related text, a method, comprising: providing an intermediate structure that includes an opening (110) (see Adusumilli, FIG. 1, column 3, lines 14-39); conformally depositing a metal liner (210, 310) over the opening (see Adusumilli, FIGS. 2-3, column 3, lines 40-57); depositing a dummy fill material (410) over the metal liner (see Adusumilli, FIG. 4, column 3, lines 58-65); recessing the dummy fill material (410) such that a portion of the metal liner (210, 310) is exposed (see Adusumilli, FIG. 5, column 3, line 65 to column 4, line 3); removing the exposed portion of the metal liner (210, 310) (see Adusumilli, FIG. 6, column 4, lines 3-13); removing the recessed dummy fill material (see Adusumilli, FIG. 7, column 4, lines 13-16); and after the removing of the recessed dummy fill material, depositing a metal fill layer (810, 910) over the opening (see Adusumilli, FIGS. 8-9, column 4, lines 17-29) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Xie (US 2021/0134671) . Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses, in FIGS. 3-8 and in related text, a method, comprising: providing an intermediate structure that includes an opening (302) (see Xie, FIG. 3, [0038]).; conformally depositing a metal liner (410) over the opening; depositing a dummy fill material (412) over the metal liner (see Xie, FIG. 4, [0041], [0047]); recessing the dummy fill material (412) such that a portion of the metal liner (410) is exposed (see Xie, FIG. 5, [0048]); removing the exposed portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 6, [0049]); removing the recessed dummy fill material (see Xie, FIG. 7, [0050]); and after the removing of the recessed dummy fill material, depositing a metal fill layer (808) over the opening (see Xie, FIG. 8, [0053]). Regarding claim 2, Xie discloses the method of claim 1. Xie discloses wherein the opening (302) is defined between two fin-shaped structures (108) that are covered by a metal nitride layer (410) (see Xie, FIG. 3, [0038], [0044]). Regarding claim 3, Xie discloses the method of claim 2. Xie discloses wherein the metal nitride layer (410) comprises titanium nitride (see Xie, [0044]). Regarding claim 9, Xie discloses the method of claim 1. Xie discloses wherein the metal fill layer (808) comprises Ni, Cu, Ag, Au, Pd, Ru, Pt, Ir, NiP, or CoNiP (see Xie, [0053]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Xie (US 2021/0134671) . Regarding claim 21, Xie discloses, in FIGS. 3-8 and in related text, a method, comprising: forming a trench (302) in a semiconductor structure over a substrate (104) (see Xie, FIG. 3, [0030], [0036]-[0039]); forming a metal liner (410) along sidewalls of the trench; forming a dummy layer (412) over the metal liner (see Xie, FIG. 4, [0041], [0047]); patterning the dummy layer (412) to expose a top portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 5, [0048]); removing the exposed top portion of the metal liner, leaving behind a bottom portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 6, [0049]); removing a remaining portion of the dummy layer from the bottom portion of the metal liner (see Xie, FIG. 7, [0050]); and forming a metal fill layer (808) over the bottom portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 8, [0053]). Regarding claim 22, Xie discloses the method of claim 21. Xie discloses wherein the forming of the trench comprises forming two fin- shaped structures (108) separated by the trench (302) (see Xie, FIG. 3, [0038]). Regarding claim 23, Xie discloses the method of claim 21. Xie discloses wherein the forming of the metal liner comprises forming a bottom portion of the metal liner (410) overlaying the substrate (104) (see Xie, FIG. 4, [0041]).. Regarding claim 25, Xie discloses the method of claim 21. Xie discloses wherein the metal liner (410) is formed conformally over the trench (302) (see Xie, [0041]) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Xie (US 2021/0134671) . Regarding claim 27, Xie discloses, in FIGS. 3-8 and in related text, a method, comprising: forming a trench (302) in a semiconductor structure (see Xie, [0030], [0036]-[0039]); forming a metal liner (410) along sidewalls of the trench (see Xie, FIG. 4, [0041]); patterning the metal liner, comprising: forming a patterned dummy layer (412) over the metal liner (410), wherein the patterned dummy layer protects a bottom portion of the metal liner (see Xie, FIGS. 4-5, [0047]-[0048]), etching the metal liner (410) using the patterned dummy layer (412) as a mask (see Xie, FIG. 6, [0049]), and removing the patterned dummy layer to expose the bottom portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 7, [0050]; and forming a metal fill layer (808) over the exposed bottom portion of the metal liner (410) (see Xie, FIG. 8, [0052]). Regarding claim 30, Xie discloses the method of claim 27. Xie discloses wherein the metal fill layer (808) comprises Ni, Cu, Ag, Au, Pd, Ru, Pt, Ir, NiP, or CoNiP (see Xie, [0053]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-8, 10, 24, 26 and 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein each of the two fin-shaped structures comprises a plurality of bottom channel members and a plurality of top channel members disposed over the plurality of bottom channel members” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 4. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the metal liner comprises Ru, Co, Mo, Pd, Pt, Au, or Ir” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 6. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the dummy fill material comprises a bottom antireflective coating (BARC) material or silicon oxycarbide” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 8. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the depositing of the metal fill layer comprises use of electroless plating” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 10. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the metal liner comprises Ru, Co, Mo, Pd, Pt, Au, or Ir” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 24. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the depositing of the metal fill layer comprises use of electroless plating” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 26. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the forming of the trench comprises: forming two fin-shaped structures each comprising a bottom channel member, a top channel member, and an insulation layer disposed therebetween, wherein the two fin-shaped structures are separated by the trench, and forming a metal nitride layer conformally over the trench such that the metal liner is formed over the metal nitride layer” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 28. The prior art of records, individually or in combination, do not disclose nor teach “wherein the dummy fill material comprises a bottom antireflective coating (BARC) material or silicon oxycarbide” in combination with other limitations as recited in claim 29 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHIH TSUN A CHOU whose telephone number is (408)918-7583. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00-16:00 Arizona Time. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lynne Gurley can be reached at (571) 272-1670. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHIH TSUN A CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 2 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 3 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 4 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 5 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 6 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 7 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 8 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 9 Art Unit: 2811 Application/Control Number: 18/600,394 Page 10 Art Unit: 2811