CTNF 18/600,771 CTNF 88013 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/600,771 filed on March 11, 2024 in which claims 1 to 20 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings The drawings submitted on March 11, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner. Information Disclosure Statement The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), filed on March 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of paper submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) which has been placed of record in the file. Notation References to patents will be in the form of [C:L] where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of [xxxx]. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2023/0058002 (Huang) . PNG media_image1.png 639 775 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 and referring to annotated Figure 1, Huang discloses a display device, comprising: a first substrate, 11 [0088] e.g., silicon [0047]; an organic light-emitting-element layer, 12 [0058, 85], disposed on the first substrate, as shown; an encapsulation layer, 16 [0086] e.g., TFE [0054], disposed on the organic light-emitting-element layer, as shown; and a lens array layer, 13/14 [0059, 104, 108] / 18 [0056], disposed on the encapsulation layer, as shown, wherein the lens array layer comprises: a lens layer, 14 [0059, 104, 108], including a plurality of lenses, as shown; and a second substrate, 18 [0056], e.g. PMMA, disposed directly on the plurality of lenses, as shown, and the second substrate includes a plurality of concave depressions corresponding to shapes of the plurality of lenses, as annotated and shown. Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, Huang teaches the plurality of lenses include an optically clear material at claim 3 e.g., PMMA see also [0105]. Regarding claim 3 which depends upon claim 2, Huang teaches the plurality of lenses include at least one of an optically clear resin (OCR) and an optically clear adhesive (OCA) e.g., PMMA [0105]. Regarding claim 4 which depends upon claim 2, Huang teaches a color filter layer disposed between the encapsulation layer and the lens array layer, the color filter layer, 172/173/174 [0055], including first to third color filters, e.g., red, green and blue [0055], wherein the plurality of lenses comprise: a first lens disposed on the first color filter, as shown; a second lens disposed on the second color filter, as shown; and a third lens disposed on the third color filter, as shown. Regarding claim 5 which depends upon claim 4, Huang teaches the plurality of concave depressions include a first concave depression, as annotated, a second concave depression, as annotated, and a third concave depression, as annotated, the first lens is disposed in the first concave depression, as shown, the second lens is disposed in the second concave depression, as shown, and the third lens is disposed in the third concave depression, as shown. Regarding claim 7 which depends upon claim 4, Huang teaches the first substrate includes first to third sub-pixels, 121/122/123 [0053], and the organic light-emitting-element layer comprises: a first pixel electrode layer including respective first pixel electrodes of the first to third sub-pixels, e.g., anode [0052], the first pixel electrodes being spaced apart from each other, as described at [0052]; an emission layer disposed on the first pixel electrode layer, as described at [0052]; and a second pixel electrode disposed on the emission layer, as described at [0052]. Regarding claim 8 which depends upon claim 7, Huang teaches the first pixel electrode of the first sub-pixel overlaps the first color filter, the first pixel electrode of the second sub-pixel overlaps the second color filter, and the first pixel electrode of the third sub-pixel overlaps the third color filter. Regarding claim 9 which depends upon claim 1, Huang teaches the first substrate comprises a silicon substrate at [0047]. Regarding claim 10 which depends upon claim 1, Huang teaches the plurality of lenses have a same shape as shown in Figure 1 . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2025/0127020 (Zhu) . Regarding claim 1 and referring to annotated Figure 1, Huang discloses a display device, comprising PNG media_image2.png 597 740 media_image2.png Greyscale sing: a first substrate, 11/12 [0064] e.g., silicon [0064]; an organic light-emitting-element layer, 17 [0053-58], disposed on the first substrate, as shown; an encapsulation layer, 3 [0053-58], disposed on the organic light-emitting-element layer, as shown; and a lens array layer, 61/7/8 [0053-58], disposed on the encapsulation layer, as shown, wherein the lens array layer comprises: a lens layer, 61 [0053-58], including a plurality of lenses, as shown; and a second substrate, 7/8 [0053-56], disposed directly on the plurality of lenses, as shown, and the second substrate includes a plurality of concave depressions corresponding to shapes of the plurality of lenses, as annotated and shown. Regarding claim 9 which depends upon claim 1, Zhu teaches the first substrate comprises a silicon substrate at [0064]. Regarding claim 10 which depends upon claim 1, Zhu teaches the plurality of lenses have a same shape, as shown . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Huang and U.S. 2024/0196644 (Sugi) . PNG media_image3.png 563 680 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6 which depends upon claim 1, Huang does not teach the second substrate comprises a glass substrate. Sugi is directed to virtual reality displays, [0176], using first, 41, and second, 42, substrates [0164]. Huang teaches first and second substrates may be formed of silicon, glass, organic polymers and PMMA and the materials of the first and second substrate may be the same or different. Taken as a whole the prior art is directed to VR displays. Sugi teaches glass is an art recognized equivalent of PMMA for substrates used in VR displays. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to configure the device of claim 1 wherein the second substrate comprises a glass substrate because the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over and Zhu and Huang . Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, Zhu teaches the plurality of lenses include a positive photoresist. Arguably, Zhu does not teach the plurality of lenses include an optically clear material. As discussed above Huang teaches PMMA is a suitable lense material as a modification of claim 1. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to configure the device of claim 1 where the plurality of lenses include an optically clear material, as taught by Huang because Huang teaches this material is useful to make lenses for the device of claim 1 and because the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Regarding claim 3 which depends upon claim 2, Huang teaches the plurality of lenses include at least one of an optically clear resin (OCR) and an optically clear adhesive (OCA), e.g., PMMA as discussed above. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s invention to configure the device of claim 2 he plurality of lenses include at least one of an optically clear resin (OCR) and an optically clear adhesive (OCA), as taught by Huang because Huang teaches this is a useful material to make the lenses of claim 2 and because the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Regarding claim 4 which depends upon claim 2, Zhu teaches a color filter layer. 4 [0118], disposed between the encapsulation layer and the lens array layer, as shown, the color filter layer including first to third color filters, wherein the plurality of lenses comprise, [0118]: a first lens disposed on the first color filter, as shown; a second lens disposed on the second color filter, as shown; and a third lens disposed on the third color filter, as shown. Regarding claim 5 which depends upon claim 4, Zhu teaches the plurality of concave depressions include a first concave depression, as annotated, a second concave depression, as annotated, and a third concave depression, as annotated. the first lens is disposed in the first concave depression, as shown, the second lens is disposed in the second concave depression, as shown, and the third lens is disposed in the third concave depression, as shown. Regarding claim 6 which depends upon claim 1, Zhu suggests the second substrate comprises a glass substrate, i.e. cover plate at [0104]. Regarding claim 7 which depends upon claim 4, Zhu suggests the first substrate includes first to third sub-pixels, and the organic light-emitting-element layer comprises: a first pixel electrode layer, 14 [0064], including respective first pixel electrodes of the first to third sub-pixels, the first pixel electrodes being spaced apart from each other, as shown; an emission layer, 16 [0064], disposed on the first pixel electrode layer, as shown; and a second pixel electrode, 17 [0068]. disposed on the emission layer, as shown. Regarding claim 8 which depends upon claim 7, Zhu teaches the first pixel electrode of the first sub-pixel overlaps the first color filter, the first pixel electrode of the second sub-pixel overlaps the second color filter, and the first pixel electrode of the third sub-pixel overlaps the third color filter where 41 is red, 42 is green and 43 is blue as described at [0074], c.f., Figure 4 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 11-20 are allowed . 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 11 the prior art fails to disclose a method of fabricating a display device, comprising: providing a pixel having a stack structure, the pixel including an organic light-emitting-element layer; providing a base substrate; forming a micro-pattern including a plurality of concave depressions in the base substrate ; filling the plurality of concave depressions with an optically clear material; and disposing the base substrate over the pixel . Claims 12-20 depend directly or indirectly on claim 11 and are allowable on that basis . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the notice of references cited . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Joe Schoenholtz whose telephone number is (571)270-5475. The examiner can normally be reached M-Thur 7 AM to 7 PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ms. Yara Green can be reached at (571) 272-3035. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/600,771 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893