DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 26-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s arguments with regard to the independent claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) that the combination of the references does not teach/suggest the claimed feature “… when the memory chip sends out a handshaking signal … a memory controller … prepares to …” because Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) discloses host’s controller circuitry (116) transmits the conventional command (e.g. SRC command) that causes the memory device to exit a self-refresh mod; applicant's arguments have fully been considered, but are not found to be persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and to further clarify, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) does teach/suggest the above claimed features as the memory device output signal to the host device to share status of self-refresh operation (e.g. no-self-refresh operation signal/self-refresh operation signal: [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0029]-[0031]) (Fig. 1; and [0010]-[0033]).
As applicant appears to be applying the above arguments for independent claim 13 towards independent claims 20 and 28, the examiner will also apply the above response for independent claim 13 towards independent claims 20 and 28.
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0005376) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0015558), Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto et al. (US Pub.: 2002/0159318).
As per claim 13, Akin teaches/suggests a memory comprising: a plurality of memory banks (e.g. associated with memory banks: [0020]); data lines (e.g. associated with corresponding data lines for the memory arrays); sensing amplifier (e.g. associated with sense amplifier (38) in Fig. 2) coupled to the data lines, wherein the sensing amplifier is corresponding to one of the plurality of memory banks and is configured to parallelly operate (e.g. associated with communication between memory (14) and sense amplifier (38) in Fig. 2); and an I/O data bus (e.g. associated with data bus between sense amplifier (38) and processor (40) in Fig. 2); and operating with the memory chip, and when the memory chip communicates as the memory chip operate accordingly, accesses the memory chip as the memory chip operate accordingly, wherein operating accordingly with the memory chip (e.g. associated with communication among memory (14), sense amplifier (38) and SSN processor (40) in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; and [0029]-[0032]).
Akin does not teach the memory chip comprising:
a plurality set of sensing amplifiers, wherein each set of sensing amplifiers is operating accordingly and is configured to parallelly output a plurality of data; and
wherein there is no parallel-to-serial circuit and no serial-to-parallel circuit in the memory, and
sends out a handshaking signal during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command to selectively notice a memory controller that the memory prepares to execute a refresh operation, the memory controller continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated, wherein the current access command and the next access command are used to read data from or write data to the memory.
Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256) teaches/suggests a system comprising: being configured to parallelly output a plurality of data (claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1; [0044]; [0052]; [0057]); and operating with a memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101), wherein the memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101) operate accordingly (claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; and [0066]).
Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003) teaches/suggests a system comprising: a plurality set of sensing amplifiers (e.g. associated with bit line sense amplifying units, IOSA/WDRV (210)-(280), and (310)-(380) in Fig. 4), wherein each set of sensing amplifiers is operating accordingly (Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; and [0033]-[0040]).
Evans teaches/suggests a system comprising: wherein there is no parallel-to-serial circuit and no serial-to-parallel circuit in the memory (e.g. associated with embodiment where data is directly transferred parallelly between data interface (263) and read/write circuit (243) in Fig. 5: Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0051]) (Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; and [0151]).
Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) teaches/suggest a system comprising: sends out a handshaking signal to selectively notice that the memory is operating accordingly (e.g. associated with selective sending no-self-refresh operation signal/self-refresh operation signal as the memory device output signal to the host device to share status with the host device: [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0029]-[0031]), operating accordingly but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated (Fig. 1; and [0010]-[0033]).
Arimoto teaches/suggest a system comprising: during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command prepares to execute a refresh operation, continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command, wherein the current access command and the next access command are used to read data from or write data to the memory (e.g. associated refresh request after memory access request, wherein the refresh request is deferred until completion of the read/write operation: [0042]; and [0169]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Kim’s (US Pub.: 2009/0154256) parallel bus architecture, Kim’s (US Pub.: 2005/0249003) sense amplifier bus architecture, Evans’ data transferring architecture, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448)’s selective signaling, and Arimoto’s refresh operations into Akin’s memory chip for the benefit of reducing detrimental impact (Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), [0047]), providing high-speed data transfer while decreasing cell area (Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), [0024]), saving bandwidth (Evans, [0040]-[0041]), improving performance and reliability (Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), [0017]), and implementing a simple control signal for refresh operations (Arimoto, [0042]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
As per claim 14, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip further comprising an extra output pin, wherein the handshaking signal is sent to the memory controller through the extra output pin, wherein the memory controller is physically separate from the memory chip (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]).
As per claim 15, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip comprising wherein the handshaking signal is active when the memory chip is executing the refresh operation, and the handshaking signal is non-active when the memory chip does not execute the refresh operation (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]).
As per claim 16, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 15 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip further comprising a refresh counter, wherein the handshaking signal is selectively active according to number of clocks counted by the refresh counter (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to further include the above claimed features.
As per claim 17, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip comprising wherein: the plurality of memory banks comprise a first memory bank and a second memory bank; the plurality set of sensing amplifiers comprise a first set of sensing amplifiers coupled to the data lines and a second set of sensing amplifiers coupled to the data lines; the first set of sensing amplifiers are corresponding to the first memory bank and configured to parallelly output a first plurality of data, and the second set of sensing amplifiers are corresponding to the second memory bank and configured to parallelly output a second plurality of data; and a width of the I/O data bus is equal to the sum of a width of the first plurality of data and a width of the second plurality of data (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features as data is parallelly communicated with the memory banks.
As per claim 18, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 17 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip further comprising: bit lines; a third set of sensing amplifiers coupled to the bit lines and configured between the first memory bank and the first set of sensing amplifiers; and a fourth set of sensing amplifiers coupled to the bit lines and configured between the second memory bank and the second set of sensing amplifiers; wherein a portion of the third set of sensing amplifiers are selectively coupled to the first set of sensing amplifiers, and a number of sensing amplifiers in the portion of the third set of sensing amplifiers is equal to a number of sensing amplifiers in the first set of sensing amplifiers; wherein a portion of the fourth set of sensing amplifiers are selectively coupled to the second set of sensing amplifiers, and a number of sensing amplifiers in the portion of the fourth set of sensing amplifiers is equal to a number of sensing amplifiers in the second set of sensing amplifiers (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features as data is parallelly communicated with the memory banks.
As per claim 19, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto the memory chip comprising wherein the portion of the third set of sensing amplifiers are selectively coupled to the first set of sensing amplifiers according to a control signal inputted to the memory chip, and the portion of the fourth set of sensing amplifiers are selectively coupled to the second set of sensing amplifiers according to the control signal (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Kim (US Pub.: 2005/0249003), Fig. 2; Fig. 4; [0018]; [0033]-[0040]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art that the combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features as data is parallelly communicated with the memory banks.
Claims 20-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0005376) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0015558), Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto et al. (US Pub.: 2002/0159318).
As per claim 20, Akin teaches/suggests a system comprising: a control circuit (e.g. associated with memory controller) configured to couple to the system bus interface (e.g. associated with interface for data transferring with memory array); and being coupled to the control circuit and configured to operate with the I/O data bus of the memory chip; when the memory chip communicates as the memory chip operate accordingly, accesses the memory chip as the memory chip operate accordingly (e.g. associated with communication among memory (14), sense amplifier (38) and SSN processor (40) in Fig. 2) (Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; and [0029]-[0032]).
Akin does not teach the system comprising:
a physical layer circuit to parallelly receive a first plurality of data from bus;
wherein there is no serial-to-parallel circuit and no parallel-to-serial circuit in the physical layer circuit of the memory controller;
sends out a handshaking signal during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command to selectively notice a memory controller that the memory prepares to execute a refresh operation, the memory controller continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated.
Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256) teaches/suggests a system comprising:
a physical layer circuit to parallelly receive a first plurality of data from bus; and
operating with circuit in the physical layer circuit of the memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101);
operating with the memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101), wherein the memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101) operate accordingly (claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; and [0066]).
Evans teaches/suggests a system comprising: wherein there is no serial-to-parallel circuit and no parallel-to-serial circuit (e.g. associated with embodiment where data is directly transferred parallelly between data interface (263) and read/write circuit (243) in Fig. 5: Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0051]) (Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; and [0151]).
Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) teaches/suggest a system comprising: sends out a handshaking signal to selectively notice that the memory is operating accordingly (e.g. associated with selective sending no-self-refresh operation signal/self-refresh operation signal as the memory device output signal to the host device to share status with the host device: [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0029]-[0031]), operating accordingly but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated (Fig. 1; and [0010]-[0033]).
Arimoto teaches/suggest a system comprising: during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command prepares to execute a refresh operation, continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command, (e.g. associated refresh request after memory access request, wherein the refresh request is deferred until completion of the read/write operation: [0042]; and [0169]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Kim’s (US Pub.: 2009/0154256) parallel bus architecture, Evans’ data transferring architecture, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448)’s selective signaling, and Arimoto’s refresh operations into Akin’s memory chip for the benefit of reducing detrimental impact (Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), [0047]), saving bandwidth (Evans, [0040]-[0041]), improving performance and reliability (Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), [0017]), and implementing a simple control signal for refresh operations (Arimoto, [0042]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
As per claim 21, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 20 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory controller comprising wherein the physical layer circuit is further configured to parallelly output a second plurality of data to the I/O data bus of the memory chip (e.g. associated with parallelly communication with memory) (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]).
As per claim 23, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 20 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory controller comprising wherein the handshaking signal is active when the memory chip is executing the refresh operation, and the handshaking signal is non-active when the memory chip does not execute the refresh operation (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]).
As per claim 24, Ak Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 20 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory controller comprising wherein when the handshaking signal is active, the memory controller holds the next access command which is intended to read data from or write data to the memory chip (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; and Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]).
As per claim 25 Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 24 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory controller comprising wherein the memory controller sends the next access command to the memory chip after the handshaking signal is non-active (Akin, Fig. 2; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0005376) in view of Evans et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0015558) and Lee et al. (US Patent 10,839,889)
As per claim 26, Akin teaches/suggests a memory system comprising: a system bus interface (e.g. associated with interface for data transferring with memory chip); a memory controller, wherein the memory controller is coupled to the system bus interface, the memory controller further comprises a physical layer, and operating with the physical layer of the memory controller; a memory chip, wherein the memory chip is coupled to the memory controller, operating with the memory chip; and wherein the memory controller and the memory chip are operating accordingly (Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0010]-[0020]; and [0029]-[0032]).
Akin does not teach the memory system comprising:
with a controller I/O data bus coupled to a plurality of second bump groups, and there is no parallel-to-serial circuit and no serial-to-parallel circuit in architecture;
with a memory I/O data bus coupled to a plurality of first bump groups, there is no parallel-to-serial and no serial-to-parallel circuit in architecture; and
a substrate, modules disposed on the substrate and horizontally space apart from each other, and all tracks inside the substrate connected the plurality of first bumps groups to the plurality of the second bump groups do not cross each other.
Evans teaches/suggests a system comprising: there is no parallel-to-serial circuit and no serial-to-parallel circuit in architecture; and there is no parallel-to-serial and no serial-to-parallel circuit in architecture (e.g. associated with embodiment where data is directly transferred parallelly between data interface (263) and read/write circuit (243) in Fig. 5: Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0051]) (Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; and [0151]).
Lee teaches/suggests a system comprising: with a controller I/O data bus coupled to a plurality of second bump groups (e.g. associated with bumps (109) for coupling to corresponding bus of memory controller (103) in Fig. 1: col. 1, ll. 9-35); with a memory I/O data bus coupled to a plurality of first bump groups (e.g. associated with bumps (109) for coupling to corresponding bus of memory device (102) in Fig. 1: col. 1, ll. 9-35); and a substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 105), modules disposed on the substrate and horizontally space apart from each other (e.g. associated with memory device (102) and memory controller (103) being on interposer (105) in Fig. 1: col. 1, ll. 9-35), and all tracks inside the substrate connected the plurality of first bumps groups to the plurality of the second bump groups do not cross each other (Fig. 1; and col. 1, ll. 9-35).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Evans’ data transferring architecture, and Lee’s substrate architecture into Akin’s memory system for the benefit of saving bandwidth (Evans, [0040]-[0041]), and reducing test time (Lee, col. 7, l. 18; and col. 10, ll. 3-4) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
As per claim 27, Akin, Evans, and Lee teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 26 above, where Akin, Evans, and Lee further teach/suggest the memory system comprising wherein the plurality of first bump groups are arranged in side-by-side order, the plurality of second bump groups are arranged in side-by-side, and each bump group of the plurality of first bump groups is connected to a corresponding bump group of the plurality of second bump groups through a corresponding track inside the substrate (Akin, Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; and Lee, Fig. 1; and col. 1, ll. 9-35).
Claims 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akin et al. (US Pub.: 2019/0005376) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Sohn et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0071582), Evans et al. (US Pub.: 2005/0015558), Kim et al. (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), and Arimoto et al. (US Pub.: 2002/0159318).
As per claim 28, Akin teaches/suggests a memory chip comprising: a first set of memory banks (e.g. associated with DRAM bank: [0020]); and an I/O data bus (e.g. associated with input / output data bus for memory array for transferring data with the memory array) of the memory chip electrically coupled to the first set of memory banks, wherein each memory bank transmits to the I/O data bus, operating with the I/O data bus with data of each memory bank of the first set of the memory banks, operating with the memory chip; wherein when the memory chip communicates as the memory bank operate accordingly, accesses the memory bank as the memory bank operate accordingly (Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0010]-[0020]; and [0029]-[0032]).
Akin does not teach the memory chip comprising:
transmits a first predetermined width of data to bus in parallel, a width of bus is equal to a sum of the first predetermined width of data, and the first predetermined width is programmable according to a set of control signals;
wherein there is no parallel-to-serial and no serial-to-parallel circuit in memory;
sends out a handshaking signal during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command to selectively notice a memory controller that the memory prepares to execute a refresh operation, the memory controller continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated.
Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256) teaches/suggests a system comprising: transmits a first predetermined width of data to bus in parallel (e.g. associated with parallel transmitting data via DQ-1 to DQ-n having corresponding predetermined width in Fig. 1), a width of bus is equal to a sum of the first predetermined width of data (e.g. associated with equally transmitting data via DQ-1 to DQ-n having corresponding predetermined width parallelly in Fig. 1); operating with a memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101), wherein the memory controller (Fig. 1, ref. 101) operate accordingly (claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; and [0066]).
Sohn teaches/suggests a system comprising: the first predetermined width is programmable according to a set of control signals (e.g. associated with controlling data width for read/write operation) (Fig. 4; [0036]; [0040]; and [0054]-[0056]).
Evans teaches/suggests a system comprising: wherein there is no parallel-to-serial and no serial-to-parallel circuit in memory (e.g. associated with embodiment where data is directly transferred parallelly between data interface (263) and read/write circuit (243) in Fig. 5: Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0051]) (Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; and [0151]).
Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) teaches/suggest a system comprising: sends out a handshaking signal to selectively notice that the memory is operating accordingly (e.g. associated with selective sending no-self-refresh operation signal/self-refresh operation signal as the memory device output signal to the host device to share status with the host device: [0015]; [0021]-[0022]; [0029]-[0031]), operating accordingly but withholds a next access command to the memory until the handshaking signal is deactivated (Fig. 1; and [0010]-[0033]).
Arimoto teaches/suggest a system comprising: during a present R/W time corresponding to a current access command prepares to execute a refresh operation, continues to accesses the memory according to the current access command (e.g. associated refresh request after memory access request, wherein the refresh request is deferred until completion of the read/write operation: [0042]; and [0169]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Kim’s parallel bus architecture, Sohn’s dynamic width controlling, Evans’ data transferring architecture, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448)’s selective signaling, and Arimoto’s refresh operations into Akin’s memory chip for the benefit of reducing detrimental impact (Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), [0047]), enabling varying data width on the fly during memory operations (Sohn, [0030]), saving bandwidth (Evans, [0040]-[0041]), improving performance and reliability (Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), [0017]), and implementing a simple control signal for refresh operations (Arimoto, [0042]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 28.
As per claim 29, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Sohn, Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 28 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Sohn, Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory chip further comprising: a second set of memory banks, wherein each memory bank of the second set of memory banks transmits a second predetermined width of data to the I/O data bus in parallel, the width of the I/O data bus is selectively equal to, based on a selection signal, the sum of the first predetermined width of data of each memory bank of the first set of the memory banks or a sum of the second predetermined width of data of each memory bank of the second set of the memory banks (Akin, Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Sohn, Fig. 4; [0036]; [0040]; [0054]-[0056]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features for the subsequent data transferring with corresponding banks.
As per claim 30, Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Sohn, Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) and Arimoto teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 29 above, where Akin, Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), Sohn, Evans, Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448) and Arimoto further teach/suggest the memory chip further comprising: wherein when the width of the I/O data bus is equal to the sum of the second predetermined width of data of each memory bank of the second set of the memory banks, the second predetermined width is programmable according to the set of control signals (Akin, Fig. 2; Fig. 5; [0010]-[0020]; [0029]-[0032]; Kim (US Pub.: 2009/0154256), claim 3; claim 7; Fig. 1-3; [0038]-[0052]; [0057]; [0060]; [0066]; Sohn, Fig. 4; [0036]; [0040]; [0054]-[0056]; Evans, Fig. 4-5; [0006]; [0047]-[0054]; [0079]-[0080]; [0151]; Kim (US Pub.: 2022/0139448), Fig. 1; [0010]-[0033]; [0042]; and Arimoto, [0042]; [0169]), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to further implement the above claimed features for the subsequent data transferring with corresponding banks.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 13-21, and 23-30 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 September 12, 2026